We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
13
29
43
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
29
43
18
18
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 121 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Hotel Oasis has acceptably priced rooms (for Bombay) and is decently located as it is a short taxi ride from Colaba and a good 10 minute walk from 'fashion street' in Fort. The room we received was small, as was the bathroom, but that was all we could ask for. We paid Rs1680 for a double room with A/C and we slept like babies. It's a great place to use as a base and simply sleep in. Reception staff give accurate directions on where you want to go, how to get there and estimated prices. The staff on the floors are also very accommodating and helped us feel settled into the crazy chaos that is Bombay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elliegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Ok this isn't an Oasis as such, the rooms are tiny and it's all pretty basic however - it was clean, the staff were friendly enough and it is in such a great location. My partner and I only hangout in our room when it's bedtime, so for a good base where you can leave your stuff and explore, this is a great option. From here we walked to the arts precinct, great restaurants and the markets - after our last Mumbai hostel horror, this was a good, affordable option.... although I must say given I booked a double room for my partner and I, it was little irritating that they gave a room with two single beds that were stuck in their location and couldn't be pushed together – but not the end of the world.

Room Tip: You might want to specify a double bed when booking a double room
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Of course the title is for travellers who book a room upon arrival, and not those who book online! I say this as some rooms are decent in terms of size and cleanliness, but this does not apply to all the rooms in the Oasis.

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The first was in the deluxe triple room at the highest floor. The room was spacious for rp2300 with room to stretch your legs even with three single beds within. The usual room facilities like wardrobe, side tables, etc are old and dusty which is typical of the economy-class hotels in Mumbai. The television (with the usual cable movies and tens of Indian news networks) was small and the air conditioner moaned loudly for a few hours upon our arrival which irritated us quite a bit. Beside the entrance is the toilet which was of a decent size. Hot water for a shower seemed elusive, despite being advertised in the hotel brochure. Otherwise, if you can forgive these shortcomings, the triple room on the top floor gives a good view of the area. Due to the low-rise nature of the surrounding buildings, you will be able to see the port in the distance and maybe even a family having a siesta on one of the rooftops of a nearby shophouse below.

We moved to a twin room on the second night. We were given a room at the end of the corridor intially which was dark and the paint on the walls were peeling off (probably due to water accumulation behind the paint?). Thus we asked for another room and were given a brighter one this time. As expected the room was small, but not to the extent of being squeezy. There was a musty smell upon entering, which we tried to mask by spraying some perfume. The furniture was old and the room appeared dated and worn. The dusty bed headboard kept falling off, revealing more dust and old wood. Later on, I came across a couple of small black insects on the floor. I do not know if these were bedbugs, beetles or roaches.

The hotel entrance is along the litter-strewn street. A small lobby is where the desk clerk / manager sits and the lift is behind this area. A strong musty odour pervades within the lift and sometimes the lift stops halfway between floors. There will be a lift operator with you though. Interestingly, there was no stair access for guests and one wonders if there is a fire escape plan. Anyway, the person manning the desk was friendly, as were the other staff in the hotel. Chilled filtered water is provided upon request and meals can be ordered through the room service.

Therefore, is the hotel truly an Oasis ? The price is reasonable and service was ok for the length of my stay. Some rooms are decent, others are not. A renovation and replacement of furniture in the rooms could make the hotel an Oasis in the dusty Mumbai.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A6-EDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2011

nice hotel, . Got single AC room at 1300 INR only. bit smaller Room . But very neat and clean . Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2011

There's few places that make me feel suicidal (can't think of any others actually), but this one did it. A combo of very damp room, blacked out and barred windows, a lingering wet smoke smell, and general euurrrghhh... I woke up short of breath and sweating hard out. The lift is the only way down in a fire : windows are barred and stairs are locked. Staff are friendly enough though, trying to make the best out of a bad situation. Do yourself a favor, go out the door, angle left, and head for the welcome hotel (cream building). Not very much more, and a happy place.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splitlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews