We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised, great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #55 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Devi Niketan is a fantastic small hotel with a great owner who is welcoming and very accommodating. The other staff are also very polite and helpful. The hygiene standard was very high and there was not one aspect of the place that I would consider unclean or not fully functional. The rooms were quite nice with comfortable beds, plenty of space and hot running water. There is also AC, a heater, tea and coffee facilities and a tv. I was pleasantly surprised with the value for money.
I travelled to India with 3 other young girls and I felt quite safe and comfortable at Devi Niketan. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Russ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    62
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
125
89
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We arrived at Devi Niketan after intially cancelling our booking after we were stranded in Jabalpur due to Fog, but ended up taking an 18 hour train journey as we did not want to miss out on the 'pink city' - luckily they had two spare rooms, rooms are very spacious, high ceiling and decorated beautifully and very clean. Admiral Singh was so nice & hospitable ordering us up some omlettes and sandwiches after our long journey and advising us on the best places to see in Jaipur as we only had one day to see everything. Breakfast was great with lots to chose from. Thoroughly recommend, would definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J9_nz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at Devi Niketan for 3 nights in room no. 4 this January. I can personally reconfirm all of the good things others have said about the property - the high ceilings heritage building, well appointed decor and nice friendly staff etc - but I can also add that the host - the Admiral is a very respectable accomplished high ranking retd officer with an incredible lineage of Rajput royal / defense servicemen and yet the admiral is down to earth friendly and service oriented host that personally attends phone calls and bookings. Also very quickly helped us get a comprehensive snapshot of Jaipur's city layout and its history.

We enjoyed reading about the property and seeing all the family pictures in the galleries other than having a very comfortable and well looked after stay. Nice hot water, nice firm bed, well equipped room, good bfast and great location - nice restaurants near by too.

I don't believe I could have found a better place in Jaipur, esp for the money we paid!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Devi Nikektan exceeded our expectations in many respects - a really nice historic building, charming staff, nicely decorated rooms and a good location within the city.

Don't expect a 5-star hotel but I guess that's clear when looking at the more-than-fair room rates.

What we like to mention additionally, is the General's extraordinary helpfulness. When we spontaneously needed a car as a consequence of a cancelled train, he instantly offered his help and organised us a reliable driver even at the cost of calling me on my Swiss mobile.

Also, the General who led the Indian Navy a couple of years ago, is supporting social, charitable and environmental work which, we think, should be positively considered too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sven_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agra
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Devi Niketan and the Govind Niwas next door are twin properties which is a huge house converted into a heritage hotel. It is centrally located in C-Scheme area with the main M.I.Road nearby. Given a choice go for Devi Niketan rather than Govind Niwas as the former is in the main block. Col Manvendra Singh, the owner oversees the arrangements personally. The rooms are spacious and so is the bathroom. The television has cable TV connection which does not work too well. The breakfast is Ok. There is ample parking space. When next in Jaipur I would like to stay in the same place again.

Room Tip: Go for room in Devi Niketan and not in Govind Niwas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank findnsecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lejre
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We're a family of four who had four days in Jaipur over X-mas 2011 and the hotel came recommended.
Before our stay we had several questions for the owner and in every case they were met with friendlyness.
The athmosphere of the hotel is also friendlyness and we felt right at home.

The staff and the service was outstanding and we'll definately go again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennethvaleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I would loved to stay here as many time as I visit Jaipur. Beautiful property, lovely ambience, warm hospitality, and luxury at its best and absolutely affordable. Not to forget, owner Admiral Mahender Singh added the splendor with his charm, guidance and personal touch to all his guest. My kid loved him.

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms were perfect. I would suggest swimming pool facing and first floor rooms, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neetu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.8 km away
Suryaa Villa
Suryaa Villa
#30 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.5 km away
Sugan Niwas Palace
Sugan Niwas Palace
#69 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 km away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Ratnawali
Hotel Ratnawali
#52 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.2 km away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#109 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

Property: Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Address: Sardar Patel Road | Near Chomu House Circle, 'C' - Scheme, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devi Niketan is a family owned and operated Heritage Hotel in central Jaipur which was inaugurated on April 2008. It stands on a big plot with large, lush green lawns in front and rear of the building, a large parking area and a swimming pool. A double storied heritage house, it is part of the 140 acre estate of the former ruling family of Chomu. Adjacent to Devi Niketan is "Govind Niwas", the residence of Admiral Madhvendra Singh and his wife Kumu, who own and run "Devi Niketan". Govind Niwas too stands on a big plot with plenty of greenery. Taken together the two properties stand on a two acre estate which gives a feeling of space and tranquility - even though it is surrounded by a bustling city. It is in a "Happening" neighbourhood with plenty of eating places, Ayurvedic massage parlours, shopping malls with food courts and movie theaters, banks & ATMs, gyms - all within one kilometer.While we do not have an a la Carte Restaurant, a Buffet Breakfast is available and Dinner is served if ordered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devi Niketan Jaipur
Devi Niketan Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing