We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful homestay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thaltara

Thaltara
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thaltara
Ranked #170 of 484 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Studio City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful homestay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

The Colonel and his wife run this fantastic homestay where you are made to feel totally at home. Food is FANTASTIC! We even got a surprise carrot cake. The rooms are simple and functional. Most fun was sitting around a fire outside and chatting with the large extended family. It's a great respit in a busy city; so much better than staying in a hotel. The family are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Col Giriraj Singh, wife Kumud and son Fateh and the two dogs [one boisterous, one more mature] made us feel right at home. Their help with all the planning for our three days stay helped us to make the most of our stay, see all the important sights and go to all the places that mattered. Felt like family from day one. Colonel arranged for the transport, internet was available and the food was great, the staff courteous and efficient. Their army background seems to have rubbed of on all as far as friendliness and efficiency was concerned. Wish we had stayed a few days more!!.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mohmats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Thaltara and its hosts embody what Rajasthan is all about - grace, culture, hospitality, valor and enjoyment of life. Jaipur was the culmination of a 15 day Rajasthan tour and we could have asked for a better climax. We spent 5 days with Col.(Retd) Giriraj Singh, his wife Kumud and son Fateh. We were privileged to meet some other members of the family too - and the whole family took us in. From loaning their driver to picking up members of our family to Fateh offering to drop us off on his way to the city, they truly made us feel at home! The rooms are huge, tastefully decorated and the service is quiet, attentive and impeccable. My mother loved the swing they had on their front patio. Thaltara is located really close to everything and our Hosts gave us excellent directions for both kinds of shopping - exclusive as well as street shopping. Kumud has a wide array of traditional/royal Indian as well as contemporary western dishes on her incomparable menus. Her tea service is excellent and her collection speaks for itself. More than once we are all together in the front patio for tea or lingering at the table after dinner - the conversation was invariably stimulating, engaging - and always relaxed. History, Geography, Politics, Cooking, Sports, Music, Military Jokes - you will have a lot of fun! Thaltara calls itself a Bed&Breakfast - it's really much more than that - it's the place which helps you put together everything in Rajasthan/Jaipur you see and visit and read about - and get a FEEL of what Rajasthan and its people are like - and that's the whole point is'nt it?

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UjwalaHarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We recently celebrated a family event at Jaipur. We found our entire stay very comfortable. They are very attentive, courteous and hospitable people to be with. They went out of their way to accommodate all the requests we had. I would definitely recommend this if you are looking for a family friendly stay at Jaipur

-Vardhan

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

I stayed at Thaltara as part of a three day tour of Jaipur, and was delighted by the homey atmosphere, delicious food, and lovely accomidations. It is located in a beautiful, quiet home in Jaipur that is close to all the gorgeous sights sights of the cities. The family is more than welcoming, and has two college-aged sons who acted as our tour guides and made the entire experience genuine and very worthwhile. The rooms were air-conditioned and made a welcome retreat from the heat, and internet, television, and swimming pool were made avaliable 24/7. For anyone looking for a genuine view of the city as well as a home away from home, I would highly reccomend Thaltara! It has more of the feel of staying in a family friend's home than other isolated accomidations. Best way to experience the city, hands down!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jekg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaltara, owner at Thaltara, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
Thank you for the review, Elizabeth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

My wife, mom and I were fortunate enough to stay at Thaltara while on an extended tour of India. This B&B is a splendid oasis that’s optizimed for relaxtion for the weary traveler. Close to all the major attractions, you can make arrangements to be picked up at the train station, bus station or airport. The owners are Retired Colonel Girirag Singh & his wife Kumud, who make you feel like you’re part of the family, and have extensive knowledge of the area and can advise you on places to shop and things to see. They can also help you arrange excursions outside Jaipur. The Colonel has many interesting stories about the region and his time in the service that he'll gladly share with you. You can also kick back with him and listen to his favorite selection of American Country music! There’s also a collection of classic automobiles owned by a family memeber to dazzle guests. Thaltara has some darling pets that are the friendliest doggies we’ve ever met, which adds to the charm of the place. Accommodations are spotless. The rooms are large with A/C and meals are prepared to your taste. A great overall value that’s more personal than any hotel, with no annoying sales people trying to sell you something. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank xvadim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taltara, owner at Thaltara, responded to this review, 13 May 2009
It was great getting the review from the first gusts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
4.8 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#16 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,199 reviews
10.3 km away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#34 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
15.0 km away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 376 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#17 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
4.4 km away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
36.6 km away
The Tree House Resort
The Tree House Resort
#6 of 388 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaltara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaltara

Property: Thaltara
Address: Thaltara Path | Khatipura, Jaipur 302012, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 484 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 bedrooms double bed air conditioned with attached bathrooms having running hot & cold water. Large verandas for lounging and wifi Internet available. Interesting local food on request, continental food also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing