We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can it get any more luxurious? No.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rambagh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rambagh Palace
Ranked #5 of 367 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Journalist
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Can it get any more luxurious? No.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

India is host to dozens of "palace hotels" - some grand, some dumpy, with all points in between, and each is imbued with its own unique history. But the top of the foodchain is and always has been the Rambagh. You can read up on the background to understand why this is such a particularly compelling environment: built as an early 19th-century hunting lodge for the Rajput royal family, it was eventually transformed into a luxurious residence when Jaipur's Maharaja Jai Singh married his beloved third wife, Gayatri Devi in the 1930's. This was their special retreat during the years they were toasted internationally as one of the world's most glamorous couples, and no doubt the walls have plenty of spicy stories to tell about the lavish parties, elegant guests and eye-popping events that transpired here over the years (some of the royal family continue to live in homes on the extensive palace grounds...) Thirty years ago when I first stayed at Rambagh it retained some of the original Art Deco-era interiors, and what it lacked then in service was amply made up for by atmosphere. At the time, the Maharani was still on the premises (her book, "A Princess Remembers", is still sold in the excellent bookstore on the first floor) and while Rambagh was incomparably lovely, it was fraying at the edges and, like most 100+ room homes, expensive to maintain. When the Taj hotel chain took it over some years ago, a top-to-bottom renovation insured that no room would be anything less than gorgeous, comfortable, and fully-functional. Today, peacocks still strut the lawns and the famous antique cars are still deployed out front: you do feel like a royal walking into this unusual property, and its very difficult to leave a place where every desire seems to be anticipated. If you don't stay here (yes, you pay through the nose, but you can see why you're paying for it!) at least go for tea on the lawn, or a drink at dusk, or for dinner in one of the three delicious restaurants - including "Steam", which is created from several old train cars. Ramagh has made it through the centuries, transofrming itself to fit each new era and each time, rising to the occasion.

Room Tip: The so-called "palace rooms" are more expensive but guarantee that you are staying in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Writerontherecord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Rambagh Palace in the near future.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    130
    37
    16
    11
See reviews for
369
626
50
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Had the most incredible three days at the Rambagh Palace. The Golden Triangle area is filled with contrast - unimaginable luxury and poverty, so my husband and I were exhausted physically and mentally when we arrived in Jaipur. Entering the gates of the Rambagh Palace was like entering the gates of heaven. Everything about this place is magical - the staff are warm, friendly and helpful; the room was gorgeous and very comfortable; the grounds are stunning; the gym/spa was serene; and the chef makes the most incredible food from all the regions of India. You'll need three days here to fully appreciate the majesty of the Rambagh. I recommend the horse-drawn carriage ride around the property. I also highly recommend getting to know the restaurant staff as they went far out of their way to prepare meals for us and make our stay special.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenntabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I traveled to this hotel on my first trip to India--for my birthday.

The staff is beyodn attentive. I stepped off the plane in Jaipur and was greeted by a hotel butler who escorted me to my car where a hotel footman and driver, both in impeccable uniforms, in a Jaguar sedan drove me to the hotel. On the way there I explained that the airline has lost my luggage and that it wouldn't arrive for several days--they took me shopping to several malls in the area. The hotel's rep took me from shop to shop.

After three hours of shopping we went to the hotel where I was literally showered in flower petals from above and immediately escorted to my room. Check-in wasn't done in the lobby, it was done in the room. This is just the start... The room itself was glorious and has museum-quality furniture and antiques.

If there is one word to describe this hotel it is: SERVICE. Not to mention luxury, safety, elegance, exclusivity. I cannot list enough adjectives of superlatives to describe this place. Beyond the rooms, which are outlandish yet tasteful, the rest of this real-life palace is simply superb. The grounds are perfectly manicured and the spa area is out of a Hollywood movie set.

I had a yoga instructor, personal masseur, several butlers and footmen at my disposal, a hotel palm-reader, driver, the list of staff is endless... every member of the hotel staff greeted me by last name and asked with a genuine smile how I was doing and immediately addressed any concern I would have.

I'm telling you: if you have not lived like a Maharajah and been treated like a Prince then please do yourself the favor of shelling out the $700 I did per night and you will realize you won't even want to leave the hotel grounds. You will never forget it.

The food is adequate. They have three restaurants and I stuck to Indian food which was fine. Not a michelin-star restaurant but compared to fare nearby or at fancy restaurants I find India in general to be somewhat wanting.

I will definitely be going back to this Palace and next time I want to bring 8 members of my family so that they can experience the magic of living like an Indian nobleman.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curzio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, England
Level Contributor
164 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Former palace set in immaculately-kept grounds with vintage cars, an old steam train, peacocks and other birds, patrolling horsemen and lots more to amuse and impress. For a special occasion e.g. honeymoon you can even order a royal reception with elephants, camels and dancers. Rooms are equally impressive. Ours had superb view onto gardens. Stylish bathroom, though getting in and out of bath might be a problem for anyone with limited agility.
Service is very good. After a couple of minor problems on the first day of our visit the staff pulled out all the stops to make sure the rest of our stay was perfect.
There are two pools indoor and outdoor. The indoor one is larger and in a spectacular hall, but it is unheated and just to cold even for a fairly hardy Briton like me.
The extensive grounds mean the the rooms are quiet, though the noises of the city can't be completely excluded.

Room Tip: One looking onto garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Sir,

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel.

We thank you for the feedback which although not necessarily pleasant for us is absolutely invaluable as it ensures that we not only become aware but are being proactive in addressing our guests concerns.

We are concerned regarding the shortcomings during your stay, which are being taken up with the concerned departments in order to take corrective measures for the future.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Apart from not allowing us to have an extra bed for our 9 year old son in our room like all other hotel we've been during this trip, our stay was more than excellent. We had to book two rooms but we were upgraded to a Heritage Suite and connecting room, we end up having more than 100 m2 of room!

The hotel is an old palace of the local maharajahs and is worth a visit by itself. Reception with guided tour ending with welcome glass of champagne is just brilliant. Having a receptionist take our son around for a tour in horse cart and vintage car was just over the top.

The fine dining Indian restaurant served us the best Indian food we ever had (and we had a lot).

Staff is always friendly and helpful; drinks and food prices are similar to same level hotels.

By a long way the best hotel we've been to in our 12 days in India this year.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are brilliant and big, heritage suites are huge. Must try the fine dining restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LePoulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Rambagh Palace in the near future.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The bar at this hotel is one of those places you want to chill and drink g and ts.The waiter here was first class(sorry I don't know his name because he got our best waiter vote!)
The service at this hotel is outstanding with one exception, afternoon tea when we were served
by a really surly inefficient bunch.
The rooms are tastefully decked out.although rooms in the inner courtyard area have windows that look out onto the albeit beautiful corridors,but you would need to keep the curtains closed for any privacy.We were upgraded to a beautiful suite for our last night(and it looks like some of the actual named suites would be mega).
The hotel reception is filled with rose petals and smelt divine and we were each presented with jasmine garlands on our arrival.One of the restaurants is the most opulent room I've ever dined in.

Room Tip: If you can afford it one of the named suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The tariff for Rambag is quite high in comparison to other hotels in Jaipur, but when you are treated as good as royalty suppose it is well worth it. We were in Jaipur for a couple of days and decided on Rambag only because of an off-season discount offered after a lot of coaxing. The property is huge with the verdant gardens, lots of peacocks and abundant greenery

We loved the buggy ride in the evening and the tour of the palace especially the polo club and complimentary champagne. In the evenings dinner was organized at the patio accompanied by live Rajasthani dance and folk music. They also have a replica train station on the property which now houses a restaurant.

We were pampered by the staff and enjoyed the complimentary cholocate delicacies every evening. Also, the lovely and soothing lighting of the palace grounds in the evenings is just fabulous

All in all we came back with a royal experience!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lostbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.8 km away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#7 of 367 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
7.9 km away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 367 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
2.9 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#15 of 367 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#16 of 367 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
6.9 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 367 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
2.4 km away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#28 of 367 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambagh Palace

Property: Rambagh Palace
Address: Bhawani Singh Road, Jaipur 302005, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rambagh Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces: Established in 1901, Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is one of Asia's largest and finest group of hotels, comprising over 119 hotels in 61 locations across India with an additional 17 international hotels in the Maldives, Malaysia, UK, USA, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Africa and the Middle East. From world-renowned landmarks to modern business hotels, idyllic beach resorts to authentic Grand Palaces, each Taj hotel offers an unrivalled fusion of warm Indian hospitality, world-class service and modern luxury. For over a century, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, the iconic flagship has set a benchmark for fine living with exquisite refinement, inventiveness and warmth. Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is part of the Tata Group, India's premier business house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Rambagh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Rambagh Palace Jaipur
Taj Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing