We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slipping in Service”
Review of Jai Mahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jai Mahal Palace
Ranked #6 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Slipping in Service”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Have stayed here before with pleasure and this time I brought an extended family group from four countries. The service was rough, from check-in to check-out. We arrived early--as we had advised them that we would--and the front desk staff was not only not accommodating but also testy and defensive. We have stayed at many Taj properties across India and I don't think I have ever experienced anything like this before. It was embarrassing and disappointing.

For the premium you pay to stay at a beautiful property like this, you should be assured of the famous Taj hospitality.

The other downside is that the cafe restaurant is serviced by slightly absent-minded staff for breakfast. Lunch & dinner service is a bit better, as it should be for the price charged. Service at their premium restaurant, Cinnamon, was perfect though.

There are many hotel options in Jaipur. Clearly this property isn't feeling very competitive. We will try other hotels in Jaipur now. Too bad, because the place is a lovely haven and very well-located.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianawallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    395
    83
    32
    22
See reviews for
730
613
56
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brummen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We came to Jaipur visiting the Elephant-festival 2012 and stayed in this very comfortable palace hotel. This hotel with its superb gardens feels like an oasis in the hectic of Jaipur-city. Warm welcome with flower-necklace and drinks in the beautiful lobby. Friendly and helpful restaurant-staff. Good selection of food. Indian music and dance on the terrace during dinner! Nice rooms with all facilities.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a safe bet in Jaipur, my major grip and it bothers me, is they charge for cold Himalyan water from the min-bar. It's Jaipur, so it's hot, and they only give you one bottle of drinking water. Himalayan is normally free at most other Taj properties, it seems cheap and management should reconsider.

Other than that, the property is very nice, the rooms quaint and the service is solid. I might be back but I will bring my own water!

Room Tip: Bring extra water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Visiting Jaipur as a tourist wishing to see as much as possible, staying at the Jai Mahal was a delightful respite from the days out. The warm welcome from the staff was memorable as we were warmly greeted and ushered into the beautiful lobby -- a hot cup of Indian tea served immediately. All meals were delicious with the friendly restaurant staff always readly to meet our preferences and requests. In keeping with the feel of the old palace, the rooms were luxurious but the grounds -- hosting two weddings during my stay -- were palatial! The Jai Mahal is a beautiful property with a staff that gives one a feeling of genuine hospitality while providing a high level of guest service. Would definitely stay here again if I return to Jaipur.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnne2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here over New Years. The Palace is quite stunning, with exceptional grounds, superbly maintained facilities and top notch service.

Unfortunately the New Years Eve 'Party' promised a great deal but failed to deliver. They tried so hard...a wonderful pre-dinner ride in a horse drawn carriage with roadside entertainment and...a nice buffet, and then it all fell so horribly flat. No entertainment except a struggling MC giving away free nights at other Jai Palaces in India to people...most of whom will never get the chance to use them...and a band playing Dancing Queen. All the wonderful entertainment potential of touristy India...traditional Indian music, dancers, fire-eaters....tabla band...anything else to make it a New Years Eve event! And it was very expensive for the obligatory tickets.

Anyway, don't stay here over New Years and you'll love it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilOakshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
214 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I had brought a tour group here before and again it did not disappoint. Service from the get go was what you would think it would be. Lovely greeting and quick check in for them, Rooms spacious and quiet. Food excellent and when we found out there would be Elephant Polo on one of the two nights there they were quick to change our evening meal to a special meal for us so our group could enjoy the polo match if they wanted to. The only noise were the peacocks and other birds. No complaints at all here and will come again. The grounds are extensive and beautiful. Lovely pool. Internet great. A real choice hotel for coming back to after the days activities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had a wonderful weekend stay in March 2012. We were greeted with cold drinks and flower necklaces. The staff was extremely helpful in arranging tours and transportation. The restaurant and bar were splendid and the service excellent. We will definitely be returning on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.8 km away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
10.6 km away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
1.0 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#17 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
7.9 km away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#18 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
1.9 km away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jai Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jai Mahal Palace

Property: Jai Mahal Palace
Address: Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#5 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jai Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the main shopping centre and historical monuments, Jai Mahal Palace is ideal for exploring the fascinating city of Jaipur. The majestic palace, a vast complex of regal rooms, pretty pavilions and charming colonnades set amidst 18 acres of landscaped gardens, traces its origins to 1745. The heritage palace has been painstakingly restored and recently refurbished to offer guests the exclusive experience of a royal lifestyle complemented by legendary Taj hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jai Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jai Mahal Palace Hotel Jaipur
Hotel Jai Mahal Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing