We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meghniwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Meghniwas
Ranked #8 of 372 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

After a hectice six hour drive from Delhi on the last day of a ten day religious festival, I was ready for peace and quiet. I loved the large room with the desk where i caught up on my journal, and the balcony overlooking the pool. I sat on the balcony reading "India Treasures" by Gary Worthington and next to pool was a young man playing a Sitar - perfect background music for a great book. I had lunch and breakfast, which were fine. I read an earlier review about good coffee, so I asked at breakfast if they had brewed coffee and was given a plunger-style coffee maker - it was great! (they "plunged" it before serving it to me and it hadn't brewed enough, so they gave me another with the plunger up for me to control). This was a trip tacked on to work, so I was without my husband and found this a good place for a solo traveler. You feel as though you are in someone's lovely old home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCJewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    110
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
107
114
39
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I have just spent another week at the Megniwas and thought I really must write a review. There is no other place I would rather stay in Jaipur and I plan to go again with my husband as soon as I can. Jaipur is a mad, noisy wonderful place so it it just lovely to go back to this hotel and enter the oasis of peace and tranquility of this hotel. The garden and pool area are enchanting. All the staff are so helpful and friendly and the head of the dining room has been there for over 30 years so he must enjoy his job - and he smiles a lot. The food is so good that I didn't go out to eat. Those in my group who did said the food was no better in the restaurants in the centre. They have great puddings too. They sell large bottles of Kingfisher beer which just hit the spot after a hard day's sight seeing. The rooms are large and comfortable and the bathrooms are spotless. Colonel and Mrs Singh are both charming and it's just fascinating hearing Colonel Singh relating stories of his time in the army. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulubet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrecife, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

A beautiful hotel, Largest bedroom and shower room we have ever seen. Superb food. Very friendly staff. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. OK I am not Michael Winner but I would like to come back again and again.

Room Tip: Try rooms overlooking pool they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hotel Meghniwas is a quiet and charming oasis just off the beaten path of total bedlam (traffic) and madness (noise) in the city of Jaipur! The terrace and garden are a lovely, quiet haven for evening relaxation after busy and exhausting days of site seeing. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Bathroom was clean. Service great. Food quality is very good and safe! Great value for money. The only down side is that my bed was rock hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I loved this hotel. It was a nice and comfortable place to stay. Great staff-really nice people. Wonderful laundry service. Delicious breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

this place is probably one of the best in Rajasthan in terms of service ! Rooms are lovely and well furnished, the garden is delightful, the food is excellent and should satisfy all tastes...
The staff is efficient, though discreet, No pushing, no hassle, all informations are available on request. We stayed there for 3 nights in a row being a group of 12. The weather was quite chilly and we were all delighted to find a portable heater in our rooms after the first night, without asking for it ! House keeping and room services are both excellent and one can easily feel that the owner is personnally taking care of the place. Thanks for a lovely stay !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senvatenguerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were sorry to only have one night in this delightful hotel. Conveniently located, clean and welcoming, this hotel had all the modern conveniences with plenty of old world charm. We were particularly grateful to Indu Singh who went beyond the call of duty to help us with our travel plans, but all of the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Another plus was the excellent coffee, which generally seems hard to get hold of in India.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.0 km away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#4 of 372 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.8 km away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 372 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#10 of 372 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.9 km away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#18 of 372 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.2 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#14 of 372 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meghniwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meghniwas

Property: Hotel Meghniwas
Address: C-9 Sawai Jai Singh Highway | Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meghniwas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Meghniwas is small twenty four rooms Boutique Hotel in Jaipur Rajasthan. It is a family owned & managedHotel run by Colonel Fateh Singh & his wife Mrs Indu F Singh.Meghniwas is an ancestral family home converted into a Hotel. It is built on a 2500 sq yd plot with a pool & extensive gardens. Our USP is personalized services,Warm, friendly , relaxing , clean & unpretentious atmosphere with a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Meghniwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meghniwas Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing