We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Ranked #20 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Most of what I have to say about our stay here during the 1st - 2nd week in March is very positive. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean and generally well maintained.

Our room was at the back of the hotel and there was little to see from the balcony but that didn't matter to us as we didn't go to India to spend much time in our room and when we did, we were usually asleep. However, we did have half a dozen peacocks come past while out on the balcony one day which was rather nice to see.
Our bed was comfortable enough.

We particularly liked the rooftop restaurant as we thought the food there was very good. We only ate the Indian food and never tried any of the chinese items or pizza on the menu.

When we found ourselves at the hotel at lunchtime we would order a veg thali, which was several small bowls of different curry, rice, salad and 4 chapati + 1 sweet. One was enough for the two of us and very good value. We are not vegetarian but found that we didn't miss the meat as the dishes were so tasty.

There was an hour or two of entertainment each evening in the form of some traditional Indian musicians/singers and two lady dancers at the rooftop restaurant.

This was the same every evening but we didn't notice much after the first couple of evenings as we were so busy eating with, and talking to other travellers that we met.
We met some wonderful people at the hotel from all over the world with great tales to tell of their Indian experiences.

There's a little gift shop at the hotel which had very reasonable prices and handy for those last minute purchases.

The dining room inside the hotel where the buffet style breakfast is served is very comfortable. I would have liked my review to have been 100% positive but unfortunately I found the breakfast to be a bit of a disappointment.
My husband was fine as he was happy with the cooked to order omelettes. However, that's not my kind of breakfast. Breakfast was limited unless you liked hot curried items (or omelettes).

My breakfast therefore consisted of brown toast and butter with some banana. I would have liked to seen a better quality Indian tea on offer rather than tetley teabags.

Overall though, this was a great place to stay. It's not really very far away from the main attractions and its easy to get about with all the tuc tucs, taxis and rickshaws touting for your business.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaps22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    920
    196
    50
    35
See reviews for
785
828
110
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel is located about 10 minutes auto-rickshaw drive from the old city - 70 rupees upwards, depending on your negotiation skills. We previously stayed here some 5 years ago when I booked the best 3 rooms for a group of 6. This time, I decided that my wife and I could make do with less luxurious accommodation (cheapskate?) for our 5 day stopover and so we arrived wondering whether the downsizing would alter our perception.

Obviously, the room was smaller by comparison but it was nevertheless large enough for us to spread out comfortably - an important factor given that we spent 2-3 hours every afternoon sitting around reading/dozing (this being our 3rd visit to Jaipur, so we did not need to spend time visiting Amber, the City Palace or Jantar Mantar).

As far as common areas are concerned, the pool and sun-lounging area is adequate as few visitors have enough spare time to take advantage of the facility; internet access is on offer near the reception desk; a larger lounge area is available to complement the balconies that most rooms appear to have; and the rooftop restaurant has both indoor and outside seating for drinks/food during the day. The decor of the hotel throughout provides the heritage feel and is excellently maintained.

Given that Jaipur is generally short on quality restaurants beyond those within hotels, we ate in-house. The food was excellent, the vegetable jalfrezi particularly deserving praise in our opinion, while the breakfast offering was extensive with the omelettes being the best that I have had in India during our many visits. The only negative comment is that some of the self-serve dishes had been allowed to cool down - I'm not sure whether the candles had been lit under the containers.

Finally, we found all staff to be courteous and helpful, and always ready to smile and greet you without being prompted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabascoleathergrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here for 32 nights in january and were very comfortable. The location was a sort taxi ride from most attractions and the breakfasts were good, a mixture of Indian and continental foods. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just a night @ Umaid Bhavan made us feel very short... Amazing interiors and very nicely arranged .. A true mahal from outside ... huge room with clean bath facilities.. A must stay hotel , though lil high in price on food ....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarmaruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Not much to add, other than I think it should be rated higher than it is! Some beautiful rooms, look at your room before you check in. If it's not great, ask what else they have.

Very nice rooftop restaurant. Good food and service. When we were there ((February, 2012) they had live music (traditional Indian) every night. Very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_kester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Travelling with my friends, this was by far our favorite hotel in India. Beautiful inside and out, our luxury suite was absolutely amazing! Huge room, very good wireless internet, and our room was like a palace. Amazing for the price, and included buffet breakfast in the morning was great. Staff was very friendly and rooftop restaurant had great food, and nightly entertainment welcoming you to Rajasthan. You would be crazy to stay anywhere else in Jaipur. If I ever make it back to Jaipur I will definitely stay here again, and you should too.

Room Tip: We got the luxury suite which was amazing...from the looks of it..it seems like its worth the little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

What a thrill to spend time here and to really feel the pulse of India - so appealing to the eye and so comfortable and welcoming from the moment we stepped in through the front door.
Very helpful, and cheerful staff and we really felt at home at the Udmaid Bhawan. Would highly recommend it to travellers.

Beulah and Mike Cape Town S. Africa

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beulah and Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.3 km away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 376 in Jaipur
1,758 reviews
1.9 km away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 376 in Jaipur
1,913 reviews
1.0 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#17 of 376 in Jaipur
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 376 in Jaipur
1,508 reviews
0.5 km away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 376 in Jaipur
827 reviews
4.6 km away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 376 in Jaipur
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel

Property: Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Address: Plot No. D-1-2A Behind Collectorate Via Bank Road | (Via) Bank Road, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best run Jaipur hotels. Umaid Bhawan Jaipur is a modern heritage hotel with a budget hotel tariff providing world class Rajasthani style accommodation. Our hotel is highly recommended by Lonely Planet, Let's go, Foot print travel guides on Jaipur Hotels and Jaipur Budget Hotels.Run by a family of Rathores, Hotels Jaipur - Umaid Bhawan is one of the finest hotels in Jaipur. Built in traditional style, there are beautifully carved balconies, attractive courtyards, open terraces, lovely garden and comfortable rooms with antique furnishings. Umaid Bhawan offers unique exotic traditional Rajasthani ambience found only in some of the Hotels in Jaipur.Ranked as one of the best run budget hotels in Jaipur by the Lonely Planet international travel guide book, Umaid Bhawan offers guests a pleasant and comfortable home away from home with traditional Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Hotel
Umaid Bhawan Heritage Jaipur
Umaid Bhawan Palace
Hotel Umaid Bhawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing