We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine holiday home”
Review of Shahar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shahar Palace
Ranked #81 of 505 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fine holiday home”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

When I first made a reservation, I did it based on Fiona Caulfield's recommendation. I did not hope much - maybe aging royalty making a little extra money.
But when we arrived at the place, the impeccably clean rooms took us by surprise. It only added to the impression we had when the owner came by to the railway station at 2 am to pick us up. Thank you Col. Singh.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank udayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    30
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
21
29
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Increasingly I will use Jaipur as a base rather than Delhi and am always looking at different areas of Jaipur for quiet accommodation near to the facilities I use. Shahar Palace is away from the noise and bustle of Jaipur, a lovely leafy suburb in Civil Lines.
Lovely garden, gracious hosts and a willing staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dsharmawinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

The hotel sits in a nice secure surrounding of lush greenery. Locating it on your own in the dead of night could be difficult. Rooms are average. More like home stay, don't expect professional butler service. Requested airport transport did not come. Rooms with higher rent (Rs 1425/-) was provided against the confirmed standard rent room (Rs 925/-). Food is avearage and expensive for the standard.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ratty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Good value with a free pick up from the station. Wonderfully quiet and green for India, this is a lovely oasis of calm and I would stay here again if I find myself in Jaipur in the future.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank england_returns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wichita,ks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

A Guest house of this calibre rarely reaches the letting market and a viewing/staying really is necessary to fully appreciate the character, peacefulness and harmony of this wonderful property. Ideally located from main line railway station and town centre both only a ten minute away by tuk-tuk.It is very much a haven, offering all the comfort one would expect in a home.lovely rooms overlooks the well stocked garden.All of the staff are delightful and extremely helpful.The food is excellent.We can now understand the comments made by other guests in their reviews, and we too will returning in future years to enjoy more.I recommend this hotel for an amazing honeymoon, A romantic getaway, older travelers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chrisCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

To be fair - the positives first. Very nice surroundings, well-maintained, quiet and clean. We even had a peacock outside our room one morning.
Beware, though, if you are an Indian and not an army person. The owner, being an ex-army man, has scant regard for civilians of his own country. His wife takes on the same attitude, and, not surprisingly, so does the cook, and the attendants! Find fault with anything (we did with cold, very late food) and they will literally slam the door shut in your face unless you are a white or an army person yourself. Have a problem in your room and ring the call bell? You can lie in solitude waiting for help. We escalated this rudeness and indifference to the owner and his attitude was simply that "our civilians only know how to complain despite being so well taken care of by the armed forces". They know which side their bread is buttered - they know the whites get them the $. Beware of attitude problems here!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DrRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We had a fantastic time staying with Mr Singh and his wife at Sharar Palace, they have an amazing house set in tranquil gardens and very accessible to the city. Mr Singh was very helpful and friendly and collected us from the airport (for free!). We had a super room overlooking the garden with a lovely terrace where we had breakfast and a "sundowner" drink. heir regular tuk tuk driver took us around the city which made sightseeeing much easier and stress free. I would highly recommend staying here, it's wonderfully quiet and the Singh's are a really lovely, interesting family. A wonderful stay, we only wish we could have stayed longer.
Becky (London)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mew_becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.3 km away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
0.8 km away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 386 in Jaipur
1,574 reviews
2.2 km away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
2.0 km away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#24 of 386 in Jaipur
1,804 reviews
0.3 km away
Barwara Kothi
Barwara Kothi
#17 of 505 in Jaipur
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahar Palace

Property: Shahar Palace
Address: Barwara House Colony, Jaipur 302006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 505 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shahar Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shahar Palace is owned by the formal royal family of Shahar, Colonel Virendra Singh (retd) and his wife Nalini.The Heritage Hotel provides some of the finest accommodation in Jaipur, with a host of comforts and services in a truly regal ambiance.It's exterior design and gardens all reflect the spirit of Rajasthan, its heritage and royal traditions. Besides the grand residences of Chief Minister and Governor of Rajasthan, the area is renowned for its greenery, peace and quiet ambiance. Hotel Shahar Palace has also been recommended as one of the best budget Jaipur Hotel by the Lonely Planet Guide to Rajasthan , RoughGuide Jaipur , Love Jaipur by Fiona Caufield , German & Japanese guide book to Jaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shahar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing