We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Stay at Umaid Mahal”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #23 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Makassar, Indonesia
1 review
“Our Stay at Umaid Mahal”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Beautiful hotel, affordable and very good value for your money.
We had a great stay there (and probably our best hotel we stayed in India).
It just that if you come on your own without your own car, then you will always need an auto rickshaw to go to the "center" of Jaipur.
In General, we love this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudinMakassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    692
    163
    33
    12
See reviews for
477
691
111
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I booked two rooms at this hotel in March 2012 and have stayed here on two previous occasions. Whilst being a relatively new hotel you get a real "haveli" experience and I have always found the staff to be very helpful. The decor is delightful. The hotel is easy to find and relatively quiet. I would have no hestitation staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a night at Umaid Mahal while in Jaipur for 4 nights. We had a nice stay. The room was so lovely, and a nice change from the hostels we had stayed in.

We had ordered continental breakfast through room service as we were starving after a 6 hour drive coming from Agra. It took quite a while. At least an hour. We had to call back to ask what was happening.
they then told us that room service was closed. ????
In this case, I think it may be a good idea for management and staff to communicate a little bit better. I had to go downstairs to talk to the manager at front desk to share our experience. I definitely get grumpy when I am starving. We ended up getting complimentary omelettes, it would have been nice if the complete breakfast was complimentary.

Other than that experience, we had a nice stay at Umaid Mahal. The building and decor is gorgeous. The roof top restaurant was lovely and the food so tasty.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giselle1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We spent 5 days at Umaid Mahal this year during the Elephant Fest and Holi Festival. The decor is great, rooms clean and the western style showers have tons of pressure and an endless supply of hot water. The rooftop restaurant had an extensive menu. We spent more than one night eating delicious tikka pizza and drinking refreshing mojitos. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They did our laundry for a reasonable price and there were always willing to help us find transportation (however, the taxis loitering outside were reasonable priced and always available). The rooms were very quiet and there's an ATM within walking distance. We were a little disappointed that the pool was super cold, but I can't think of anything else to even slightly complain about. For the price, this place can't be beat. It was definitely our favorite hotel and we stayed in 2 others that were priced higher.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmonium23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I was expecting this place to be larger. But I liked the decor and the room interiors. The beds were good looking and bathrooms alright. We took 3 rooms and one of the three had really small bathroom. I would suggest to check that room out before really going for it.

The location of the hotel was good but there could be a parking issue if there are many guests driving to the hotel at one point of time.

Room Tip: Check out if it is not the smallest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

May husband and I stayed at Umaid Mahal in March 2012.The location of this hotel is good - close to most of the tourist spots. The rooftop restaurant is cozy and has great food. We enjoyed their breakfast as well as dinner. The receptionist is very pleasant, they have a travel agent who will give you tips on places to visit and things to avoid - very helpful. The staff at the rooftop restaurant tend to get a little loud at times which can be annoying if you want to just sit and enjoy your meal and the cool breeze.The decor of our room (royal deluxe) was nice - painting of the royal family adorned the walls. The bathroom was clean with running hot and cold water.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonaBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Brilliant Hotel. Superb ever-smiling staff. I was amazed at the quality of food there too. Such a small hotel but I had a fantastic vegetarian meal at the rooftop restaurant.

I have no idea why this hotel would have any negative review. Prompt service followed up with a homely feel.

I was upgraded to this hotel from my initial booking at Umaid Bhavan, as these are sister concerns of each other.

Great experience overall.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiravKothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.3 km away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.5 km away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.3 km away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Umaid Haveli Hotel and Resort
0.3 km away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.4 km away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Property: Umaid Mahal
Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing