We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“a great little place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vijay Niwas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vijay Niwas
Ranked #265 of 464 Jaipur B&B and Inns
bristol
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

A lovely little hotel with a family feel about it. The reception staff could not be more helpful. The room was basic & the A/C a bit noisy. Lovely front garden to have coffee or a soft drink. (a non alcohol hotel) Shopping not to far & the walk is very entertaining. If you fancy a drink there is a local beer shop as you turn left on main road, its cheap but shuts about 8pm!! Quite a few restaurants nearby & hotels offering food, just go to rooftop cafe & you can see them. Didn't eat in hotel so can't comment.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xtwigx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
5
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
surat
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. All the staff were very helpfull and kind

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choudhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

Hotel vijay Niwas is a quit good place to stay with in middle class budget. They also provide other faciities like taxi facilities,ticketing etc. Services are personilsed and are upto mark. Food too is good.

  • Liked — comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadhich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

i have booed 2 nights in the Jaipur at Vijay Niwas by a travel agent. I was on a tight budget and managed to get availability . With 2 nights they gave me complementary sight seeing of the bus. We would recommend every one going to Jaipur to stay there. Food is also very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takemyadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2008

The hotel was booked through a Tour operator "Maitri Holidays" /"Adventure tours" alias " undoubtedly the Worst tour operator in the world" The hotel advertises itself as a heritage hotel.. I don't think the owners have the faintest clue as to what a heritage hotel is.... gaudy colors and rickety doors and cheap decor don't make a heritage hotel....the tour operator said the hotel was a 3 star... far from it,... I dn't think its even a 2 star hotel... the rooms were really hot and uncomfortable... the Ac did not work properly... the bathroom doors did not lock properly... the toilet commode was leaking.. Inspite of repeated requests to the reception, the leakage wasn't taken care of...

the hotel interiors felt really uncomfortably hot all day like an oven that had a cake baking at 400 degree centigrade. The food at the hotel restaurant seemed good.. but it took them so long to even bring water that often our hunger just vanished during the wait.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank ps1002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaipur hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

This is a new property with a lot of promise, but the lack of attention to detail and complacent service is disappointing.

The rooms are large and moderately clean. The mattress is 2" of foam, there's no top sheet, the bottom sheet is ripped and the towels are coarse and grey.

When I ask one of the 3 people on duty at the desk to check my non-functioning air conditioner they don't seem too enthused and when I return from dinner it's still not working.

The restaurant is certainly uncontaminated by customers. There's half a dozen staff lounging on the rooftop deck and it takes 30 minutes to get a pot of tea and toast with butter. But there's no butter or jam and the pot of tea is a pot with 1/3 of a cup of coffee in it. They try to charge me for a pot and only after considerable argument do they adjust the bill.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

We had to spend an extra night in Jaipur and all other hotels were fully booked, so we were directed to that one by our hotel in Udaipur. It is located on the other side of the road from Arya Niwas (same owner) and close to Mediterraneo restaurant.

On the good side : The staff is helpful and friendly, the hotel is brand new (1 year old) and very clean. The rooms are spacious, the beds are huge (bigger than king size I think !), with TV, fridge etc.

HOWEVER : it is extremely noisy, and every little sound resonates in the corridors. Well, that'd be ok if the noise was rare and soft. This is not the case here : 1/ We had some works starting over our head at 5 am (basically looking like someone banging the wall with a hammer) ; 2/ Other travellers, mostly locals, were awake around 6am and were very loud ; 3/ Even the staff seems to shout in the corridors and stairs.
Also, you must realize that the pictures on their website are not fake : these are the real colors of the hotel : bright green in the lobby, a mix of orange, green and red in the rooms with dark pink bathrooms. not for the fainthearted !

So unless you arrive at midnight and must take a flight the next day at 6am, it is probably best to avoid this hotel. That is of course if other ones are available.

By the way, this is not a Heritage hotel as mentioned on the wesite, far from it.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CoconutTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#9 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.1 km away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#18 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
1.9 km away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#74 of 363 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#22 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
1.4 km away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#13 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
2.3 km away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vijay Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vijay Niwas

Property: Hotel Vijay Niwas
Address: Khandela House, | Sansar Chandra Rd, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 464 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vijay Niwas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vijay Niwas is ideally located with easy access to all historical monuments of Jaipur. It is only half a kilometer from Central Bus Stand, one kilometer from Railway Station and 13 km from the airport. Hotel Vijay Niwas offers an array of services in truly regal ambiance. It has 38 rooms and all with two categories of rooms i.e. Executive and Deluxe. All rooms are air-conditioned but executive rooms are bigger in size, equipped with a refrigerator and tea / coffee maker facilities in all 12 rooms. Rest of the 26 rooms are Deluxe rooms. All rooms are well decorated and have attached modern toilet / bathrooms. It also has an air-conditioned roof top restaurant serving Indian and continental cuisines and has a spectacular view of the city. We can arrange a special bar-be-cue dinner laid outside restaurant on roof top. It has guarded basement parking in the premises itself. We ensure to provide high quality services to all our customers thus make them to enjoy in more friendly and comfortable environment. All rooms are well decorated with air-condition in each room, attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot and cold running water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vijay Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing