We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lousy unprofessional hotel and staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chandra Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chandra Park
Ranked #192 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Mozambique
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lousy unprofessional hotel and staff”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

36 of us arrived through a tour group after a long 12 hr bus journey. The hotel was unable to provide the required rooms and we had a long wait to get a key. Although some of us got the keys many others were not so lucky. The rooms were small, dirty and when you feel the bucket inside the toilets it is so unclean!!. Full of algi!!! The staff is very cold and does not have the right attitude. Probably they are in the wrong job. Later in the day learnt that the bathrooms get blocked and gets flooded then the water seeps to the next room through the wall. One deluxe room could not be locked and my colleagues had to go out keeping it open. I would not recommend this hotel to any sensible person.
Felix

Room Tip: All rooms are terrible and don't think there are good rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felixdemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    46
    51
    28
    24
See reviews for
29
39
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

went to this place just because it was right outside egmore station and had an early morning train to catch.

booke two rooms one standard and other deluxe. the standard though OK we were show a different room before booking and given another later, the room was in a terrible shape with leaky taps etc., to worsen we were rifht in the extreme end close to the service area with fumes from the kitchen to tackle before we get to the room, coughing in the process.

said ok to it as i had to do some quick shopping, ordered a coffee which took a good twenty minutes and three reminders to show up. had informed during booking of my early train and asked for an extra mattress., this too was done finally at 11pm with numerous call and shouts to the room service and reception

overall -5 from me, other than being outside the Station no plus point, better options available in the next lane.

Room Tip: don't book unless u r forced to
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryanlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We'd booked this after reading the TOP PICK (!) review on Lonely Planet. What a joke. We had a "deluxe" (ha ha) room. True, it is in a good location if you're getting the train or the bus early next day, AND it has a 24 hour check in, but that's the sole selling point of this place.
We arrived on a late flight from Europe and the check in staff were abrupt to the point of being rude. Kinda like "how dare you check in here".
The overall "icky-ness" factor was pretty high, the airco certainly works though and froze my behind off. The place is completely hoaching with mosquitoes, so bring your repellent and net if you have one.
Breakfast nothing to write home about, after my "eeuuww" night here, I wasn't in the frame of mind for the choices they had here.
In general, use it if you must, if need to be near the train or the bus for an early start, and if you don't expect much then you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first. Try to get one near the back as there is a whistle blowing guy near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adieuwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a deluxe room (Rs 1950 double plus tax). We considered it to be good value for Chennai (though it would have been a bit pricey in many places in India). It was reserved in advance - there were no cheaper rooms said to be available even booking 2 months in advance. It was comfortable, clean, fairly roomy, and reasonably quiet by Indian metro standards. The location is excellent (right across the street from the southeast entrance to Egmore Railway Station - you can see the hotel sign from the east overbridge in the station). The included breakfast (buffet style) was good, with both western and South Indian items.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We got a very pleasant room on the 4th floor, which seemed to have been refurbished recently and was my only proper mattress in 4 weeks in India. Reasonable price, including breakfast, very handy for Egmore train station which is literally across the road. Heartily recommend in this price category.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blimyslimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel is directly opposite entrance to Egmore station. It has been subject to poor reviews but our experience was fine. Stayed just 1 nite, food in restaurant was fine but beer only in bar which was not appealing to the lady.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham040642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The reception and overall management at Hotel Chandra Park is unprofessional and unreliable. I should have gone elsewhere instead of all the hassle and waiting I put up with just to get an unsanitary + noisy room. Don't let the good location and review in Lonely Planet fool you - this hotel has perhaps gone down-hill recently with its lousy staff. There are many other far better hotels in this area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prism Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Pandian
#74 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
177 reviews
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#85 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
105 reviews
Fortel
#172 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#64 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
134 reviews
Nungambakkam
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ramada Chennai Egmore
#33 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
806 reviews
Hotel Pearl International
#91 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandra Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandra Park

Property: Hotel Chandra Park
Address: 9 Gandhi Irwin Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chandra Park 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chandra Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandra Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing