We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dont' go if you can afford a more expensive hotel, but overall ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maris Hotel
Ranked #83 of 380 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Dont' go if you can afford a more expensive hotel, but overall ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

First: I am not sure that the picture on Tripadvisor matches the hotel Maris on Cathedral Road... there is no such swimming pool or beach front next to this hotel. Second: it is indeed quite close to the Sheraton Chola, but do not expect to be allowed to use the services (such as currency exchange) of this other hotel next door since they are only for the guests of the Sheraton.
My experience: the room was not so good and kind of dirty. I am not sure that the sheets had been changed since I found a hair on them... The AC and the TV were working. There was no hot water but we did not need it anyway. We could finally get toilet paper after requesting it.
We were the only non-Indian guests of this hotel during the time of our stay.
We encountered some problems to get our laudry back, but finally everything was settled.
They have a 24h check-out policy. There was a misunderstanding with the reception: I had asked for an early check-in since we arrived with an international flight from the airport around 5 AM. We could do the early check-in with no problem (they only called us at 9:30 AM, as we were still sleeping because of jetlag, to get photocopies of our passeports... that could not wait! They are really serious about filling in the forms for foreign guests). The problem is that no one told us than we would have to check-out at 5 AM two days afterward in order not to be charged a supplementary night. We almost ended up paying for 3 nights instead of 2, but could negociate with the lady at the reception desk, which was nice and helpful... In any case, this type of information should be provided to the customer at the time of check-in. It was not written anywhere either.
They have a travel desk and can organize for expensive airport pick-ups (better take the prepaid taxi).
I would give this hotel a "poor" grade if it were not for its excellent restaurant. The restaurant downstairs was really great, the staff smiling, clean and efficient and the dosa delicious. I'd definitely recommend the restaurant, but not the hotel.
My advice: if you can go with something simple, go for a cheaper hotel because the price paid is not worth the value, or, if you can afford it, go to a real 3-4 stars hotel. It may still be a good option if you don't find anything better.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms that are at the back are less noisy than those facing Cathedral Road?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    26
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
1
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

This is one of the old hotels, which is still run professionally for many years.
Located on Cathedral road, next to chola sheraton, it is a walkable distance to US consulate. Beach is also very nearby. The hotel could do with some more improvements in its amenities. (Ex chola which has improved considerably). The food is good & the location is the best advantage for this hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spprasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

I was on a quick business trip. The Tariff was very moderate though its on Alwarpet. The Rooms are spacious and clean. Ask for the newly renovated rooms which are clean and better. But for this price, there are no hotels with such comfort and ease to get around Chennai. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyTrichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiruchirappalli, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

location is highly comfortable.staffs are good.restaurant okay.but you will have more famous restaurant near by in walkable distance like china town ,saravana bhavan and andera hotel.
bar is good .only vegitarian stuff available. rooms are found litlle bit dirty but for business trip it is okay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramenixs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Very average hotel, that is very happy being the way it is. This place has a dedicated clientele and it was clear that I was not necessarily their regular profile!!

Next time I have a chance to visit Mumbai will stick to the Park/ Sheraton or a company transit/ guest house which we are entitled to, the only problem was this trip of one was rushed and I could not get a booking there.

Some positives:

Great location - pop across to Zara - the most happening bar in chennai - for a drink after work...if you get suitably hammered all you need to do is cross the road and you are back home (Zara has a dress code, make sure you don't wear shorts, and no sandals allowed!)

Maris has a basic veg restaurant too

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zia_zaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Nothing exciting, reasonably priced clean rooms - bit sparse and could generally benefit from a refurb, but all in all a pretty good transit hotel when you have an early flight etc - staff were helpfull and restaurant was pretty good for veg breakfasts - Paper roast was great.
Internet cafe across the street and near to shopping centre for last minute forgotten souvenirs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebekkavandenBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manipal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Hotel is conviniently located if you have a US embassy interview. Recommended for just an overnight stay since the hotel is just ok. Bathrooms could have been better and beds can be made a little more comfortable. The resturant needs a upgrade. Good thing was that the staff was fine as they checked us in at midnight as our flight was delayed.autos are conviniently available but the minimum they charge is Rs50. The hotel is very close to Chola sheraton so in case you wanna go to a good resturant then its right there. Over all value for money in city like chennai if its an over night stay and you do not mind an average room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.6 km away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#55 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 km away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#36 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Oriental Inn
Hotel Oriental Inn
#193 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Malles Manotaa
Malles Manotaa
#108 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.5 km away
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#43 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.4 km away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#65 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maris Hotel

Property: Maris Hotel
Address: 11 St George Cathedral Road | Gopalapuram, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 380 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Cathedral road and ideally located in the heart of the city, Maris makes you experience the unrivalled combination of warm South Indian hospitality and efficient service, making you feel right at home. The guestrooms are neat and spacious and the simple yet delectable cuisine is highly recommended. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing