We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down Property!”
Review of The Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Spring Hotel
Ranked #101 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 31 December 2017

We had stayed here couple of years ago to visit US Consulate. Located at a walkable distance to the consulate. We decided to stay again in this hotel for the same reason. But the property has run down since we last visited and we were told it is under renovation. The toilet lacked maintenance and the linen were very old too. We wondered why they have not completely shut down the property if they are renovating and if the run down is not just in the hall ways and rooms but also in linen and bed spreads etc...Not again to this place!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank srmanjunath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

The Spring, Nungambakkam - Chennai is a classy hotel with spacious rooms! I had stayed there from 24th and 25th November during my business trip.Good service and very genial staff. The spread for breakfast was ok. The lobby area there is no AC,
Overall ambiance was good, rooms comfortable and the choice of food satisfactory...

Room Tip: Great Experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rinku s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

The location is the best part about this hotel. If you are going for the US visa then don't think twice about booking it. Food isn't that great but there are plenty of options from sneaking to a full meal around. The hotel needs maintenance and I mean it now. I am attaching 2 pics, one from the hallway and the other of my shower.

And one more thing that irritated me the most was when the reception called and asked me for a check-out which is generally at 12 noon but this is what he said:

Reception: Sir we allowed you to check-in at 11:30am so you would have to check out at 11:30.
Me: So can you extend it to 12noon?
Reception: No sir for that you have to check-in at 12noon.
Me: Its just for half an hour. Can't you manage that much?
Reception: No!

Well in that moment I checked out at 10:15am. I would rather spend my time outside than in that hotel where a business traveler or for that matter any traveler is treated that way.

Room Tip: Great location for US visa interviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rahul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Stay was comfortable

Rooms are small. The biggest advantage of this hotel is its near the us consulate

Its has 2 good restaurants sigri and a Chinese

Room service is expensive

Its can really up its service and it would be a perfect place to stay then


Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Sanjeev_Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Advantage closer to US embassy (walkable distance to Main embassy and biometric centre).

Place needs some maintenance I saw water leaking from roof near bathroom area, none of the electric sockets were not working (only one working was jammed I had to call reception several times to fix that).

Complimentary breakfast was okish.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaveenPGBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We needed a hotel just for a few hours to freshen up before going to the US Consulate. Booked this hotel after seeing the good reviews and based on its location.

The location is excellent, hardly a 5 minute walk to the US Consulate, but the hotel leaves a lot to be desired, in terms of cleanliness.

The corridor was so stinky, my kids had to hold their noses and run till we reached our room. The corridor carpet looked like it had'nt been cleaned in ages. Even the staircase looked very dirty and smelt musty.

The room seemed cleaner than the corridor but we did'nt want to stay there a minute longer than necessary.

Breakfast was included and there were many dishes served. Tasted OK. But later we saw a bug on the bread.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DeepRaj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

had a very comfortable stay in spring hotel, rooms are good and well decorated, but need some maintenance
location is perfect just near to us consulate otherwise also is good.
morning breakfast is very good.
room service is good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Park Chennai
#48 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,744 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre- An AccorHotels Brand
ibis Chennai City Centre- An Acc...
#25 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
345 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
The Belstead
The Belstead
#72 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#55 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
192 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Pratap Plaza Hotel
Pratap Plaza Hotel
#74 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
101 reviews
T. Nagar
The Residency
The Residency
#26 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Hotel

Address: No 11 Kodambakkam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam/Marina Beach , Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $51 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring is cool, hip, playful and intimate, offering chic yet informal environments for travelers who want to get away from predictability and convention. Conveniently located in the heart of Chennai, The Spring Hotel is a tasteful sanctuary of unique elegance! This trendy boutique hotel is imbued with designer interiors thematically organized to radiate an inviting aura and specifically with keeping you, our guest, in mind - A perfect blend of aesthetics and culture. Be prepared to be pampered, enjoy the impeccable service and the first rate amenities, including the broadband Wi-Fi connectivity that a discerning traveler has come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Putting people first just makes good common sense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing