We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel at heart of Chennai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Ranked #12 of 380 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good hotel at heart of Chennai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I've heard many comments referring to this hotel as "luxurious", but I don't agree. The hotel is very nice and good level, but not luxurious. The hotel is very new, I heard it was built in autumn 2011. The interior is very modern and I discovered many very scandinavic looking design items there:)

Depending on traffic, trip from airport was 30-45 mins. Hotel charge for one-way airport transport was ~1000Rs.

Standard room was quite spacious and had big & comfortable bead. TV has lots of channels, fortunately also lots of English ones in addition to numerous Indian channels... Room price included 2hrs complimentary wireless internet usage, after this I think the price for additional 24hrs was something like 125Rs, so not that much... Only not so good thing about the room was that the sound proofing was really poor, at least in 2nd floor at street side. All noises from the corridor and L1 floor banquet were really loud and clear... That didn't bother me, but I bet a light sleeper would be really disturbed.

Breakfast was nice and fresh, having selections both on intercontinental and local options. The hotel has a roof top terrace which around day time is used as pool area (only 5 sun beds...) and during evenings as bar, also serving snacks. Tried one of the restaurants for dinner and room service as well -- good selections available and price ok. Really nice thing was that in lobby area there was this chocolate & cake desk from which you were able to buy sweets or also order them in the room :) And there was one set of complimentary fruit plate available, that was nice.

The gym is small but ok. 2-3 treadmills, a couple of cross trainers + bikes and then some basic weight lift equipment. In the same floor there was a spa which I used for manicure and pedicure -- lots of available times even though the spa was small. I don't know whether I'd even call it a spa or just a beauty shop...

Laundry works quickly (and cheap). No issues with housekeeping, had some small issues and fix was delivered quickly.

I was on business trip and stayed 1,5 weeks. Basically nothing "interesting" in walking distance, but I guess that's the case almost anywhere in Chennai... 10mins from Express Avenue (big mall) and only 5mins from Pondy Bazaar (local market). Nice hotel, would recommend it and could come back myself as well.

Room Tip: NOT a room in 2nd floor, the floor below is banquet -- lots of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeRaLaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you very much for the detailed review. We really appreciate this gesture and assure the best of serviced ahead.

Look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    389
    58
    13
    19
See reviews for
156
132
85
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I liked everything about this hotel (went there after checking out of the Hyatt Regency but that is for another review).
Room - very nice, well kept and and a comfortable bed.
Staff - extremely friendly and went the extra mile - one of the waiters was particulalry good and arranged for me to have something that wasn't on the menu when he realised what I wanted wasn't there.
Restuarant - The Kitchen is used for brakfast and bistro type food. It's fairly functional but bright and airy, and the food and staff are good.
The 'Up North' punjabi style restuarant on the Terrace was great so we ate there every night. good quality food. We had Indian guests and they thought it very good too.
The roof pool and terrace are nice.

It's not luxury 5 star, but I wouldn't let that put you off if you want a hotel experience you will enjoy.
My one and only gripe, and it's a bit trivial ... 'El Condor Pasa' is on a constant loop on the Ground Floor and if you are there for more than a few minutes at a time it starts to grate!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Ray,

Vanakkam!

Thank you very much for the review. We really appreciate this gesture. Have also taken a note of your suggestion on the loop repeatedly played at the Lobby level, I must thank you for bringing this to our notice and helping us take prompt measures to serve better in every aspect. At The Raintree Hotels we believe that Everything Matters!

Look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I spent 4 days at the Raintree Hotel, Annasalai while starting a "medical vacation". Coming from the USA to India for the 1st time I arrived with some apprehension. From the moment I walked through the front doors I was greeted by friendly, smiling faces who welcomed me. I was very happy with the spacious room and patio area. The room was very clean and the bed and bedding was very comfortable. Again coming from the USA, I was also apprehensive of water and food causing an upset stomach, which was never a problem. The food was enjoyable and I tasted many good dishes. To relax I enjoyed a cold drink and the view from the Top Deck, which provided an incredible view of Chennai. As a traveler, what I most appreciated was the staff of this Hotel, they were extremely kind and made me feel welcomed.

Room Tip: My Feb. trip was welcomed by temperatures of 72 for a low and 86 for the high. A perfect and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Justin,

Vanakkam!

Thank you very much for the great review and feedback. I am delighted to know that the team here looked after you and made you feel welcomed and that you enjoyed the stay as well as The Raintree Dining Experience. I hope you were able to dine at all the outlets including MADRAS: serving Southern cuisines from Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Andhra, THE KITCHEN: all day dining restaurant, UP NORTH: a rooftop restaurant for authentic Punjabi cuisine, MADERA: a contemporary lounge bar and HIGH: sky lounge by the pool with stunning skyview of the city.

We look forward to Welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Hotel was about 45+ min from the airport. Airport picked was included in my rate. The service included a choice of bottled water or an orange soda in the car. Checkin was smooth and was given a corner room on the 8 floor. The 8th floor lobby reeked of cigarette smoke but the room was ok. Room and bathroom was clean. Had an in-room safe that my 15 in laptop could barely fit in. Had two bottle of water provided free. Wifi was included but there was no wired connection for those who setup their own hotspot. Bathroom had a rain shower installed.

Breakfast at the lobby was good. There was a good spread and service was good. Lunch at the Madras restaurant was good too. So was dinner at the roof top Up North restaurant. Getting a table was a bit slow though. Didn't get to visit the roof top bar lounge. Room service was reasonably fast and good value. Did get to hear it though from my room on the 8th floor...

Room Tip: When on the 8th floor, ask for a room in the south wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plus2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you very much for the review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay as well as The Raintree Dining Experience specially at MADRAS: serving Southern cuisines from Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Andhra and UP NORTH: a rooftop restaurant for authentic Punjabi cuisine. I also hope that you liked our breakfast spread at THE KITCHEN: all day dining restaurant and did get a chance to try MADERA: a contemporary lounge bar and HIGH: sky lounge by the pool.

We look forward to Welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great hotel - better than St Mary's and definitely better than the Park Sheraton! Very friendly staff and drivers! Rooftop pool/terrace area is a nice treat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Vinoo,

Vanakkam!

Thank you very much for the review. It is feedback like yours that really motivates us to continue and further enhance our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kochi
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great place , cant get anymore centrally located at Chennai . good clean large rooms . good service & great food . A very good option for business travel.
Less than 45 minutes from the interantional airport makes it good for a quick checkin before the days work.
For those visiting the american embassy I think there is nothing closer .
Buffet breakfast was really good , though favourite items entitle a wait in peak hours .
The indian restraunt is a great place for entertaining

Room Tip: Views are not so great , try & get the mount road facing rooms , both times I have stayed have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinoopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you very much for the review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed The Raintree Hospitality and as well as the Dining Experience. Yes, very rightly mentioned that we are less than 3.1 kms away from the US Embassy and many more city attractions that include Kapaleshwar temple, Marina Beach, Madras Music Academy, Santhome Cathedral Basilica, Elliot's Beach and Theosophical society which are less then 6 kms from the hotel. Addtionally have also taken a note of the feedback made about the popular items like Dosa and Live Egg station and assure prompt services. It is feedback like yours that really motivates us to continue and further enhance our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

After an horrible experience at a hotel in Tiruvannamalai-sparsa resort, see our review-my partner and myself felt pleased and rested at this hotel for 3 nights. It had everything we wanted for our short stay, staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were comfortable and clean. Close enough to whatever we wanted and always felt refreshing to return to the hotel, which to us is very important, like a feeling of a home away from home. There is little more we can say other than to recommend highly you stay here if coming to tis city.

Be well friends

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Mahar,

Vanakkam!

Thank you very much for the review and was glad to read that you felt like home and enjoyed The Raintree Hospitality. It is feedback like yours that really motivates us to continue and further enhance our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,

Manish Dayya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
1.1 km away
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#3 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
3.5 km away
The Leela Palace Chennai
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#13 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Park Hyatt Chennai
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.3 km away
The Accord Metropolitan
The Accord Metropolitan
#25 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
3.6 km away
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#4 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Property: The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Address: 636 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#37 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Anna Salai Hotel is located a 20-minute drive from Chennai International Airport. It provides well-appointed rooms and 5-star facilities like a Swimming Pool, spa and a GYM. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for 24 hours. Rooms are tastefully decorated with wooden flooring and large windows which come with a flat-screen cable TV, coffee/tea maker and iron and Ironing Board. Select rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. Guests can pamper themselves with massages and body treatments at the spa or take a dip in the large outdoor pool. There is also a well-equipped fitness center for guests convenience at The Raintree Anna Salai. The Raintree Hotel offers a memorable dining experience at its rooftop restaurant -UP North with stunning views of Chennai's skyline accompany the delicious meals. Both a local and international menu is available. Located in Chennai, The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai is a 15-minute drive from Chennai Central Train Station. Nearby tourist attractions include Marina Beach, the Santhome Cathedral Basilica and Kapalashewar Temple. The hotel is about 3 km from the United States Consulate in Chennai. T - Nagar is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping for clothes, Shopping and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing