We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderately priced, clean, comfortable stay”
Review of Savera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savera Hotel
Ranked #43 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed in a club room which was like a suite. website was easy to use for online reservations. I did not receive an email confirmation but had no issues at all. Our rate included an airport transfer in a private clean ac car. The front desk was efficient and courteous. The room was clean and spacious and the air conditioning was great! It is a hot and humid place in May so this was very important.
They offered complimentary fruits from room service and evening snacks ...we missed those since we were out. fruit was fresh and welcome! Breakfast was great!
My only feedback is on the bathroom. It was clean and modernized, however, the shower area is not separate enough and water leaked out wetting the whole floor.
Overall great experience and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Club rooms are spacious and offer a separate living room with door so can keep the bedroom quiet and...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
There are newer reviews for Savera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is one of an age old hotel.. but a decent place to stay.. good food, well maintained rooms..
Dont expect modern interiors..
Good place for business travellers only..

Food is excellent.. over all a good place to stay if you get a good bargain on the tariff

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I never felt that quality of the hotel will be so good. It was really one of the best hotels I stayed in Metros of India. Everything is well planned and the number of restaurants adds feather to their cap. Breakfast on the house also was of International standards. I suggest this hotel to the business as well as for families.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vallabhprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel during one of my official tours to Chennai. Its quite an old and large hotel as compared to recently constructed hotels of the same rating. I was welcomed by Front Office Staff with a surprise gift - they upgraded my room to executive room at the tariff of the deluxe room without being asked for the same. There must be around 300-400 rooms in this hotel. Staff is very courteous and accommodating and offers a very prompt room service. There are four multi-cuisine restaurants with the one at the roof top splendidly designed with mughal architecture. Well the rooms are quite large in size and nicely furnished with comfortable beds and other basic amenities like electronic locker, tea/coffee maker, night lamps, LCD TV, internet connectivity etc. Furnishings in the bathroom may seem quite outdated though and need refurbishment. Dining Hall or the main restaurant offers atleast 15 options in the breakfast and around 25 options in the dinner but there are limited choices for north Indian pure vegetarians. Food is delicious and something one would relish with the live karaoke. Fitness Center is world class and comparable to some of the world class gyms like Gold Gym and is accompanied with a spa which I couldn't use. Swimming Pool needs some modernization though it is clean and properly maintained. Last but not the least, the location of the hotel is also on of its USPs as it is at walkable distance to Express Avenue Mall, City Center Mall and Marina Beach. To conclude, this hotel serves a very well balanced blend of luxury, service and food at affordable prices and should be preferred for business trips.

Room Tip: Rooms at the higher floors and facing the Radhakrishnan Road shall be preferred as it give a nice vi...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainmaker86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We visited Chennai for one of the obvious reasons - visiting the US Consulate. The hotel is pretty close to the US Consulate. The room rate was reasonable. The breakfast was fantastic. For dinner, we tried their south india restaurant, which was expensive but served good food.

The hotel seems to be a tad old though. The rooms and the furniture seems a bit dated. There was a musty smell in the corridor.

However, if you are visiting Chennai for a day or two (and particularly visiting US Consulate), then this hotel is a resonable choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureLoverIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was my 3rd visit in this hotel, this time too, I had stay 3 night, hotel is good but not the best, most of this need to be changed..............food and breakfast are good.....staff were also helpful. This is an average hotel against value of your money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suresh_lohani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Good location, courteous front office staff but very badly maintained rooms. House keeping staff not upto the mark as the toilets were not cleaned after the earlier guest had check out. can improve a lot on that aspect. else OK

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savera146, General Manager at Savera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear Guest!
At the outset, we thank you for chosing our hotel.
We regret to note that we have left behind unpleasant moments with regard to maintenance and housekeeping, during your stay. I have already taken up your observations with the concerned departments for corrective measures. Meanwhile, I also want to inform you that the hotel has scheduled renovation of rooms in a phased manner to start from this June 2012.
We once again regret to note your obsevation and we look forward to your next visit to be with us. Please communicate your travel plans as I wish to meet you in person.
Cordially,
Anthony Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Clarion Chennai
#58 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
653 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#57 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
353 reviews
The Residency
#31 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Chennai
#49 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,605 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,161 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savera Hotel

Address: 146 Savera Dr Radha Krishnan Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $66 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savera Hotel - Chennai's first ever star hotel is an iconic landmark with a fusion of modernity and tradition, cherished by guests for decades now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Savera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing