We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Acceptable conditions, average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Ranked #17 of 380 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Acceptable conditions, average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I spend several weeks on and off in this hotel during 2009-2011.
Personell is great all over the place from reception to restaurants and bar but the hotel is an average maximum 4 star hotel. Pool was unusable, dirty, broken tiles, all the accessories around pool looking old, rooms pretty much below average, quite small except the rooms from the tower. Noisy because of the busy streets around the hotel. Nothing to say about this location. Overall is acceptable but not something to remember.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pai500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPark, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Virender Razdan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    219
    59
    16
    10
See reviews for
87
51
39
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have stayed here twice in 2 months. Very good restaurants,esp the south Indian one.Go for the thaali to taste the best variety. great rooms and hospitality and very good location.

Breakfast was excellent with a good spread of south Indian and continental choice.Transport can be is arranged by the hotel very efficiently and at very reasonable price

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellatorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPark, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Virender Razdan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The hotel offers the usual grandeur of Sheraton chain, outstanding 24/7 customer service and welcome, unfortunately half of its rooms are now under renovation, making the reservation more difficult: the interior and finishing of all rooms required a good freshen up, in effect.
"On the Rocks" grill restaurant offers a splendid choice of fresh cuts to sizzle on a stone and eat together with classy (and pricey) wines -mostly imports from known producers and countries (White muscadet Rotschild -a must do).
Cappuccino restaurant serves simple international and Indian food, while the arrangements and service reminds you the buffet breakfast (this is where you take it every morning), don't get fooled by the looks, Cannelloni are quite a treat for being in Chennai! To chose on business trips.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliEnrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPark, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Virender Razdan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Nice place for a business trip... interior texture are really so rich.Staffs are ok, as part of courtesy concerned; needs an improvement. A warmth place for a cup of cappuccino at cappuccino restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Askun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPark, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Virender Razdan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

the hotel is quite old, and you can tell, not my taste when it comes to the decoration and feel. The gym was very basic and closes early and the swimming pool not worth to mention. The only thing i liked very much was the service and friendlyness of the staff. This hotel is great for a business stay as it accomplishes what it promises: clean and spacious rooms, good food, friendly staff. Nothing else

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancunquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPark, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Virender Razdan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The hotel was well located and I must say that the services provided by some staff were truly remarkable. The day I checked in on 23rd December, we wanted to have our dinner at two of the restaurants (Dakshin and The Residency). However, they were fully booked. Was very dissapointed at first as did not have a good option to have dinner at hotel even though as hotel guest. The F & B Manager , Mr Virender Thapa, was fast enough to notice my dissapointment and he immediately worked his level best to ensure that I get a place at the Dakshin. He finally worked his way thru to get a table for us. I was very impressed with his intentions to get me a table and I knew it was not an easy task especially when they were running full house. I must say THANK YOU to Mr Virender Thapa for his kind gesture. I was truly taken a back with the quality of food from the Dakshin... WOW.... A MUST VISIT Restaurant. I have visited Tamil Nadu for the last 10 years and have never had such great food. Truly authentic South Indian food. I immediately booked a table for the rest of my stay at the hotel in Dakshin. I met with the Chef, Chef Harish, who was kind enought to meet us and I MUST say that I was impressed not only with his quality of food but with his hospitality as well. One of the guest server, Palanivel, was there to help us make the food selection. He was simply awesome and we totally left him to decide on the Menu for our dinner. He took pride to understand our requirements and needs. His selection was just awesome!!!! YOU must eat there to experience the authentic south Indian food. Only then you will understand. We immediately asked him to decide our Menu for the rest of the times we were there. When we came in the 2nd day, he has already prepared the menu for us for the other 2 days as well. YOU must ask for Palanivel when you are at Dakshin if you are not sure what to have for dinner. He will try to understand your requirements and will provide best options. This restaurant has won many awards and I must say that it is World Class!!!! The roooms were spacious and the service rendered was great. Every night we were given a "ointment" to be sprayed at our wrist/forehead ( for relaxation / stress reliever) before you sleep.. This is unique to this hotel.... A MUST try. They had good snacks in the late mornings / afternoons at the lobby for guest. There was an auntie there making filter coffee and serving Indian snacks. You just taste the filter coffee... wow.... so aromatic. My only dissapointment was the fact that the hotel discontinued all Tamil channels. I stayed there for 4 days and although they had almost 70 plus channels, there were NO Tamil or local channels. There was no notification from the hotel either. When I enquired, the engineering department just mentioned that it was discontinued.I approached the Manager, ( Ms Noosa), and she too was not aware of this. No explanation was given to me until I checked out and requested for an explanation. I just find this NOT acceptable that for a Hotel based in Chennai, and Tamil Channels not provided for guest. Is the hotel catering for customers based in Tamil Nadu or other parts of the world? I was told that there was some technical issues, but am just suprised why we can then receive slots from other parts of India. I could see the that hotel/ manager did NOT take this seriously. As I guest , I see this as a discrimation!!! The hotel did not "bother" to come back to me even though I addressed this twice. They obviously did not take this seriously. Other than that, I must say that all their other staff such as the Bell boys. workers were just splendid. I may arise a small matter, BUT will not accept the fact that the hotel took this lightly especially when it comes to local Tamil programmes in its network. It seemed to me that the hotel did not cater for Tamil Nadu customers or Tamilians from other parts of the world. The hotel is going thru some renovations but it ensured that the noise level and disctruptions were minimal. Other than this matter.... it was a comfortable stay for me and family. Ideal Location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shankar_Nagalingam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPark, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Virender Razdan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

If 6 stars were an option, then 6 stars it would be. I stayed here twice in mid-December. I was given a room in the Tower wing for my first stay. The room was spacious and nicely furnished, although showing wear. (I understand the Tower wing is closing for renovations.) I had the option of having breakfast either in the main breakfast area or the Tower restaurant. The latter was far quieter and had a beautiful view over a residential area of Chennai. The food was excellent at both breakfast locations. For my second stay I was assigned a room on an "Eve" (women only) floor. The amenities were frankly amazing. I have never had a bathroom come complete with nail polish remover! Dry cleaning was picked up from my room even though I had forgotten to call, and was delivered promptly - and with a rose. I truly struggle to find anything to complain about this hotel. Every single staff person with whom I came in contact was unbelievably gracious and helpful. I could not have asked for more. Oh - and the restaurant, Dakshin, serves fabulous south Indian food in a lovely setting. Should I return to Chennai I will not consider staying any place other than the Park Sheraton.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ber357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPark, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings to you from Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, Chennai. Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Virender Razdan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#3 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#4 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#29 of 380 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park

Property: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Address: 132 Ttk Road, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Park Hotel And Towers
Itc Hotel Park Sheraton
Sheraton Park Tower Hotel
Sheraton Park Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing