We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$311
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency(Chennai (Madras))
US$56
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GreenPark Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
US$69
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Accord Metropolitan(Chennai (Madras))
US$83
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
US$70
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveller rating
668
291
48
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
291
48
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantabove sea levelchap chayrain treecolony restaurantchinese restaurantanna salaitop floorbusiness hotelwonderful hotelbreakfast buffetcomfortable roomsfilter coffeea wonderful stayroom serviceswimming poolclub room
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2016

I booked Raintree hotel via yatra expecting that once I get a confirmation of booking I will have the rooms. However, when I go to the hotel the staff claim that yatra made a mistake and they have no rooms free. The blame game between yatra representative and the booking representative ensued for an hour. There was no empathy or understanding from any of the staff. It is very disappointing to see such poor attitude from a reputed hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamySakthivelGM, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mam/Sir,

Vanakkam!!! Thank you very much for the feedback. We have discussed with Yatra and made sure this doesn't happen again.

Me & my team join together in wishing you a fabulous year ahead!. If there is anything else you need for your next visit, please don't hesitate to email me at gm.stmarys@raintreehotels.com or call me, so I can arrange it before you arrive.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Raintree hotels again!

Samy Sakthivel
General Manager
gm.stmarys@raintreehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

I have been at the Raintree barely 12 hours (checked in last night) and I feel compelled to write review.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough - the lobby and public areas are festive and well styled, the rooms (especially the bathrooms) are modern and clean, and the staff is very attentive (even by Indian standards). The hotel has three restaurants - I have tried two already and the food is excellent.

The rooftop terrace is the best part of the hotel - it combines an outdoor restaurant with a medium sized pool. It's a perfect spot for an evening nightcap (and snack) or a morning yoga practice followed by a swim.

So, are there any issues with this perfect picture? Yes - the complimentary wifi feels sluggish but I'm used to high speed wifi in the US. Also, the outside noise and air pollution can really detract from the rooftop experience, but I can't really fault the hotel for that.

Finally, a stay here is not cheap - this is one of the more expensive hotels in Chennai. However, you do get what you pay for - a "top shelf" experience.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank seshasayanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RakeshSethi, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for such a fabulous review and feedback with regards your stay and the experience. Feedback such as your's always motivates us to enhance our services and continue with our best practices.

Entire team at the hotel is really thrilled with the special appreciation it has received.

We highly value your relationship with Raintree Hotels and look forward to welcoming you soon again to The Raintree, St. Mary's Road.

Rakesh Sethi
General Manager
9176622029

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2016

What a great hotel. Spacious lobby, really helpful and friendly staff, lifts that work properly and quickly, good breakfast/ casual eating area and a nice bar. Rooftop pool and restaurant. All spotlessly clean.
Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious and well equipped including ironing board and iron, free tea/coffee and bottled water, good aircon, comfortable bed, 100s of tv channels. good wifi - which did stop working for a while but they got it fixed pretty quickly.
It's not far from the tourist sites at St Georges Fort etc but it suffers like all Indian cities from poorly lit streets, broken pavements/sidewalks, noisy traffic etc. never the less we braved the 5 minute walk to a nearby restaurant. Don't know why we bothered - the hotel is a haven of peace and tranquility.
One niggle - 3200 rupees (that's £32) for a bottle of Chilean Sauvignon Blanc!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RakeshSethi, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for such a fabulous review and feedback with regards your stay and the experience. Feedback such as your's always motivates us to enhance our services and continue with our best practices.

Entire team at the hotel is really thrilled with the special appreciation it has received.

We highly value your relationship with Raintree Hotels and look forward to welcoming you soon again to The Raintree, St. Mary's Road.

Rakesh Sethi
General Manager
9176622029

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2016

I have stayed here twice. Both times, the level of efficiency has been impressive (check-in swift, staff you are quick on the uptake and who understand all queries), the room elegant and functional (the light feature by the bedside perfect for end of the day weariness), the breakfast superb - endless filter coffees! - and the size of the hotel just perfect. One feels one is at an efficiently run home, I would not hesitate to return, in fact, look forward to my third stay and to try the ramen which was not available this time around.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RakeshSethi, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for such a fabulous review and feedback with regards your stay and the experience. Feedback such as your's always motivates us to enhance our services and continue with our best practices.

Entire team at the hotel is really thrilled with the special appreciation it has received.

The Chef assures me that the Ramen will be awaiting you on your next visit.

We highly value your relationship with Raintree Hotels and look forward to welcoming you soon again to The Raintree, St. Mary's Road.

Rakesh Sethi
General Manager
9176622029

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

It is a best hotel for everything. From watchman to reception,dining every person is well coming so nicely. Accommodation, food is accurate for any one. Overall hospitality is incredible. Muhammad Nazer, Avay, Nagaraju, Saikat are those persons who always waiting for guest with a big smile & warm regards. I couldn't found any mistakes of any one within last 16 days of our staying. I will recommend this hotel for everyone who likes to visit chennai.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
Thank Mina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RakeshSethi, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2016

Dear Mina

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for such a fabulous review and feedback with regards your stay and the experience. Feedback such as your's always motivates us to enhance our services and continue with our best practices.

Entire team at the hotel is really thrilled with the special appreciation it has received.

We highly value your relationship with Raintree Hotels and look forward to welcoming you soon again to The Raintree, St. Mary's Road.

Rakesh Sethi
General Manager
9176622029

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews