We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect business hotel”
Review of The Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residency
Ranked #38 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect business hotel”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Residency is like a second home to me visiting Chennai almost once every month for a stay of couple of nights.
It is located conveniently in T. Nagar, about a kilometer from the main market and hence not noisy. Some features, that I have tried and am sure of:
- The rooms are decently sized.
- Large window in each room.
- Small but neat and workable bathroom.
- Free wireless internet.
- Free elaborate buffet breakfast.
- Efficient travel desk.
- 24 hours room service
- 24 hours coffee shop
- Efficient laundry.
They pay good attention to details like giving a bottle of water and fruits complimentary everyday. Provide some weekly magazines.

Lows:
- Bathroom could have been a little larger.
- Television could have been a little larger.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridors have windows on two walls though the view isn't anything great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayantChauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    252
    75
    19
    8
See reviews for
140
58
43
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed at this property two nights on a business trip recently. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The rooms are neat/clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but definite comfy! It's located fairly centrally too. The food variety is good, but their live counter dishing out appams was a plus. Their 24 hrs check in/out policy scores in my mind. All in all, was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderlust0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We flew into Madras at 4am from the US and were extremely exhausted with the two kids. The staff was efficient in getting us a great room. Upon arrival we all crashed in the comfortable room, but when our 10 month old woke up in an hour, I was glad to have the front room to close the door and let the others sleep.
The rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff was great about replenshing our water. The breakfast buffet was okay but the omelet and dosa station were excellent. The omelet chef makes the best masala omlettes and the dosa chef made my pudi dosa perfectly. We were quite pleased with the staff there as well.
Lastly, it was husbands birthday during our stay and I let the staff know and they went above and beyond with getting us a fantastic cake for my husband complimentary.
The only downfall of the hotel is that you cannot order beer/wine to your room and have to get it yourself. Overall, we would stay there again. Just a word of caution, there are two Residency hotels, one is this one and one is the Towers. Make sure you specify which one you want to go to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashah_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuttack
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I with my wife was on a pleasure trip down south. In Chennai I stayed in this hotel. It was a memorable experience because the moment the staff of the hotel knew that we were newly married, special attention was given to us to make our stay more comfortable. The rooms are really nice. The food in 'Spice Jar' restaurant offers a variety to choose from. Moreover all the shopping malls are nearby which was indeed a relief. This hotel can be referred to all whether on a business or a pleasure trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I came to know about The Residency from a business friend of mine. On my earlier visits to Chennai I used to book myself only in 5 star category. Since I had heard a lot about this hotel, I thought of giving it a try. True to my expectations it was a good experience. Moreover the 24hrs check in / check out policy for the business class seems to be very convenient. I would definitely recommend The Residency to many of Business friends.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the entrance have an excellent city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15111984_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I happened to know about The Residency from a close friend of mine, who traveled to Chennai a couple of months ago. We were actually skeptical to make a choice of staying in a hotel other than a five star, but whatever positive feedback given by my friend Roopa was true.
A clean hotel, friendly staff and tasty food. The hotel is ideally located near the Shopping center of the City. Over and above all this the Hotel has 24 hours check in /out which is very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosalind1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Today is 8th Feb and currently I am in this Hotel and will be here for another 2 good days . Pathetic experience as far as room service is concerned. I asked for a Goblet Glass - It took 20 mins to get it delivered to my room ( Though I told room service manager that it need to be delivered fast and he has promised that it will be delivered in 5 mins ). Ordered for one starter - it was on time . Then I asked for Tomato Sauce - It took around 20 mins till then starter got cold and soggy - so all waste. Room Service Order Taker Mr.Babu R. seems to be adamant while handling the room service order. I think he is not equipped with enough man power. Even the waiter says " Sir What to do too many orders !!! " we are not asking any thing for free ,for every single thing money is being paid. When money is being paid then we need the service. But here we are paying money but not getting the service .

Room Tip: I am staying in this hotel from last 4 yrs but now from last 6 months service level or value for mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prashant1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
839 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
970 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
872 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#12 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
319 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#15 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency

Property: The Residency
Address: No 49 GN Chetty Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing