We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what the doctor ordered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Footprint Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at Footprint twice - we were only really visiting Chennai as a stopover on our way to the Andaman Islands. We stayed for one night on the way out and two on the way back. We had the same room on both occasions and were delighted with both stays.

Rucha had arranged for someone to collect us and drop us off at the airport, which was only about half an hour away. The room was lovely - good size, very comfortable bed, AC and a lovely little shower room. Not sure the location is perfect as it's a bit of a trek to get anywhere, but in fairness, we didn't explore a huge amount so there may well have been loads on the doorstep that we didn't know about.

The area appears to be where 'real' people live so tuk tuk drivers don't always know where the street is, but there are enough landmarks on the main road to jump out at and walk the final 2 mins down the street.

Rucha recmomended a restaurant nearby that was lovely and there are menus in the room so you can have food delivered if you so wish. Our final night we were leaving at about midnight so we had a pizza delivered early evening then had a kip before leaving, was just what we needed!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Footprint.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nath_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    37
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
47
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very nice and homely place. Well maintained. Very convenient location.
this is my third stay at this place and the quality has been maintained. free wifi and nice southindian breakfast

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank columbus1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a month as we were doing a course in chennai. Footprint is in the nicest part of the city, a quiet leafy street that's close to a lovely cafe, a great Thai restaurant, yoga studio, pizzeria etc. it's very central so venturing out anywhere is pretty easy. The staff are all lovely and helpful, our room is always clean, we have crisp white sheets, comfortable bed and pillows, tea and coffee, air con, sat tv, hot water, wifi... All the conveniences we are used to. It's such a pleasure to come home to footprint everyday, it's a haven in a bustling Indian city, and I cannot tell you how much you will appreciate it when traveling in India!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nourish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
310 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We enjoyed a delightful 9-day stay in Footprint B & B. Our high expectations of Footprint, based on reviews in this forum, were fully met. The premises are impeccably maintained and there is a friendly, welcoming atmosphere which can not possibly be achieved in big hotels or even in so-called boutique hotels.
The location is excellent, with easy access to restaurants, shopping areas, ATMs, convenience stores, and the music academies, always bearing in mind that Chennai traffic is bad even in off-peak hours. Walks along the comparatively quiet streets in the Boat Club area are a pleasant way to get some exercise, but watch out for the nerve-wracking and unpredictable traffic which can be menacing even in the early hours.

The staff at Footprint, Jeyaraj and Radhakrishnan, are not only efficient and friendly, but incredibly versatile, doing everything from handling check-ins and check-outs to whipping up scrumptious masala omelettes, making up the rooms, and providing information. The owner, Rucha, makes it a point to welcome each guest . Who could ask for more, certainly not us, we hope to visit again in 2012.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms in the back in Flat 2-A
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The place itself is a bit tricky to find, but it's worth it. The location is pretty central although there doesn't seem to be a truly central place in Chennai. It's around 15 mins by taxi from Ft George and relatively close to many other attractions like St Thomas Church and some of the nice temples.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place is very clean. The rooms are kept very nice. The breakfast area and meal are both very good.
The staff is very helpful and friendly, especially Atish.

This place is worth staying at. If it's on your short list it's a safe bet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cozziad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My colleagues and I spent almost a month in Chennai over two trips in October and November 2011.

I would not travel to Chennai by choice and was reluctant to even for work. India is hard - Chennai I believe is easier than Mumbai - but still, I couldn't wait to leave India. The people I liked, the living conditions I didn't. I live in Asia and am very used to the exotic elements of Asia - but in India there's just too much rubbish, poverty, rubble and dirt for me to see beyond it.

If you must be in Chennai, Footprint is a great option for an extended stay. Although I have nothing to compare it to, it's the only place I've stayed in Chennai - and in fact my first time in a B+B - my colleagues were all very pleased with the place. It in no way resembles a dorm room environment. Other guests were more mature couples and a few business people.

Rucha (the owner who lives in one of the flats) is the epitome of hospitality. She is ably assisted by 3 locals who will take care of pretty much everything you might need. They try very hard and are pleasant, helpful, concerned and trustworthy. Initially there was a great deal of emailing back and forwards, Rucha stayed on top of it all and was happy to help with anything at all. She researched where we'd be working during the day, and assisted with taxis and airport pick-ups. I highly recommend having an organised collection when you arrive into Chennai, especially if you're arriving late at night.

There are I think 9 rooms in total, spread over 3 flats and over two floors of a regular block of flats named "Gayatri". Some rooms have larger bathrooms (mine was a bit too small), some are at the back of the building (away from the morning horns) - and they all have a television with a large selection of channels. Beds are very comfortable, breakfast timing flexible (ask for the South Indian style coffee :) - and the Indian breakfast pretty good.

I did find there was not quite enough hot water for me - but I do take a long time in the shower! Each bathroom has a separate water heater, you turn it on about 20 minutes before you shower (or leave it on overnight). Shampoo and soap are provided, but you may need your own as it's a pretty strong fragrance (organic citronella / lemongrass) that doesn't appeal to everyone.

There is delivery available from a number of restaurants around the area (delivery is a good option - it's a dirty city although the neighbourhood around Footprint is much better than most). There is a well stocked supermarket a block and a half away - a great Thai restaurant just around the corner (Benjarong) - and the hotel Sheraton Park just nearby. The Eco-cafe restaurant I wouldn't recommend, but the clothing stall situated in the same building is pretty good, different clothes from the rest of the shops in Chennai. We were able to make use of the kitchen - cooking a couple of meals during the week - and the other guests were quiet and respectful of other people's space.

Rucha has put together some great little brochures and maps with suggestions for eating, shopping and cultural things - very useful for planning. One note - there are very few places where you can buy alcohol, even beer. Most restaurants do not serve alcohol at all. So consider bringing some with you if you think it might be an issue or have the staff help you.

So Footprint...If you're expecting a hotel - this is not one. If you are expecting a personal experience in someone's home - this is not one. If you are expecting a totally 5 star experience - again, this is not one. But if you want a place that is clean, safe, relatively quiet (ask for a quieter room) - breakfast included, reasonably priced - please consider Footprint.

Room Tip: twin rooms have two windows - King rooms only one. there is a very distressed dog next door that yel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane_KualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is a beautifully located (just far enough from crowded areas) right behind the Park-Sheraton Hotel on a leafy residential street. The rooms are lovely, even though we crammed 3 adults into one room. Breakfast is excellent, but mostly, the service from the owner and her staff was exemplary. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
834 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,282 reviews
Alwarpet South
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
#19 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Woods Hotel
#18 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
294 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
920 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprint Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprint Bed & Breakfast

Property: Footprint Bed & Breakfast
Address: 108 Chamiers Road | B-4, RM Towers, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footprint is a private 6-room bed & breakfast located in a quiet, up-market residential neighborhood close to the Boat Club Area in South Chennai. Our B&B is located on the 2nd & 3rd floors of an eight-unit apartment building, situated just behind the ITC Park Sheraton Hotel. The character and interior design of Footprint is contemporary Asian - a fusion of the clean simple lines of Europe with the soft natural feel of South Asia. The rooms are spacious with generous beds, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, television with DTH cable, tea/coffee makers, and ensuite bathrooms. Our B&B is ideal for travellers who want an upmarket accommodation alternative without the stiff price tag of a luxury hotel. It is suitable for - expatriates or corporate travellers on relocation or temporary assignments, leisure travellers transiting through Chennai & corporate travellers. Footprint is open all year-round and available for short and long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Footprint Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Footprint Bed And Breakfast
Footprint Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing