We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Retreat
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“home away from home”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Retreat was exactly the place to stay if someone is looking for a home away from home.. i alwayz hd dream of having a house with a lovely view of Mt. Kanchenjunga.. n i guess dat dream wz a reality wth 4 dayz stay at retreat.. sch a serene atmosphere.. Mr.Sarkar and his excellent team made my stay in Darjeeling an amazing experience.. i didn't hd 2 bothr abt da sightseeing part evn.. it ws all arranged at a vry affordable price.. evn each and evry personnel are vry courteous and is ready 2 hlp at ny moment.. Food is gr8.. rooms are big n airy.. hot water and heater are available at all times..Vry close 2 Mall Area, it was a gr8 choice made by me.. my stay thr in da mnth of January 20-24th wz really gr8.. perfection is da motto fr all personnel in service industry.. ths da retreat team is also improvin each n evry day 2 attain perfection.. n da bst part is da fact dat the team alwayz take da opinion of da guestz and try 2 make da realistic ideas into reality.. (it is definitely not for people lukin for 5 star/royal ambiance wth sch a price, some people wnt da whole wrld evn wth $1.. cnt hlp for those ppl).. my sincere thanks and gratitude 2 Mr.Sarkar and his team..

Room Tip: Ask for Room 411.. itz da room wth best view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhaskar418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    58
    11
    4
    14
See reviews for
81
38
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed in the hotel with my family for a week from 12th March'12 to 18th March'12. Excellent location, reasonably good rooms with great service from the members of the staff, very courteous, polite and always helpful lead by Mr. D.P. Sarkar the Manager of the hotel whose personal attention made my vacation really memorable. I have travelled to Darjeeling number of times and stayed in many good hotels but this time in Darjeeling I stayed in my home not a hotel. Thanks to Mr. sarkar and his staff members. C.K.Banerjee

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CKB2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed at the Retreat in February and I had a great experience. Mr. Sarcar (the manager of the hotel) and the members of the staff made my vacation an unforgettable experience. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The hotel was nice and clean including my room (411), which has a tea/reading room with an amazing view of Kanchenjunga and the range of the Himalayas. If you feel cold, additional warmly blankets are available and if necessary a heater can be provided. The food was excellent (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) and if requested, all meals can be made to meet your dietary needs. Nice Darjeeling hot tea was served to my room whenever asked. Additionally, Mr. Sarcar is an excellent travel adviser and if needed, he can help you making your travel arrangements for visiting nearby places and/or going trekking. Also, the hotel is located in a quite area so you can really relax and sleep quietly. In case you want to do shopping, it is a 10min walk to the local markets.
I strongly recommend this hotel when visiting Darjeeling or nearby cities. It will make your vacation memorable!!!

Room Tip: Room 411 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel was freezing cold( I visited in February). However I ordered for heater then it was little better. Hot water was available for 24 hours. We had morning breakfast there and the food was good. We also had evening dinner once and it was not worth the price. The manager was kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mprvlr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Can't understand HOW this place gets 4 and 5 star ratings. We always stay at hotels based on TA reviews and this is the first time we were seriously mislead.
The whole hotel is freezing cold in winter-no heating in rooms. Also no hot water for most of the time we were there. Our room was very dirty, especially the bathroom with mouldy walls and the toilet was leaking water over the floor. There was no servicing of the rooms during our stay.
The only positive for this hotel is the mountain views, but there are plenty of other places with similar views around here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldTraveller1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

To all the tourists who like to enjoy Darjeeling and Kanchenjunga.
The hotel named The Retreat is simply a magnificent place to stay with all its coziness and hospitality . The rooms are simply excellent with the view of Kanchenjunga from your bed itself.
The quality of food ( including Breakfast , Lunch & Dinner)is more than good. The attention of the hotel boys towards the visitors is much more than expected. 24 hours hot water , Room Heater in extreme winter and warmth of the rooms is simply great . Lounge and dinning hall bears an aesthetic sense as well as grandeur. I suggest all the tourists to have a feel of this hotel at least once( if not more) when they visit the Queen of The Hills.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny including the scenic beauty of Kanchenjunga from the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGOSWAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here in december 2011 on our honeymoon....i think its worth spending money here....Decent rooms, co-operative staff and great view of kanchenzonga.manager is vey co-operative here, we had some issue with break fast but that has been noted instantly and resolved instantly.....what else u require!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jigar165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.8 km away
Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest
0.9 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
632 reviews
1.6 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.7 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.1 km away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#24 of 95 in Darjeeling
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: 15 Hermitage Road | Raj Bhaban, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laced by horizon-kissing green tea-estates and foggy hills, Darjeeling is the 'Queen of the Hills' in all its own splendour. For the world tourists, trekkers and globetrotters, Darjeeling is the gate to a tranquil world that is filled with enchanting and breath-taking picturesque beauty. The sunrise from atop the Tiger Hill is mysticism beyond compare. And who ever misses a walk to the Mall Road for some woollens shopping, or a ride on the famous toy-train that whistles its way through the greenery? Darjeeling will wrap you in its beauty, and your stay at The Retreat will make your trip more memorable. Here at The Retreat, you can see the Kanchenjunga peak from every room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing