We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is good”
Review of Amarjeet Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amarjeet Hotel
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

Hotel is good, big room, nice light, passage is also good, co opertive staff , hotel have their own restaurant with bar, clean toilets but the intercom not working ,good, and they dont clean room everyday unless u tell them. There is no more mobile charging point , Walkable to market and kurseong railway station. Overall hotel is good....

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank sameer288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2016

Its rare that you go back to a hotel after 21 years and it still manages to make you smile :) I stayed with my family including a toddler and barring the entrance (bar), we came back thoroughly pleased with Hotel Amarjeet. Super supportive staff and managers, decent food and awesome view from the rooms ( we stayed in two of the best rooms in the hotel Room 101 &201) add to the experience.

The only hiccup we had was one of the drivers (Manoj) who took us to Darjeeling for a day trip with a rather bad taste in the mouth. The remaining drivers arranged by the hotel were good though.

Overall- I am definitely waiting to go back to Kurseong and there's no reason not to repeat the Amarjeet experience!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priyanka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel is ok and nothing special that would enrich your stay and make it lively. The phone did not work intermittently. The staff was kind of orthodox and resistant to requests. During the whole tenure the room was never cleaned once. Moreover the bed had stains. The food was not upto the mark. Moreover, we went to enquire about various reserved site seeing packages available from the hotel and was surprised to see that the price quoted by the hotel authorities was exceeding the standard local rates by around 1500 to 2500 per package. Naturally we decided not to take the package and ultimately went on to book the packages directly from the driver whoch saved us around 3000 rupees. The glass in the hotel is transparent and being located in the middle of the town is very disturbing as there is no privacy unless you keep the curtain down always. Overall, the stay was not satisfactory.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nirmalya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Awesome Panjabi food. Best rooms. A must try is their crispy fried potatoes , tandoori stuff, dal makhni , malai koftas. The only drawback is that their restaurant is located with a bar. The bar is used by the locals and thus makes this restaurant unsuitable for family dinners if you don't wish to see alcoholic tomfoolery with your family on the other hand when in Rome.....

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Anshumanafsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Room was good; food was excellent; please try different cuisines as they have huge variety; location excellent; view from room great; room service good; staff behaviour very good; front office/reception friendly; all the staffs were always smiling; dog lover will get a surprise !!! Highly recommended for fooding and lodging in Kurseong....

Room Tip: Top Floor will give you the best view; Don't miss the delicious breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rijula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Great Property, Great Staff, Great Management and Great Food! That about summarises it all!
We were two couples, stayed at the Amarjeet for two days and we loved it. We booked the King Rooms. The rooms are spacious, nicely appointed and have a view of the valley. The two large windows in the rooms offer awesome view of the valley and it really is a lovely experience sitting on the bed or the sofa and looking out early in the morning and a having a nice cup of tea.

This brings me to the food! I regret that we did not try much of the menu. I can however vouch for the Aalu and Gobhi Parathas.. They are soft, yummy and served hot. I kicked myself for not trying those on the first day itself as we generally ate out. The tea is good and as I mentioned above, sipping tea while gazing at the valley is something I loved. Considering the yummy parathas, I guess, I will agree that the food is great at the Hotel. We also witnessed a full restaurant almost everyday for the duration of our stay.

Location wise, the hotel is situated bang on the road to darjeeling and is only about 2-3 min walk from the toy train station. The market starts just after the toy train station. So yes, the location is just perfect.

The ride to Darjeeling in the toy train is about 3 hours and it is a ride to be experienced at least once.

An important thing is that Water Supply in Darjeeling/kurseong is not a 24 hour affair, however, at the Amarjeet, 24 hours water supply - both hot and cold, are available.

The hotel is kept clean and maintained very hygienically.

The staff at the Amarjeet are courteous and friendly. They will help you plan your itinerary and the hotel has its own cabs which are used for sightseeing and also to provide pick up and drop facilities. There charges are reasonable and service provided is excellent. We used hotel cabs for all our sight seeing and travel requirements. And we were absolutely satisfied with the experience.

An incident I would like to recollect. We left for Gangtok on day 3 in the hotel's Innova and I forgot the lens cover of my Canon DSLR in the Innova when we disembarked in Gangtok. The lens cover went back to Kurseong and When I realised this I was dismayed. However, One phone call to Sandra, the lady at the help desk of Amarjeet brought my smiles back. She arranged the lens cover to be transported to New Jalpaiguri/Siliguri from where I could pick it up while leaving for Assam on my way back. This was arranged and executed and I got a call from Sandra that the lens cover was waiting for me to pick it up, IN LESS THAN 3 HOURS! We were pleasantly surprised with the service offered.

I have rated it both budget and luxury hotel coz the room charges were very affordable yet the rooms were of great quality. I felt awesome!

I would like to thank the Amarjeet for arranging a memorable stay for all of us.

Thanks a lot!

Room Tip: Choose the King Rooms if you love great nature views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SrivardhanRathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

There are two really good things about this hotel.
One - its location. Its located right on the main road and within 3 mins' walking distance from the railway station and 5 mins from the main bazaar area.
Two - the restaurant; it serves really yummy food at very reasonable prices. We were here for 2 days and tried a number of dishes - each one was excellent.
Go for the queen rooms at the front of the hotel, that way you can see the train engines chugging right below you.
The rooms and bathrooms are quite big, and quite clean. There is free wifi in the room, and its quite fast.
Only criticisms I have are - the wifi does not work after 10 in the night, there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom.
As an added bonus for animal lovers, there are a couple of very friendly dogs at the hotel.

Room Tip: Take the queen rooms, they are bigger and you can see the toy train engines from your bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bishwaksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.1 km away
Snow Lion HomeStay
Snow Lion HomeStay
#17 of 100 in Darjeeling
194 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel White Yak
Hotel White Yak
#24 of 100 in Darjeeling
110 reviews
0.9 km away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#73 of 100 in Darjeeling
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Meghma
Hotel Meghma
#82 of 100 in Darjeeling
23 reviews
1.4 km away
CHAS Sanderling Hotel
CHAS Sanderling Hotel
#37 of 100 in Darjeeling
15 reviews
0.5 km away
Himalayan Brook
Himalayan Brook
#70 of 100 in Darjeeling
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarjeet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarjeet Hotel

Address: 12 T N Road | Kurseong, Darjeeling 734203, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: $36 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Amarjeet Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing