We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Everest
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Small and cozy place. Excellent Hotel staff and amazing service even by catering trainers. Rooms are large and quite decent with most of the facilities. Food is simple but very good and delicious. Would like to visit again.

Room Tip: Any room is good enough. Ist floor rooms may offer view of Kunchenjunga peak.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BABRAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonlomRongong, Owner at Hotel Villa Everest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review , we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Everest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

The staff, although polite seemed unable to deal with anything out of the ordinary. A bit too much time is spent by some of the staff gazing at their phones, some training is needed. Room is just OK, not very clean and a bit dusty, windows do not close properly so lots of street noise and draughts. Sheets, towels etc are a bit tired, grey coloured with stains. Breakfast was good but did not eat there in the evening.
The worst thing however is the noise from the other guests. Seems lots of family groups stay here and are really noisy, TVs up full volume, slamming doors, shouting etc. The scourge of Darjeeling which has ruined the town is the jeeps which pick up the more sedintary tourist at all hours of the night to simply ferry them to view points for dawn etc. They pollute the town horribly and make sleep impossible. These people spare no respect for other guests unfortunately although this is not the hotels fault. So all in all a bit disappointed, hotel just needs some looking after and if you want to sleep pick carefully in Darjeeling although you are unlikely to get away from the noisy jeep tourists which ruin the town.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ilbuono10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonlomRongong, Owner at Hotel Villa Everest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Guest,

we are grateful for your feed back which we have followed up and have instantly let our staff know about it and have also read your review to them, we are also looking to fix the problems regarding your feedback and hope to resolve some of the issues that are in our hands so as to make the stay of our guests more comfortable in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I just came back from a trip from Darjeeling today. I stayed with my family at the Hotel Villa Everest. The staff were very cordial and always ready to help. The hotel was very neat and clean. We were provided with two rooms - large, clean and with nice view of the valley. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the Mall and about 5 mins from the Darjeeling railway station. The food was also good. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

I would, however, like to leave one message for the hotel. It would be good if they start accepting Debit/Credit cards. Carrying cash these days have become quite a hassle and most people prefer staying away from it. Having said that, I made my hotel payments through Online bank transfer which the hotel gladly accepted.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonlomRongong, Owner at Hotel Villa Everest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank out for taking the time out to review us , we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for the suggestion about the card machine and we would like to let you know that we have applied for one with our bank but it seems to take forever to have them give it to us, we will be following up with it and are hopeful that it will be done soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We had checked into the hotel on 8th of March 17 with my family and stayed for three nights checked out on 11th March 17 morning to catch our train back to Kolkata. This hotel is situated in a place called Gandhi Road and quite close to the Mall, Chowrasta and shopping places such as Laden La Road and Chowk Bazar. It was a villa and now It’s been converted into a 2 storey hotel. It was once owned by a Bengali Mayor who sold it to the present owners of Glennary’s.It’s made up in British style architecture and has retained much of the old British style with wooden stairs, paintings on the wall,furniture etc. We had booked a double bedded deluxe room with complimentary breakfast and the room had almost all the modern ameneties such as a big flat screen TV, a big wardrobe, tea table,a large bathroom with geyser, an extension room with chairs etc and a sit out with windows which give a view of the mountains infront but a side view of Kanchenjhunga.Unfortunately the weather played truant with us and the sky was overcast most of the time, extremely cold, windy and misty. It rained for two days, we were told the weather in Darjeeling is quite unpredictable and if starts to rain then it continues for days especially in monsoon. We could not see Kanchenjhunga due to bad weather and spoilt our plans for local sightseeing. The Hotel has a restaurant on the ground floor and a small parking space. We had opted for this hotel after going through the reviews in Trip Advisor and had booked the rooms directly. To our surprise the kind of service we got was totally different from what we had expected. There are frequent power cuts and the hotel does not have a generator and one has to wait till the power comes back to take a bath as the geyser goes off and so the room heater. The frequency is from 15 mins to ½ hr.This will spoil your plans if you have plans for any local sightseeing. One night when it was raining the room heater had conked out and there was smoke coming out of the heater and as the weather was very cold we had to call the reception for a replacement. We were told by the hotel person very casually it cannot be arranged till the next day morning. We were totally taken aback by this casual approach and since it was very cold and we had a child with us we had no option but to threaten this person that we would complain to the manager and the owner only then this person arranged for an alternate heater. The manager never bothered to even ask if everything was ok or even apologise for the incident. The food except breakfast which was edible is not worth even mentioning here .There are very limited options and whatever we ordered tasted very bland .Vegetarians will have a tough time here.A plate of chicken tasted as if it was not cooked or marinated properly. Even a simple Dal was not cooked properly. Most of the staff is untrained, have a casual approach and don’t know how to handle guest’s requirements. There is lack of professionalism and the hotel manager was in his own world and not bothered to talk to guests and enquire about their wellbeing or if anything was required. The hotel had arranged for cars on our request and the drivers were extremely uncooperative and always demanding high rates even for a short trips for shopping etc and it was quite surprising the manager had no say or any influence. A total disappointment and waste of our holiday in Darjeeling though the poperty is well mantained and has retained the quaint factor.

Room Tip: The top most rooms like room nos 8,10,9.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shashi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonlomRongong, Owner at Hotel Villa Everest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Firstly would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay here with us, as the saying goes " when it rains in pours" . Usually March is a dry season although windy, we do not expect rain, but I guess due to global warming the weather patterns have changed altogether, and though we have a back up generator for the hotel, it did give us some problem at that time, but we are glad to let you know that we have called the technicians from Siliguri and they have fixed the problem.
We have also looked into the matter regarding the feedback you have given and we will try our best to improve them so that we can make our Guest stay more comfortable in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Villa everest is a family run hotel. I must stay it is rather a homestay feeling living here.It has only ten rooms. And I must say you should opt to stay in room no.10.This is a very big room and has good view. Lovely ambiance. Humble staffs. Food served is freshly cooked and hot as well.Good service. Very comfortable stay.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Anamika31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonlomRongong, Owner at Hotel Villa Everest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for reviewing us an for recommending our place, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We are completely satisfied with this hotel. The arranged airport pickup. The room was given in second floor, which gave good view. The rooms are neat and clean. The food was nice. Very friendly service. The place is inside the city.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank gokcoool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonlomRongong, Owner at Hotel Villa Everest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for recommending our place we are so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Stayed at this place in the month of December. Being the festive season, it was brightly lit up keeping up to the Christmas spirit. The rooms were very clean and The staff of the hotel were very polite and hospitable. Being very cold, they very willingly provided heaters for the room, unlike other places.
Breakfast in the morning was brought freshly made and piping hot.
One can enjoy the majestic view of Kanchenjuna from the restaurant.
The entire place gives a feeling of a warm home away from home.
Made my stay in Darjeeling a memorable one !!

Room Tip: Not very close to the main city. But the stay is definately worth it
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonlomRongong, Owner at Hotel Villa Everest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it has made all our efforts worthwhile when we read your review, we wish you the best and hopefully we will see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.5 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
0.8 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
313 reviews
1.6 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
1.3 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.4 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Everest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Everest

Address: 1 Hotel Villa Everest A J C Bose Road | Near Circuit House, Darjeeling 734101, India (Formerly Villa Everest)
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: $78 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Everest 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Everest was built in 1904 and is located at 1 A.J.C. Bose Road, Darjeeling, which was then known as Auckland Road during the British Raj. The property belonged to the former mayor of Kolkata, Shri Kamal Kumar Basu, who sold the property to us in the year 2007. This building has been carefully reinforced and the basic layout of the building has been retained. We have added one floor to the structure that has the Attic Rooms. This establishment is a 11 room family run hotel that offers a comfortable stay. To get in touch with the latest all rooms are fitted with LCD TVs with cable connection and also have Free Wi-Fi connectivity in all rooms.So while on vacation at Darjeeling, Villa Everest offers rooms that are comfortable, decent and well equipped with views of the Singalila Range and of Mt. Kanchendzonga from every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Everest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing