We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent”
Review of R.J. Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
R.J. Resort
Ranked #14 of 126 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2016

My second stay at RJ was just as pleasant as the first and I will have to admit that I was very taken by the upkeep of this place. Bearing in mind the fact that water is a scarce resource in Darjeeling, the management seem to have walked the extra mile to ascertain that cleanliness is never compromised. The sit-out on the terrace is perfect to soak in the afternoon sun and I will suggest one leave their electronic devices out of reach when holidaying here. Above and beyond the luxury and amenities that the property extends to its guests, the biggest draw for me is the absence of traffic noises and the ubiquitous honking that is otherwise omnipresent present in our part of the world. Stay at RJ and I am certain you will want to visit time and again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zabir2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2016

The hotel is on the lower road to the mall, a brisk 7-10 minutes walk away. The hotel itself is fairly large, well maintained. Clean large rooms, good linen, 24X7 hot water, room heater. Service is also very good. Since we stayed in off season & only 2 rooms were occupied they actually called us up to enquire what we would fancy for dinner. We had piping hot food waiting for us as soon as we returned to the hotel.
The only downside for me was the dismal views. Else an extremely comfortable stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Monika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

The resort is really warm and also its staff. Every evening at ^.30 pm they used to arrange a bonfire in front of the entrance. The meals which they serve were of good quality and also the number of items were of wide range. We were 6 persons, took 2 rooms. The rooms were clean and hygienic with fresh curtains and bed sheets. The wardrobe they have had a locker which is of great use and the most important feature of this resort. Though the indoor games room was there, i felt the gym equipments were less in number. The lounge and reception area was nicely decorated. Overall a really recommendable one.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank Sumali89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Hi Friends,
last summer 2015, i had a chance to make a very short stay at this resort at Darjeeeling, just for 2 nights.
The location of this resort is superb, away from the jostling of the town, amidst a tranquil corner of it, just opposite the governor house, and I thinh it is the primary criteria to choose this hotel.room rent is reasonably low according to that.
this resort is organised with reception at the top floor and rest of the stories downward.
as it is on the cliff side of the hill road.

rooms are fine like other 4 star hotels and constant hot water supply.
it has a buffet system and food is okay.
I think this review will be helpful for the forum members. Thanx.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DRANIRBANKUNDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Terrible...

If you want to loose your peace this is the perfect place.

Some of the highlights :
- it's compulsory to place your dinner order
by 6:30 otherwise they will keep knocking
Your door till 7:00 and after that they will
refuse to take your order.
- If you want a towel or soap you will not get
It before 8:00 a:m as the housekeeping
staffs turn up after 8:00 only.
- The choice of food is very limited. They
will share a A4 sheet instead of menu
Card which will have 6-7 items only.
- You get stained towels.

Earlier it was a part of Western group and was managed well but now the services are
pathetic....

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Shyam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights in October last year and the overall experience was fantastic. Starting from the location which is at a walking distance from chourasta, the surroundings (very peaceful and greenery all over), the service, rooms, cleanliness, food (buffet), and off-course the staff everything was just excellent. The best part was the price, very reasonable according to the infrastructure and the service. All in all a full paisa vasool experience..!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docshirin1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

The hotel since placed on a hill when you checkin on the same floor as the road you are actuallly in a middle floor like 3-4 th floor.
Good Hotel rich look and decent ambience. People staying there obviously help you make perception of your stay , When I was there people were good enough not to disturb other except few exceptions there. Food was average since the first day we liked the food but hated it the other day, Very near to the main bazaat and the Bovernor house adds the value since you are in main city though you are away. Good for shopping as the main market is just 2 mins walk away

Room Tip: If I visit Darjeeling again I would like to stay at the same place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pramod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 km away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
665 reviews
1.4 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#9 of 100 in Darjeeling
366 reviews
0.7 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
1.2 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 100 in Darjeeling
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.J. Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.J. Resort

Address: The Mall | Opp Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: $85 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — R.J. Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your R.J. Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing