We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Varanasi tour ”
Review of Calcutta Capsule

Calcutta Capsule
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.50*
and up
Alleyway Food Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Magic Hour Walk: An early morning adventure tour to watch the city wake up. We start @ 5 am catching the first tram of the day, tasting chai from clay cups ,visiting un-touristy spots just like a local and try to find the origin of God at Kumartuli, all before the city gets busy. The Calcutta contrast Walk: Visit the whole sale bazaars(markets) of Calcutta followed by a visit to the intellectual zones of the local folk. Discover the contrasting sides of Calcutta through food, people and evening life. The Alleyway Food Walk: Find your way through the mystical narrow alleyways of Calcutta leading to century old Street food stalls and discover why they call Calcutta a food lovers Paradise. *All tours Duration: 3-4 hours*
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I took the evening tour with Soham. Sampling delicious street food and many hidden spots around the fruit market and College Street.

I’ve been to Kolkata four times previously and was introduced to many new facets of this buzzing and sometimes overwhelming city, the coffee house for example a place I definitely return to, if only for the architecture.

Highly recommend the tour if your wanting a genuine experience of Kolkata evening life and some delicious/clean street food.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank BBBarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soham C, Owner at Calcutta Capsule, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

Thank you BBBarns for your kind words.
Im happy you liked the Mini Varanasi Tour.
Hope we see you back in Calcutta soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"magic hour"
in 13 reviews
"food tour"
in 5 reviews
"hour tour"
in 3 reviews
"chai"
in 11 reviews
"highly recommended if you want"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend the tour"
in 2 reviews
"chaotic city"
in 2 reviews
"indian food"
in 2 reviews
"flower market"
in 4 reviews
"street food"
in 4 reviews
"amazing city"
in 2 reviews
"early morning"
in 3 reviews
"tram ride"
in 2 reviews
"unique experience"
in 2 reviews
"howrah bridge"
in 4 reviews
"public transport"
in 2 reviews
"clay"
in 4 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2018

Going on the magic hour walk with Soham is much like going on a walk with a friend. We strolled down the street from his house and started the morning with a chai and before the city had woken up he was already opening our eyes to things about Calcutta we’d never seen before. We did the many simple things that locals would do such as catching the old tram, riding on a ferry across the Hooghly River. His easy going nature and the simplicity of Soham’s tours is at strength and it’s charm.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Lily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soham C, Owner at Calcutta Capsule, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Thank you Lily for liking the tour. I had a great time showing you and your father Mr Andrews around. The meaningful conversations did bring out the real Adda and Bong in all of us.
Wish you luck for the rest of your Trip.
Do visit Kolkata Again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

The memory of that tour with Soham and getting to see and know the city by a wonderfully planned series of walks, bus, the kold world tram and ferry rides will stay with me forever.
He took me through a range of the experiences that is Kolkata. The buildings old and new, a walk over the Howrah Bridge; the walk through Kumartuli - taking in the shaping of the clay to model what emerge as magnificent works of art during durga puja - the flower market and the banks of River Ganga.
I do go to Kolkata every year but never have I seen or known the sensory experience of my own presence in this magical city in this way before or since.
Soham truly loves the city and loves what he is doing. That makes sharing his enthusiasm of that experience such a memorable one. I certainly recommend this tour, with a 100% endorsement of it, whether you are Indian or a traveler from other lands. Its eye opening!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank AbhijitG132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soham C, Owner at Calcutta Capsule, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

Thank you so much Abhijit for your kind words
It was really such a pleasure showing you around. I enjoyed it as much as you did. Hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Sohan knows everything of this city. While traveling you wonder a lot about the Indian culture and how things work. Sohan can answer all of them! He has a lot of very good recommendations for the best Bengali dishes at special places around town. We loved it!! Thank you!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Sjors H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soham C, Owner at Calcutta Capsule, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018

Thank you Sjors. It was such a pleasure showing you around.
Do visit Calcutta Again.Enjoy your journey ahead :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2018

A great experience! The tours provided by Soham (I joined both the magic hour early morning tour and the evening tour) and I enjoyed both very much.

Soham knows a lot about the city and that really helps to understand the city better. We have been at magnificent places, both in terms of sights (hidden gems that I wouldn't have found by my self and also to places where I was on my own but which I now better understand with the explanations of Soham), and taste (e.g. experiencing Soham's favorite chai and sweet shop and favorite breakfast place).

In short: a great experience, highly recommended!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soham C, Owner at Calcutta Capsule, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Thank you Esther..I am so glad to have had the opportunity of showing you around ..Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calcutta Capsule also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Calcutta Capsule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing