We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Swissotel Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Kolkata
Ranked #9 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Kerala, India
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at Swissotel, during early March 2012, for a conference. The hotel is very close to the airport (10-15 minute drive), which is great for conference participants. It is, however, quite far from the city (45-90 minutes depending on where you wanted to go).

The hotel is in New Town, which used to be all fish farms until 10-15 years back. The surround area is not well-developed. Fortunately, the Swissotel is attached to a Mall, which provides options for food and shopping (mostly westernized stuff, hardly any local goods).

The rooms are not very large but very modern in decor and furnishings. Food is good, and there is little to complain about. I left at four-fifteen in the morning, and there were tea/coffee and snacks at the checkout counter for people who would miss the complimentary breakfast...a nice touch, I thought.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: My friend at the conference tells me that his room had a private swimming pool...in case you are int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SierraBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    402
    82
    24
    32
See reviews for
227
188
117
779
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed at the Swissotel, Rajarhat, Kolkata recently and simply loved it.

Everything from the check-in till check-out was a breeze.

I landed at the Kolkata airport pretty late around 10:45PM; found the pickup cab from Swissotel waiting for me at the arrival. The drive from the airport to the hotel took less than 20 minutes, which I appreciated the most especially given the chaotic traffic that Kolkata has.

My check-in was very smooth and soon I found myself in a very comfortable room at the 4th floor. The room had just about everything that a business traveller could need. A comfortable double bed with 2 different pillow choices. Mood lighting to suit your mood. A well stocked mini-bar, electic kettle and coffee maker with sufficient supply of tea bags, gourmet coffee and china cups to enjoy it in.

The room had a wonderful work desk, complete with a really comfortable chair, lamp and easy to reach sockets to hook up my laptpop and chargers. And there was a big LCD TV, to catch up on some news, favourite channels.

The wardrobe was spacious with enough hangers and an electronic safe. And, it was a pleasure to find a steam iron and an ironing board to add to the convenience.

The bathroom was fantastic in its layout, supply of the cosmetics provided and the quality of the towels and the bathgown was outstanding. A warm shower soothed my tired soul and I retired for a long day ahead.

I had the breakfast at the hotel's coffee shop at the 6th floor. The buffet menu was elaborate and fresh and inviting. The whole seating layout was really charming. The staff was outstandingly courteous and their attention towards the guests was simply class-leading. The staff's hospitality all through my breakfast was really wonderful. And I do not recall having enjoyed a breakfast that good for a long time - fresh orange juice, eggs made to my preference complete with freshly grilled toamto and mushroom, my favourite newspaper brought right to my table, the skylight streaming in fresh sunshine, the aroma of fresh coffee and I could go on and on. I really didn't want to leave but had to, as meetings awaited me at my workplace.

The staff was courteous and helped flag a local yello taxi cab for my commute to the office. The hotel cabs can be very expensive especially if you dont want to drive a long distance from the hotel.

In the evening, I had a nice time at the Centrall Shopping Mall thats located right besides the hotel. It is a lively place with a lot of good cafes, restaurants and shops. I really liked one shop that sold handcrafted terracotta items and picked up a few paintings from there.

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting the offices located in or around the Rajarhat area. The close proximity to the airport really is a convenience when you are ready to fly back. For those of you who want to explore the city, you will find it a bit far and during late nights, it is not easy to find a cab or auto-rickshaw who would be willing to take you back to the hotel. Be prepared to pay some extra money to find a transport back to the hotel.

I could not get a chance to enjoy the spa or the pool at the hotel due to my busy schedule but I look forward to it when I next get a chance to stay again at the wonderful Swissotel, Kolkata.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoopyDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is the best hotel I have stayed in India and as regards staff attitude and service,the best I have experienced in the world...it is exceptional..staff amazing and passionate about what they do.You are pampered from the second your vehicle draws up to the hotel entrance...without being smothered.(a mistake that other hotels and restaurants often make..too intrusive).
All the facilities are excellent.I have never had such a brilliant complimentary breakfast..nor so well cooked/prepared/presented by excellent chefs and staff who really are passionate and proud about what they do.
Close to airport,adjoins a very good shopping mall.Completely soundproofed rooms..you simply would not know u were close to the airport unlees you look out the window..or are in the awesome infinity pool on the 6th floor.
It may look pricey for India but it is absolutely worth every penny for the experience.To get this in Europe would cost 3-7 times as much.So enjoy..you will want for nothing.
You won't get the Kolkata City "experience" here..but it's not far away if you want it.

Room Tip: Even though close to airport,pre-booked taxis from airport do not necessarily know where this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyvanoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doha
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Every month at least once I put up at Swissotel and so far the experience has really been good.If you want to stay closer to the airport nothing can beat this place with respect to staying, dining and wining.The hotel is uniquely stylish with dedicated non-smoking floors,restaurants,bars and rooftop-infinity swimming pool.Breakfast buffet is para 5star standard and the staff very hospitable.Concierge is very prompt with their assistance.Another feather to its cap is the location of city centre II, which indirectly caters all your needs from clothing, spa,movie or foodcourt.From the city its away but if you plan to leave a little early during the morning you would manage to book a bit of space for your travel to your destination.

Room Tip: Some rooms have jacuzzi and panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liljeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Good hotel...slightly away from the main town. you will feel this is you are gonna travel by the local taxis. difficult to get taxis to get to this area at nights...as a hotel, very good and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonilbakare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

stayed at swissotel for 5 days for business during feb.
location's really convienient, very near to airport, avoids traffic congestion.
rooms are spacious, clean, well maintained.
had complimentary breakfast which was surprisingly good and tasty unlike usual 5star buffets.
staff appeared courteous and helpful.
the concept of hotel attached to shopping mall & mutiplex is amazing, ideal for keeping family occupied and for relaxing & occuping time when free.
However there were some problems too.
The pool was a big letdown. seat cushions were smelly, hotel workers use the fire exit as their regular exit & there was a continuous parade of ppl walking to & fro, pool side service was really slow, had to rpt order twice & wait more than 30 min. had to take a shower & discard the clothes to get the mouldy smell out.AVOID POOL SEATS.
the sink has a tendency to get flooded. called room service once, next time did it myself, third time just removed the stopper.someone screwed up their design.
toileteries are pretty basic. get ur own.
all in all good hotel, facilities and good potential to become. would definately like to stay again but hopefully would have fixed some issues.

Room Tip: take room with view of airport rather than construction site next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmanish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We regret the inconvenience caused to your related to the pool pacakge. We have taken note of the same and shall surely come up with a solution.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A good hotel with decent amenities and slightly less expensive than some other nearby 5 star accomodation. The shopping centre next door is a treat since so many business hotels in India seem to be located in areas that make a necessity.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela.redshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
12.2 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,055 reviews
12.0 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,349 reviews
4.9 km away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#8 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,268 reviews
15.2 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,854 reviews
12.7 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Kolkata

Property: Swissotel Kolkata
Address: City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700157, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Kolkata is one of the most luxurious addresses in the city of Kolkata which offers well-appointed leisure and business facilities. Boasting an under-one-roof concept, Swissôtel Kolkata has 147 contemporary guest rooms and luxury suites with spectacular Jacuzzis, four restaurants and bars, a fitness centre, a rooftop swimming pool, and over 1261 square meters of meeting space with the largest pillarless banquet in the city. The hotel is part of a new urban development with an attached mall featuring shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema. Located in Rajarhat beside the IT hub, the hotel offers a distinct mix of leisure and business facilities, and is noted for its unique offering of Swiss hospitality and attention to detail. The award-winning rooftop Sky Lounge is the jewel of the hotel's three restaurants and bar, offering views over the city. An in-house nightclub with resident DJ attracts hip locals and guests alike. The sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day.The business centre and two meeting rooms more than cover all your business needs. Over 1000 guests can be accommodated in cocktail/reception style in Bern, the largest pillar-free banqueting facility - and a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel Kolkata. Swissotel Kolkata's alpine-inspired Purovel Sport offers you an exclusive ambiance in which to continue your exercise routine, with a fully equipped gym and a breathtaking infinity swimming pool on the roof.The hotel has separate smoking and non-smoking floors, there is free internet throughout except in the banquet areas, and secure parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Swissotel Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing