We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”
Review of The Sonnet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sonnet
Ranked #12 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Well i got a chance to stay at a this early december ,convienient to the aiport approximately 20-30 minutes on a higher side .The Check in process and lauggage hanlding was efficient.The rooms are large enough and scpacious along with good space for the wardrobe and wash room area.there is a shower cubicle too .The housekeeping services are good and the staf extremly prompt in deliverance !They have a travel desk which arranges for city tours /airport drops etc.There is a mall in the vicinity which is close actually walkable !Must use hotel for a business traveller !Lastly the dark curtains to keep out sun light are super !! : )

Room Tip: try the Executive Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanCMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    195
    44
    14
    10
See reviews for
87
42
28
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The hotel is new, clean and nicely decorated.
Staff are helpful and polite.
Must try the lamb briyani at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing front road for more sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siongloong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Nicely located hotel close to shopping center(Salt Lake City). Room equipment not very old but seems to be used to long. Outside window I could observe METRO construction site. Room quiet but very humid inside (bedclotches felt like wet) however I have been exhausted co complain for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karaluchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed in the hotel for around 2 weeks in November (21st- Dec 3rd) and overall we found the hotel to be good. It is conveniently located near the City Centre which provides a good shopping opportunity. Our room was very very nice and since my husband was working, we (my daughter and I) were happy in our room with no problems whatsoever. The hotel staff was very good and i wud take this opportunity to thank Mr Anirban Chowdhry, the Lobby manager, who took out time from his busy schedule to sketch out an excellent itinerary for our Kolkata sight seeing tour.
The hotel breakfast was excellent but one suggestion guys.. try to add in more vegetarian stuff and something light if i may suggest. We were not exactly those kinds who wud have puris and gravied vegetables in morning.
Also, i would like to suggest that the hotel provide 1 way taxi service to any place its guests wana go in a day.
Also, try to provide a complimentary sightseeing facilities to ur guests. We were highly disappointed with the hotels travel desk manager whose promises were larger than the results derived !!!! i dont even wana mention his name here. Pathetic service offered by him.
Our room service guys were very good. Quality service offered by both the morning and the evening service guys.
When we had booked our rooms via net, we were told that we wud get a 1 hr complimentary internet everyday during our stay which wasnt true and when we asked the hotel managers for a good rate on the internet usage, they took sooo long to decide the rate that we had to actually go and get an MTS internet USB from outside...
Anyways, all said and done... Thank you Mr Anirban, Shraboni, Navin, Sankar (room service) and Bappa (evening room service) for a nice stay.
Looking forward to seeing you guys again when we r in kolkata.
Suman Vineet Gajria (Room No - 408)

Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
489 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed at The Sonnet for 2 nights in November. The staff was very courteous. The check-in & checkout were quick. I fell in love with my room at 1st sight. It was beautifully but practically done up, clean & looked very chic. All amenities were in place. The bathroom was delightful too. The restaurant has a great selection of dishes & a well-spread buffet. I had requested for a taxi & the request was promptly fulfilled. If I ever go to Kolkata again, I'll stay at The Sonnet for sure. It was worth the money spent. The only negative thing was-there was some sort of stink in the 7th floor corridor. Rest-wonderful wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunjanKumar, Front Office Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
We would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us which indicates your true liking for the property, as we firmly believe that it is friends like you who with your honest comment makes us travel from strength to strength and also give us motivation. We have taken the appropriate measure and the same has been rectified.

I'm sure your presence (when you are back at The Sonnet) will give us the better idea on the same.

Looking forward to see you soon with us.

Thankking You

The Sonnet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed with my family. The hotel is modern and new. The morning buffet (Included in the room tariff) spread is good and you can order for some items that are cooked at the restaurant that are served hot at the table. The rooms are spacious and bed comfortable. The shower was excellent but the bathroom floods every time ( hence the 4 stars and not 5).
The best part is the friendly staff - right from the security, front desk and in the floors - everyone is smiling and ever willing to help. When I asked for a taxi, they gave me the option of booking a hotel taxi or call taxi and the rates so that I could decide

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunjanKumar, Front Office Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
I would like to thank you on behalf of our entire team for choosing The Sonnet for your stay.
Its always our pleasure to have a corporate friend like you.
It's your honest feedback which give us the way to travel from our weakness to the strength.

Looking forward to see you with us again and again...

Thanking You

The Sonnet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed 17 days at this hotel in October 2011 and everything was great. Service quality and amenities was better than HHI Kolkata. I strongly suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeridunFikriBayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunjanKumar, Front Office Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
I would like to say thanks to you on behalf of my entire team for sharing your true feelings about us which will surely motivate our team.

We firmly believe that we are going to welcome you back at The Sonnet in the near future, whenever you are in Kolkata and assure you of our best services at all times.

Thanking You

The Sonnet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
6.8 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,060 reviews
2.7 km away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
339 reviews
0.1 km away
Golden Tulip Salt Lake City Kolkata
Golden Tulip Salt Lake City Kolk...
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,408 reviews
2.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,246 reviews
6.9 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonnet

Property: The Sonnet
Address: Block Dd Plot No 08 | Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sonnet 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonnet has embarked on a journey of establishing itself as a premium 4-star business hotel group in India. The Sonnet, Kolkata is a symphony in design, service & efficiency. A premium business hotel, located in The City of Joy’s newest and most promising Business Hub, Salt Lake. It’s proximity to the airport and Salt Lake’s sprawling IT district makes it the most convenient location. Amenities and facilities are at par with the best in the industry. With unobtrusive & efficient service, we strive to make your stay a very comfortable one. The Sonnet is a eco sensitive hotel and is committed to the social & environmental causes and responsibilities and is always involved in organizing activities to initiate social and ecological awareness. The environment team at the hotel is always ready to contribute to the smallest concerns and handy in extending all support to environmental needs.The state of the art décor, 64 ultra-modern superbly furnished self-contained guest rooms, the fitness centre “WORKOUT” along with the open air Jacuzzi “SPLASH”, a well-stocked bar “UNWINE”, a Music Lounge “ORION” and Round the Clock Fine Dine restaurant “AURA” provides the boarders with all the physical, holistic and gastronomical relaxation that they need to feel at home. Round the Clock in Room Dining pampers one to lazy meals in the privacy of the room. Tailored tour arrangements in luxury cars, heritage walks, religious services, buddy services, and also tie-up with a renowned SPA are always available at beck n call.For the discerned corporate traveller, The Sonnet is ever ready with specially crafted food by the Master Chefs as per guest preference, place, country or origin. Facilities like express check-in, check-out, Wi Fi connectivity, secretarial services, and chauffeur services are tailored to one’s choice and requirement. Corporate meetings, Seminars, Get togethers can be organized in the well-equipped meeting rooms (starting from 1500 Sq. feet to 4000 Sq. feet). Also not to forget the open air terraces for the social functions as well as evening cocktails…….the package is unlimited. THE SONNET OFFERS YOU ONLY THE BEST, SERVICE IN A PERFECT SYMPHONY!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sonnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonnet India/Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing