We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-13
Official Site
US$87
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$108
US$79
View deal
Booking.comUS$87
Hotels.comUS$87
Trip.comUS$108
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,536)
Filter reviews
2,536 results
Traveller rating
1,880
483
104
39
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,880
483
104
39
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room victoria memorial coffee shop excellent hotel old world charm home away from home business trip memorable stay in room dining the heart of the city duty manager courteous staff excellent stay gosht special mention comfortable stay chinoiserie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 2,536 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2021 via mobile

Have been in this beautiful property for 12 nights. The name TAJ is synonymous with luxury and top notch hospitality. The word " NO " doesn't exist in their dictionary as they always say " YES " to your every request ( within LEGAL parameters lol ).
My experience right from check in to check out was very smooth and i will treasure these memories forever. You tend to develop a bond with every staff working in this lovely property and this feeling makes you feel at home.
I would sincerely thank Mr. Saurabh Mitra who handled my booking and made it sure that my entire stay would be a memorable one. From the Front Desk i would love to thank Mr Shoumik and Ms Suman who made the check in , check out and the payment process very smooth as during these covid times these processes becomes a bit tedious. They always helped me with relevant information. I would also like to thank Mr David and Mr Bimal Darnal who took great care of us and made it sure that we did not face any problem during our long stay. Even sincere thanks to Mr Ashish and Mr Rajesh from the housekeeping who always kept our room well sanitized and clean everyday. Also iam thankful to Mr Deepak and Mr Suraj from the Travel Desk who arranged well sanitized car for me to commute safely during these covid times and last but not the least iam thankful to our Chauffeur Mr Pradip Bhattacharjee without whom my travel in kolkata would be very very difficult. He has google map and gps inbuilt in his memory and he is an encyclopedia of knowledge related to travel destinations. He is a very humble man and an asset to Taj Bengal. Iam extremely sorry if i have missed any names as iam thankful to each and everyone i have interacted with in Taj Bengal. There are many 5 star properties around but Taj Bengal takes it ahead to another level. Thank you Taj Bengal for serving us and taking care of us tirelessly during such covid times.. I guess this is the reason why everyone says " Experience it The TAJ WAY ".
See you soon. Stay safe everyone. GOD Bless. Amen.
Tarit Chatterjee

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank tarit_chat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay Shrikent, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2021

Dear Mr. Chatterjee,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Bengal, and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was kind of you to take time out to share the experience of your visit, and we are glad that you were pleased with the hotel’s facilities and services.

Thank you for your kind appreciation of the service protocols being followed on account of the present situation, and for your acknowledgment of the efforts of my colleagues Soumik, Simran, David, Bimal, Ashish, Rajesh, Dipak, Suraj, Pradip and Saurabh, whose personalized service and attentive care has struck a special chord. It feels so wonderful to receive such feedback from our guests regarding the dedication and commitment of our team to create fond memories for our guests. It is feedback like yours that motivates us to strive continuously for excellence.

We are grateful for the confidence and trust reposed in us, and we look forward to being of service again, and ensuring that you experience our best hospitality on all your stays.

It is our sincerest wish and hope that you, and your family, relatives, friends, colleagues, and their families continue to stay well and safe.

Please do let me know of any assistance that I may be of personally, in future.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
Area Director - West Bengal and General Manager - Taj Bengal, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2021 via mobile

Best of all the 5 star hotels that I have been to, starting from the checkin till check out everything was very smoothly done and the staff here knows how to take care of their guest, food was superb and view of Alipore zoo was too good, overall the best stay

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DrRonRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay Shrikent, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2021

Dear Dr. Roy,

Greetings from Taj Bengal, and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were pleased with the hotel’s facilities and services. It is our earnest endeavour to provide our best services to our guests, and I was happy to learn that my colleagues ensured that you departed with fond memories of your visit.

We are also delighted that the little touches thoughtfully created greatly enhanced the experience of your stay, and that our associates came across as the caring and sensitive individuals that they truly are, and made such a meaningful difference to your visit.

We are grateful for the confidence and trust reposed in us, and we look forward to being of service again, and ensuring that you experience our best hospitality on all your visits.

It is our sincerest wish and hope that you, and your family, relatives, friends, colleagues, and their families continue to stay well and safe.

Assuring you of our best hospitality and service on all your stays, we look forward to having your visit again.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
Area Director - West Bengal and General Manager - Taj Bengal, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2021 via mobile

The hotel is great and service was fine but something looks a miss......have to call repeatedly for room service, the rooms were ok, bathroom was clean. Most of the place was not open due to the pandemic which is understandable. Breakfast could be better. People and staff are caring......

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rahulj1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay Shrikent, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Bengal, and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was kind of you to take time out to share your experience, and we are glad that you were pleased with the overall hotel’s facilities and services.

We are privileged to enjoy the goodwill of our guests, and have always benefited from their advice, suggestions and feedback. We look forward to an opportunity to be of service again, and would request you to let us or I know when you plan to visit. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back, and I am confident that you will experience our best hospitality on all your future visits.

It is our sincerest wish and hope that you, and your family, relatives, friends, colleagues, and their families continue to stay well and safe.

Once again, thank you for your visit and feedback, and please do let me know of any assistance that I may be of personally, in future.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
Area Director - West Bengal and General Manager - Taj Bengal, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2021 via mobile

super food. delicious and tasteful. special requests taken of well. mr david as Always was welcoming and caring. bags and belongings sanitised. staff was careful about social distancing measures as well. beautiful property.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank akashmonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay Shrikent, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2021

Dear Mr. Monga,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Bengal, and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was kind of you to take time out to share the experience of your visit, and we are glad that you were pleased with the hotel’s facilities and services.

Thank you for your kind appreciation of the service protocols being followed on account of the present situation, and for your acknowledgment of the efforts of my colleague David, whose personalized service and attentive care has struck a special chord. We truly believe that our colleagues are our greatest strength and your affirmation of their commitment and service excellence has been very motivating. I am happy to share your sentiments with our colleagues, who will be delighted to receive your acknowledgement of the service and food they prepared.

We are grateful for the confidence and trust reposed in us, and we look forward to being of service again, and ensuring that your guests and you experience our best hospitality.

It is our sincerest wish and hope that you, and your family, relatives, friends, colleagues, and their families continue to stay well and safe.

Once again, thank you for your visit and feedback, and we look forward to be of service again.


With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
Area Director - West Bengal and General Manager - Taj Bengal, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2021 via mobile

Service extraordinary. Staff are polite, caring, Love to stay there. Food extraordinary. In this pandemic, such a lovely service with maintaining all the protocol. Lovely stay. Looking forward to go stay again and again. Keep up the good work. Stay Safe. Stay Healthy. Lots of love for all the staffs who all help me on the time of my stay. Thanks once again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank KAZI NAZMUS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay Shrikent, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2021

Dear Mr. Sahadat,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Taj Bengal, and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was kind of you to take time out to share the experience of your visit, and we are glad that you were pleased with the hotel’s facilities and services.

Thank you also for your kind appreciation of the service protocols being followed owing to the present situation. We truly believe that our colleagues are our greatest strength and your affirmation of their commitment and service excellence has been very motivating, and I am happy to share your sentiments with them. They will be delighted to learn that their warm and personalized services struck such a special chord.

There can be no greater compliment for us than the fact that our guests choose to return to us. We are grateful for the confidence and trust reposed in us, and we look forward to being of service again, and ensuring that you experience our best hospitality on all your stays.

It is our sincerest wish and hope that you, and your family, relatives, friends, colleagues, and their families continue to stay well and safe.

Once again, thank you for your visit and feedback, and we look forward to be of service again.


With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
Area Director - West Bengal and General Manager - Taj Bengal, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews