We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Old Lady”
Review of Tollygunge Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tollygunge Club
Ranked #40 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Tired Old Lady”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The Tollygunge is one of the classic locations in India, and this was my third visit over many years. The old lady is showing her years, and is in dire need of some refurbishment - to facilities and staffing. Food in the main restaurant was excellent, but that in the outdoor buffet was only so-so. Service varied from friendly to hopeless. Our room was in the old-fashioned bungalows, and whilst spacious, they really need to be brought up to date. The location is still unrivalled in Kolkata, but unless you play golf or bridge, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    51
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
22
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The location and greenery anound gives it different charm!. For those who have not been to Kolkota- well this is supposed to be top most club in Kolkota and boasts off a lovely golf course. The course fee is quite reasonable. As this a exclusive club: one can book stay with the help of an existing member and in some cases, outsiders are also allowed to stay.
The club is more than 100 year old and and you can see quite " Raj " kind of regal ambiance.
Sadly, the service is apalling... the waiters will do what is bare minimum required. Orders take more than 45 minutes to come. Good part: The prices at which food and liquer is serrved is shockingly low!
Room size: Though I did not stay, but did look at the rooms and rooms are quite large with high ceilings (Cottage type). Rooms are reasonaby well mainainted ( this is an old structure).
I think this can become a great place if rooms are improved a bit more ( make more modern.. ) and the club needs to improve SERVICE for Sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank askmore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Dont be put off by the reception area (fluorescent strips, and carbon paper!!!) - the rooms we had had been modernised and were very clean, and stylish, with good bathrooms. We had been travelling effectively for 24 hours and after the chaos of Kolkata airport and traffic at rush hour, the Tollygunge is just what you need. Effectively you are staying in a private club for wealthy Kolkattans who come here to play golf, ride, exercise and hold social events such as weddings and corporate parties, or just chill out in the bar areas - and this gives you a glimpse of Indian life you wouldn't otherwise get, so relax and enjoy. The outdoor pool was great, the staff were friendly, the evening meals were delicious and very cheap and there's an upmarket mini-supermarket on site where you can satisfy your Western chocolate cravings if you need to!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jaipurjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

the Tollygunge Club is quite lovely and charming, in a slightly tatty, days-of-the-Raj sort of way, but out-of-town visitors, especially first-timers, should be aware that the place is effectively closed on Mondays. they will happily rent you a room, but do not expect to be able to use any of the amenities which they advertise, and which constitute the Club's main draw. pool, fitness center, bar -- virtually everything that would prompt anyone to stay there -- are locked up tight for the day.

You might think the Club would make a point of informing guests, especially first-time visitors, of this fact ahead of time, but you'd be wrong. The guy I dealt with, multiple times, prior to arrival, knew I only had the one day there, but never bothered to mention it. Imagine my surprise.

My only explanation is that the place is a private club doing a little perfunctory side business as a hotel. in this latter capacity, management is willing to tolerate, and make a little extra money from, non-members like myself, but beyond that, largely indifferent to our experience there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skinny1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

You need to know a member of the club to book one of the rooms. We stayed here as a family of 5 as a base to visit family etc. We were a bit wary after reading some of the other trip advisor reviews - some were complimentary, others not so! (this review is a positive one)

Our room was large and air conditioned (cottage style ground floor room - though i understand hotel style rooms are available too in a separate block and on other floors) We had a large double bed and 2 single beds in the same room. Double was very big and fit 2 adults and our 4 yr old. Showers and toilets were good. There was also a lounge area at the front separated from the bedroom so we could read/have a beer when the kids were asleep. There was a TV in the main room. Complementary daily newspaper (Times of India or Telegraph)

There are at least 2 restaurants on site and 3 bars. Breakfast was included for 4 of us in one of the restaurants. This was optional cereal (choice of 2) and freshly cooked omlette daily, with other courses varying from spicy sausages one day to Indian breakfast the next. We occasionally had to raid other tables for cutlery. We paid about £50 a night for the room (for all of us)

The complex boasts an indoor heated pool with diving boards and also a large secluded outdoor pool/ toddler area. Changing rooms clean and well equipped with showers, towels etc. Air conditioned gym looked good (from the outside - i didnt go in!). There is a great golf course and driving range with coaching if needed (collared top needed). Prices for a round are comparable to municipal prices in the UK. Excellent squash courts (5) and tennis courts (3 hard court and 3 clay i think). Horse riding facilities too though we didnt have time to book this for the kids.

Onsite golf shop (well known golf makes at UK prices) and separate convenience store for food etc (cheap)

We went to 2 of the 3 bars (One didnt allow kids inside but had a cool covered seating area outside with good childrens play area). The other was next to this and again was a fantastic large covered area overlooking the golf course - alcohol prices cheap! (the bars also allow take outs to your room) The club's members mingle freely with guests and we got to mix with a lot of Kolkata's young professionals and old guard. There was a wedding on 1 night and a fashion show on our last night with party after. The music went off promptly at 11 pm and they didnt seem to mind us joining them for the disco!

The numerous staff were friendly and eager to please. Reception staff were helpful (organised taxis and connected local phone calls when direct dial wasnt working for us) We were given free bottled water daily when the room was cleaned (and perhaps overcautiosly treated this with a portable UV steriliser) Laundry facilities were cheap and efficient. We tipped the 2 cleaners and the laundry man on the last night (the hotel info suggests this isnt required) but at £2 per person the tip didnt cause too much hardship.

Although other guests and members drank the tea/ coffee at breakfast we were a bit wary and drank bottled water only and brushed our teeth with this water. We remained well through the holiday.

One final point to make is that there are about 12 or so 'club' dogs on site (the owner is a dog lover!) They are well looked after and have been vaccinated and deflead. They tend to lie around asleep during the day and dont cause any trouble (2 of my kids are frightened of dogs and they werent remotely bothered by these ones) The staff tell me that they are used to deter the jackals which are active around the outskirts of the golfcourse late at night.

All in all a great experience (take mosquito repellant for the evenings spent at the outside bar areas) Air conditioned bedrooms are mosquito free if doors/ windows are kept shut.

We would definitely go back here again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Reggiereggiereggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I agree wholeheartedly with Chantman (21 sept 2011). The service is appalling. Totally uninterested in serving anyone but a tip works wonders. They have 109 acres of prime land in Kolkata and it could be a fabulous place to stay in. We have stayed at the Gymkhana Club in New Delhi and it is run by charming, service oriented and efficient people. Had to tip all the waiters who served us at the Tollygunge. There would be about 15 members of staff at Wills Restaurant hanging around not doing anything. After tipping them we had about three people falling over themselves trying to serve us. The laundryman would not leave the clothes in the room as asked to. He waited to hand them to us personally so that he would get a tip. When we went to pay our final bill by credit card at Reception they pointed to the space left for gratuities and then said they wanted it in cash. Left a very bad taste in the mouth. We have visited India over 8 times but this has been one of the worst experiences in a hotel/club. Couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank painter2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We had a comfortable, spacious "cottage" room, with sitting area, bedroom & ensuite overlooking 18th green! Clean though quite basic/dated fittings but cheap! Ideal to relax away from the hectic city streets. Friendly staff & choice of restaurants. Lovely to swim - 2 pools to choose from. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishbournefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
5.6 km away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#25 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
239 reviews
8.1 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,452 reviews
7.4 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Treebo Globe International
Treebo Globe International
#37 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
87 reviews
6.3 km away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#188 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
24 reviews
4.8 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollygunge Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollygunge Club

Property: Tollygunge Club
Address: 120 Deshapran Sasmal Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 033, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Tollygunge Club Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Tollygunge Club India/Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing