We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
125
47
12
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
47
12
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbengali cuisinedak bungalowoil lampsrestoration workdinner spreadheritage resortbygone eramain buildingcultural programmeroyal suitedhokar dalnalive singingoverlooking the pondblack and white photoslocal ladiesadjoining areafull occupancy
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 197 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Rajbari Bawali ....The two hundred year old bagan bari (garden house) is a jewel of a place. Ajay Rawla has lovingly restored Rajbari Bawali to its former glory (and possibly more) with great attention to detail.
Disregard the 60 minute drive from the city. This is a great place to unwind for two days and is also a lovely setting for small functions. The rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished. And the staff were very attentive. The spa is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 800rinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrinalinee M, Resident Director at The Rajbari Bawali, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

True, what you have experienced at The Rajbari Bawali is the result of the painstaking efforts of our Chairman
Mr. Ajay Rawla who not only conceived and designed the restoration of this gorgeous property but works closely
with the operations team to ensure every guest experience is unique!

Do connect with us and we will be glad to design an even more interesting itinerary, crafted especially for you!

We look forward to your return with friends and family.

Regards,
For The Rajbari Bawali
Mrinalinee
Resident Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

The Rajbari Bawali was on our wishlist for about a year. We were two families and had booked the Dak Bungalow. The Dak Bungalow is a bit away from the main building and while the building is flawless, the approach needs to be improved. The whole experience of staying at The Rajbari was exquisite. We were served very authentic Bengali food and I would suggest sticking to bengali cuisine. The staff is very courteous and go out of the way to make your stay pleasant. The whole place takes on a different look after dusk, when the lights are turned on. The swimming pool is very well maintained and is secluded enough. Kudos to Mrinaline and her mother, who look after the property and the guests.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Warri0r2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrinalinee M, Resident Director at The Rajbari Bawali, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

What you have experienced at The Rajbari Bawali is the result of the endeavours of our Chairman, Mr. Ajay Rawla who
has not only designed the restoration of this gorgeous property but also works closely with the operations team to ensure
every guest experience is unique.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return with friends and family.

Do contact us and we will be happy to craft an even more interesting itinerary especially for you.

Regards,
For The Rajbari Bawali
Mrinalinee
Resident Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Our first time there and we loved every minute of our stay. Right from our welcome at the entrance with conch and flowers we were welcomed with warm smiles and staff who were very friendly. They made our stay very comfortable.
The rooms are very comfortable and the copper tub we had in our bathroom was lovely.
Food was delicious and our 4 year old daughter loved running in the open spaces, watching the ducks and geese and playing in the play area.
Overall I would highly recommend it. It's just 1.15 minutes from kolkata.
Suggestion, try booking on weekdays if it permits for added serenity

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Spandana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrinalinee M, Resident Director at The Rajbari Bawali, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Dear Spandana,

We are so glad that you & for family loved your staycation at The Rajbari Bawali.

Do come back with friends and family and we will design an even more interesting itinerary especially for you.

We await your return.

Regards,
For The Rajbari Bawali
Mrinalinee
Resident Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

The rajbari is very well maintained and the interiors are very attractive.. services and the behaviors of the attendants are very good.. foods are delicious.. In the evening the place is like a heaven with its lamp decoration...a must visit place

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Priyankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrinalinee M, Resident Director at The Rajbari Bawali, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Dear Priyankur,

Your experience at The Rajbari is the result of the painstaking efforts of our Chairman, Mr. Ajay Rawla in not just designing the
very complicated restoration of this gorgeous property, but also his involvement in the operations which ensure unique guest
experiences.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Do come back with friends and family and we will design exclusive itineraries for you which will make your stay even more
interesting.

Regards,
For The Rajbari Bawali
Mrinalinee
Resident Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

The architecture and ambience is brilliant, a fantastic retreat, food is decent and the persons attending at the restaurant and buffets endeavour much within their limited skills to cater to the needs of the guests, the evening get together and arati rituals are quite an attraction, the rooms are clean and supplied with decent toiletries, Mr Subhrangshu Mitra extends a much needed personal attention, the staffs are otherwise decent and well trained but for occasional coordination failure, the amateurish approach of few staffs are vivid, Mr Gaurav Majhi who happens to be the front man of the staff displayed extremely unprofessional behaviour at different levels, we were allotted a room by him with holes on the door and other issues adding to it, on requesting him to change the same he acted evasive and steadily declined to act in a manner that is expected from the hospitality service of a premium range, in the evening the situation was salvaged by much needed intervention of Mr Subhrangshu who promptly acted to give us a room where we were comfortable. Mr Gaurab further came about with discrepancies in the bill during checkout. I bought meals for my chauffeur at Rs 350/- per meal where he was barely offered rice/chapati, daal and two pieces of chicken.
However the stay was a feel good especially the early mornings and evenings are a take back of the trip, if the shortcomings as stated above are taken care of the property retains brilliant possibilities.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrinalinee M, Resident Director at The Rajbari Bawali, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

This is the first year of commercial operations at The Rajbari Bawali, and we look forward to your return this summer
to experience the improvements we have done to enhance the guest experience. We always study critical reviews as yours
very closely to use it as a leverage for improement.

Do come back with friend and family and we will try making your stay memorable.

We await your return.

Regards,
For The Rajbari Bawali
Mrinalinee
Resident Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews