We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mar Hotel Conventions
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Recife
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not very fancy”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel at a business trip, and I can only say that this is one of the many hotels in Brazil that claim to be top of the range, but are actually not even good standard (maybe it was 30 years ago). You find them in Recife, but also in Brasília, a few of them in Rio.

The rooms are actually not shabby, but very old-fashioned. You find the good old shower curtain in the bathroom, besides the telephone next to the toilet and the installed cheap standard hotel plastic hairdryer that no western premium hotel would leave installed nowadays. The bathroom has an open sink underneath the wash basin that disseminates an off odour.

And last but not least, at least in my room there was the typical old-fashioned door to the neighbor room. Although there are actually two doors and your neighbor would have a hard time to open the door to your room, I did not very much like the doors and the fact that at least my door was not looked. They should lock it and only open it upon request.

Not recommended at the rate they normally charge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    809
    260
    59
    24
See reviews for
458
272
92
639
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2010

My husband and I went to Mar Hotel for our honeymoon. Actually, I also got ready for my wedding in the suite, which was spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. The bathroom looked like it had been renovated recently and the shower was excellent!

The pool was really big and it had an amazing waterfall, which made it 5-stars!!! We spent only a couple of days at the hotel, which wasn't enough to take full advantage of all it has to offer (i.e. we didn't use the gym, didn't dine at the hotel's restaurant (food looked great) or shopped at the shops by the reception). The staff was helpful, efficient and pleasant.

Breakfast is included. There is a huge variety but it wasn't overly tasty, which was the only let-down of our stay.

Definetely recommend this one. But try to book on-line as you can find great bargains! Our stay ended up costing us only US$100 a night, which was a lot cheaper than some other rates for the hotel I have seen advertised!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Discoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
João Pessoa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

I've been to Mar Hotel for the 4th time last week. What i saw is a decadent "once a 5-stars" hotel, now not worth a 3 stars.

Old furniture, old TVs, dirty bathtubs, service OK, breakfast OK.

It has aged like Recife, today a unsafe, violent city, which i DO NOT recommend.

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — almost everything, old furniture, old TV, my outside view was a old buiding wall
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanpereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

I stayed in the Mar Hotel for a conference for 3 days in July 2008. It charged like a 5 star hotel, but the facilities were hardly up to the standard.

First, I reached there on a Sunday night at 9:30pm and found that they had no restaurants open. My only choice was to either order the overpriced room service or to go out (I went out -- there is a pretty nice Chinese place within 5minutes).

Secondly, the internet connection is terrible. They claim to have "High-Speed" internet, but the connection is worse than dialup. My room wasn't the exception, everyone at the conference was complaining about the internet connection. If that is important to you to conduct business, be very careful.

The location isn't that great either. Its not bad, it seemed safe, but it still a good 5 minutes walk to the beach. On the positive side, it is very close to the airport and takes only 10minutes from the airport.

The rooms are average. The floor in the bathroom wasn't very clean -- if you walk around barefoot your feet will pick up dirt and some basics such as ironing board and iron weren't available.

On a positive note, the front desk was friendly and efficient and there is a tourist agency in the hotel that can supply you with maps and they also organize city tours. The breakfast is plentiful.

  • Liked — proximity to airport
  • Disliked — terribly slow and unreliable internet connection
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank byomkesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2006

I stayed there more than four times since 2002, after staying at Atlante Plaza for the first time in Pernambuco's capital city. And I do intend to stay there again every time I visit Recife.

There's nothing I could complain about this hotel - everything is just great! The rooms, the swimming pools, the restaurants, the staff, even the location - very close to the airport.

But there's one thing that made me love this hotel forever: the breakfast. Celestial food!

I enthusiastically recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The great breakfast
  • Disliked — The gym was kind of abandoned but it seems they fixed it up
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay attention to the neighborhood - although good district, thefts are frequent
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Boizir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Recife hotels
Boa Viagem
Hotel Atlante Plaza
Hotel Atlante Plaza
#6 of 55 in Recife
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Recife
#5 of 55 in Recife
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hotel Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hotel Conventions

Property: Mar Hotel Conventions
Address: Rua Barao de Souza Leao 451, Recife, State of Pernambuco 51030-300, Brazil (Formerly Mercure Recife Mar Hotel Conventions)
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife > Boa Viagem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Recife
#2 Green Hotel in Recife
#4 Business Hotel in Recife
#4 Romantic Hotel in Recife
#7 Family Hotel in Recife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Hotel Conventions 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mar Hotel Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hotel Boa Viagem
Mar Hotel Conventions Recife, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing