We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
114
68
44
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
68
44
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olkhon island lake baikal breakfast and dinner crepes three nights worth the money each evening tasty food nikita meals irkutsk accommodation tours village rock atmosphere khuzhir
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 260 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Olkhon is very beautiful and Nikita's is an interesting place to stay. It is a compound of eclectic wooden buildings. Each room has a unique character. The staff are friendly and some absolutely lovely and very helpful

It is also possible to arrange day trips all around the island.

Unfortunately, the food served was a letdown. It was bland and uninteresting and there were hardly any vegetables available. Yes, just as all the other food, they need to be brought in from mainland but considering the abundance of fresh produce in Irkutsk and the constant flow of jeeps to mainland and back this shouldn't be such a problem.

Our main criticism is aimed at strange system of access to showers/bathrooms. When we stayed there was only one room available with 'private' bathroom. The bathroom actually wasn't private since we shared it with other people in a room next to us. This itself wouldn't be a problem but apparently since we had a 'private' bathroom we were not entitled to use the banya. Unless we paid extra of course. So we ended up paying more for a room with private bathroom that wasn't private and would have to pay even more if we wanted to warm up in a banya. Nikita's should seriously reconsider this strange policy. Or at least make it clear from the start.

Room Tip: If you want to use banya, go for a room with 'shared' bathroom.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2014

There was only a cople of guests among us, so the place was yeat really quiet. We wanted to take a jeep trip to north part of island, but unfortainly it didn't work out, cos there was no other people to go there with us :(

Guesthouses was really cozy, nice and clean. Food was really good and portions was really huge. People warned me beforehand that vegetarian food will be poor, but it wasn't. Vegetarian food was delicious and quite versatile.

Staff there was really really friendly and helpful. The whole homestead was really amazing and unique. I would sincerely recommend Nikita's place to anybody! Someday I'll defenitely go back to Olkhon Island, and I'll defenitely stay at Nikita's place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayla_Parvati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were 4 friends form Slovakia travelling through Siberia (we also visit Altai mountains and part of Siberia) and we were very satisfied with the stay in Olkhon in Nikita´s Homestead. The stuff was friendly, we met here a lot of interesting and great people and find some new friends. We met people from all over the world and I think that everybody felt that Olkhon and this place is very special. Nikita´s Homestead is well equipped, meals were very good also.
Location is absolutely amazing, just few steps from Shamanka rock. Many great trips are available, possible to book in Nikita´s. We did boat trips and combined trips, we were lucky and saw also Baikal’s seals. We had very nice guide from Nikita who told us many interesting stories about Buryats and their legends. Nature and atmosphere there is absolutely incredible, you can really feel it is a mystic place. For sure it is more than worthy to travel there :)

Room Tip: do your booking very in advance :)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamifromBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We are three families from China and spent three desirable nights in Nikita's Homestead.
Very few local people speaking English bring us difficulty to travel in Irkutsk city and Olkhon island by ourselves, but the managers in Nikita will solve all problems you have.
They provide three meals per day which was included in the room fees, so you do not have to seek restaurants everyday. Most dishes are tasty.
Diversified excursions was also offered with reasonable prices. During our stay, the manager guide us in the south part excursion by himself. There are some water activities in summer.
All rooms are wooden made and very cozy. The only thing you should notice is that whether the room is warm enough.
The owner and manager in Nikita are all very friendly and warmhearted. My wife caught a cough that time. The manager bought lemons and medicines for us, and give us advice.
Nikita's Homestead locates a best place on Olkhon island. I am a photographer, it was very convenient for me to take only three minutes to get to Burkhan Cape, which is the best place to take photo on the island.
Besides, you can meet many people here from different countries, sharing different travelling experiences.
In summary, I have no pity here, except the disappointing whether. Maybe this is the only thing that Nikita's Homestead can not guarantee.
I will recommend this hotel to my friends, and I will be back in the future.

Room Tip: If you plan to visit here in summer. please book the rooms early. Summer is the peak time on Olkhon island.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wenjun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2014

With their English speaking staff and professional website it's hard to avoid Nikita's when travelling to Olkhon although it might not be the best choice. There are a lot of tour groups so it lacks the individual atmosphere it may have had before. The staff doesn't bother too much to be friendly and the full board-meals are bold.
But the rooms are nice and it's the easiest place to stay in Olkhon. But you might want to minimize your time there and go hiking with a tent or get yourself one of the many houses that are offered for rent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treppensteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews