We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plantation East”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Shores Plantation
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Lindsborg, Kansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Plantation East”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I should have written this review sooner, we stayed here in September 2011 and I forgot all about reviewing until today! Well, there is good and bad when you stay at the Plantation. I think a LOT depends on what unit you get. We used a rental website where owners list their condos for rent (don't know if I am allowed to say the website in a review?) and were very careful to choose a rental that had lots of good reviews. Our unit was clean, updated and reasonable. The owner was very easy to work with. We were in the first Plantation East building. There are pretty good kind of side views of the gulf from balconies in this building. There is also a pretty good walk down to the beach. Not really very far, just a few minutes, but we were midway in the building and had to cross part of parking lot, then pass by outdoor pool, get onto the boardwalk and trek on down. This felt like forever when we were toting beach chairs and such. The beach was very uncrowded and we enjoyed that. We did not use the outdoor pools of this resort. The indoor pool complex could use some cleaning and updating. A small arcade within the indoor pool unit sucked down my son's money without letting him play games. Nobody around to complain to or get a refund. The hot tub was good sized, but had some big nasty dirty spots hovering in the water for several days until we scooped them out. We used the indoor pool four nights and the whole time we were there, there was a dirty red solo cup sitting near the hot tub. This was never moved. We stayed six nights and for the first three, the washer and dryer on our floor were out of order. This was fixed before we left. The elevator seemed really kind of old, groaning and scary, but it got us to the third floor every time! LOL. You have to pass thru a small security gate to get onto the Plantation and the security guys were always friendly and helpful. There is supposedly a small coffee shop on site, but this was closed for the winter, I guess, and we did not have that info until we walked over only to find a sign on the door. We did enjoy the solitude of staying out on Fort Morgan, but it is quite a ways out from Gulf Shores. I would recommend going to WalMart in Gulf Shores for groceries and stocking up. There is a newer looking Dollar General about half way down Fort Morgan Road toward the Plantation that is very well stocked as well. If you have people in your group who want to be close to all the action, this resort may not be for you because the drive into town and back can be very time consuming. The part we stayed in, Plantation East, is definitely not a high falutin' place, so if you are looking for luxury, this end of the Plantation might not be for you, and as I said, so much depends on the unit you rent, I think, which can make the difference between a good and a not so good stay. We did enjoy our stay here, overall -- we were on the beach! :)

Room Tip: If you use a website with owner listing their units, look around carefully and choose rental that ha...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank pixiekansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    116
    43
    32
    17
See reviews for
197
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We had a nice stay in unit 5004 in Sept. 5 adults 2 small kids and had plenty of room for about 5 days. Not a brand new unit but nice. Close to the terrific pools and on the ground floor. Nice kitchen with newer appliances made dinner easy. Short walk to a really nice beach. Price made me feel like I got a lot for the money. Tvs in every room. The weather was perfect.

Room Tip: Cafe located at the end of the building you may not want a room right next to it. I used Island Drea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank normalfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were told we had a washer/dryer in our condo which we found out this was not true. There are several coin operated spread throughout the resort. Our condo (#3103) was musty and mildew was on the vents and widow blinds. The ones that were not broken. The back sliding door lock was broken but was "jerry rigged" to work. The furniture was very out dated along with the kitchen. But the frig was new. The bed was hard as a rock the floor was not clean. The bathroom was okay but small. We had to buy candles to make the room standable. We had pieces of trim laying in corners not sure where they went. We did see other condo's and they seemed much nicer than ours. The resort was quiet and family friendly. There were some boys smoking in the pool , which is no smoking, and security resolved that problem quickly. It is a very safe and quiet area. They have nice pools and beachfront. The beaches were not over crowded especially if you walked away from the boardwalk 75 yards. Most people walk straight out and stop. It is short drive to town but fuel cost adds up if you go to town every night like we did.

Overall they condo was standable but nicers ones are there. And they have some kind of rodent problem as we could hear them doing laundry one night (in the drop ceiling) in the interior access condos.

Room Tip: You can find better elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beach-Roamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North MS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Had a wonderful experience at Gulf Shores Plantation last week. Loved that it was away from the crowds in Gulf Shores. Plenty of Pools, never overcrowded! More than pleased with our room (room 1165 Plantation West), very clean, quiet at night and not a bad walk to the beach. Loved that they had the towel/sheet exchange! Stayed with my husband and 2 children ages 9 and 4! Just a great little get away overall! Would definately recomend~

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthMSBeachbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We found this place on the Internet. Decided to go with it because the aminities and the cost. We were not dissappointed when we arrived so much to do here you don't even have to leave!!! Loved the private beach and pools...our kids had a blast!!!! We plan on returning every summer. Don't know what anyone found to complain about because this place is great especially considering the low price!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachbumsfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Dirty inside and out. Garbage as you walk down to the beach. Carpet in hallways coming up off the plywood making it a tripping hazard. NO cable as promised. Holes in the towels, linens old and scary looking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank NEandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

First night-- Noise. Security called twice, finally at 12:30am settled down.
Second night -- GREAT!
Third night-- power outage at midnight, at 3:00am Fire alarm went off. No security. Stood outside 30 minutes no fire trucks, nothing. Give up and head back to bed. (found out someone was smoking in the lobby). At 5:45am Fire alarm goes off again, this time we called security--- false alarm but fire department is on its way.
Forth night-- Called security about noise three times, settled down about 1:30am. Great-need sleep after the night before--- Fire alarm goes off again @ 5:00am!!! Security has no idea why.
Talked to the folks at the office --- Oh, there is nothing we can do-- we only rent the units. (!!!!)

This is a beautiful resort. Not the first time we have been there. We will NOT be back.

Room Tip: Internet was not working either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMvacation2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
19.8 km away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
19.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
15.1 km away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
21.4 km away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
21.2 km away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Shores Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Shores Plantation

Property: Gulf Shores Plantation
Address: 805 Plantation Rd, PO Box 1056, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-3244
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#7 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mild temperatures, gentle breezes and the South's most spectacular sunrises and sunsets make Gulf Shores Plantation a destination for all seasons. Located on Fort Morgan Peninsula and featuring thousands of feet of uncrowded beach, the Plantation offers accommodations that include studio to 3-bedroom condos and 3-to-5-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Shores Plantation Hotel Gulf Shores
Plantation Gulf Shores
Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing