We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit worn, but quiet and comfy...great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradise Isle Resort
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Reviewed 7 November 2010

To be honest, when we first walked into our 2 bedroom condo, we were disappointed. You can tell this resort has been thru some tough times with hurricanes and lots of rain damage. The ceilings were stained and it smelled musty.

After one night, we were pleasantly surprised at how comfy and quiet it was there. Even though it's not top notch to comparable high rise resorts, it has it's own charm with a rustic personality.

The beds were comfy, the shower was great! It could use a little updating and a little more personal touch. The kitchen was very old, but we had everything we needed.

Nothing overly fancy, but it met our needs.

The beach is right across the street and located in the heart of wonderful seafood restaurants and shops. Try not to miss Steamer's Restaurant! The lunch menu was spectacular and cheap!

Don't be afraid to visit this area because of the oil spill. It's all cleaned up and the beaches and ocean were beautiful!

The pool is not heated, but the hot tub was wonderful!

Paradise Ilse is a diamond in the rough.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tappenfeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Isle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2009

I have stayed at Paradise Isle Resort twice this year, once in May and once in July. Both times were a very good experience. It is convenient to shopping, attractions, restaurants and of course, the beach. Even though the beach is across the street it is a close walk. The light to walk across to the walkway to the beach is at the corner of the property. At the end of walkway to the beach are public restrooms and showers. We had a canbana set up on the beach, left it all day with our beach bags inside and no one bothered our things even though we left it there for several hours to run back to the resort for lunch and let the children take a nap. The resort was very clean, comfortable and the one time I had to call maintenance, the maintenance man was prompt and handled our problem. The pool is very nice. the resort is within walking distrance of a convenience store, gift shops and restaurants. Other tenants at the resort were very friendly. Both of my stays have been wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steellady48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

It's not the nicest place I've ever stayed at, but the price was good and it is close to the beach. Don't get me wrong, it's definately not a dump but there are a few things that could be done better. There is only a knob on the door with no other locks or door stops and I would have liked that for security. Our toilet seat was cracked, not a big deal untill it pinches your hind end. If you are planning on using the fold out bed for anything but a sofa you'll want an air matress on it, but that's the norm. There were plenty extra blankets, sheets and pillows. The pool was nice as was the hot tub and neither were buisy although they were at full capacity. The room was clean and other than the toilet seat, well maintained.

If you want a full service hotel this is not for you. But if you want a relatively inexpensive place to go where you can take your own food to cook and be close to the beach this is it. This was just a little more than the hotel room next door that we got two years ago and a lot more convienent.

We will try to stay there the next time we go down to Gulf Shores.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bandmasterjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

This was our first time staying at this resort and visiting Gulf Shores. We had a very enjoyable trip and this resort is very nice. It is close to everything including the beach right across the street. The pool is very nice and has a hot tub as well. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank TopperFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Georgia
116
Reviewed 30 June 2006

We have stayed at the Paradise Isle Resort , located on West Beach Blvd., In Gulf Shores, Alabama many times. Our experience has always been one to remember. Since the major hurricanes in the past two years, Paradise Isle Resort has come back better than ever. The new pool and jacuzzi are excellent. New grills were installed as well as picnic tables. The laundry facilities are free, except, of course , for your detergent. They have cable in every unit. The kids loved it. Paradise Isle Resort is also located across the street from a public access beach where they have built a new pavillion with showers and bathrooms.
Access to alot of excellent eating establishments, stores and some children activities are well within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2005

I want to set the record straight. The previous review was about Paradise Hotel that has been bought by La Quinta AND NOT ABOUT Paradise Isle Resort. I am sure the person that wrote the review made an honest mistake because we get many calls for them. La Quinta is located on Ft Morgan Road and Paradise Isle Resort is located on West Beach Blvd. We are a condominium complex consisting of 34 units and not a hotel. Thank you for reading this correction.

Stayed: September 2005
24  Thank Mitzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2004

We have stayed at this hotel on atleast 3 previous occasions prior to our 11/2004 visit and remarked how well kept it was, however I think the family that originally owned this hotel moved on as there was a sign "LaQuinta" at the front desk. "La Quit-a" should be the name.

The hotel has definitely deteriorated in all aspects related to hotel management. While much of this area was devastated by Hurricane Ivan, this hotel survived intact. We visited during November 2004 and only a few of the utility crews were continuing to be housed here. While you can expect there was some wear and tear housing the work crews during the restoration period, cleaning products will continue to work if you just use them. I also know that the utility companies paid this hotel premium prices to host these crews and they experienced an increase in revenues rather than a loss as many businesses did.

The front desk personnel were really quite rude from the moment we arrived. We were first assigned a handicapped room. When we questioned this, the desk clerk advised my husband that I had specifically requested that room. Uh-no, why would I do that when (1) thankfully I am not handicapped, and (2) I had requested two double beds as our two daughters were initially going to travel with us. The shower stall was so filthy that I requested we be moved. We were moved but it certainly couldn't be called an improvement. The second room had a queen, not two doubles, nor a king size bed... it also had this horrible faded couch that had cigarette burns that resulted in the stuffing showing - UGH>

We knew it would only be for 2 nights and there was a room shortage, so just laughed it off as bad luck. We asked for additional pillows as the ones provided were flat and there were only 2. We actually went to a local store and bought our own when they said that was all we could have. We also asked for additional towels and were told they were out. One towel/one washcloth and a threatening sign to say you would be charged if they disappeared.

We went out early the next morning and returned in the afternoon only to find the room not cleaned, no fresh towels, etc. We left and returned at 6PM and were told the housekeepers weren't finished cleaning yet as our room had not been touched. We returned at 10PM and found our ration of towels had been replaced, but the garbage had not been removed, nor was the bed made. Oh, COME ON - they only had about 40 rooms and at $80/night I expect my bed to be made.

Within the three years this little hotel was opened they managed to change it from a really nice "Hampton Inn type hotel" to just another beach slum type hotel. It even had a continental breakfast, but when I saw the desk clerk tear open the packages of coffee with her teeth and pour it into the coffee maker for guest use- I decided that was the last straw.

  • Stayed: January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
51  Thank Roux2USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulf Shores hotels
1.6 km away
Best Western On The Beach
Best Western On The Beach
#2 of 25 in Gulf Shores
1,197 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
7.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 25 in Gulf Shores
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 25 in Gulf Shores
241 reviews
5.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
3.0 km away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 25 in Gulf Shores
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Isle Resort

Address: 620 West Beach Boulevard, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range: $107 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paradise Isle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across the road from the public access to the beach. Great location. Our buildings are on pilings so there are a few steps to climb. We offer a towel exchange on Wednesday and also have a coin op laundry room. We are not a high-rise or a huge complex, more of a quaint "old Florida" kind of place! Great place for families as we have full kitchens in case you want to save some money and eat in. Our pool is huge and in the middle of the complex with our hot tub. Bahama Bob's is across the street and we are within walking distance to The Hangout and other businesses. Paradise Isle received the RCI Hospitality award for 2014,2015,2016,2017. We are under new management as of 02/2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Isle Hotel Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing