We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Entertainment Complex”
Review of Von Braun Center

Von Braun Center
Ranked #9 of 57 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2018

This venue is a series of spaces - a theatre, hockey arena, convention center, and is centrally located, easy to find in Huntsville. We went to the Probst Arena for an ice hockey game, and every seat was excellent. We were in the official second tier, in Section 221. Wow! It was only a few rows back from the action, and right in the middle of the field of play. Easy check in. Lots of food, lots of drink vendors, clean bathrooms. What more could you ask for?

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank happy_in_paris_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"south hall"
in 18 reviews
"concert hall"
in 14 reviews
"nice venue"
in 7 reviews
"hockey game"
in 6 reviews
"trade show"
in 4 reviews
"embassy suites"
in 7 reviews
"excellent facility"
in 4 reviews
"handicap parking"
in 3 reviews
"large event"
in 3 reviews
"civic center"
in 3 reviews
"high school"
in 4 reviews
"special events"
in 3 reviews
"love this place"
in 3 reviews
"vbc"
in 34 reviews
"convention"
in 19 reviews
"havoc"
in 15 reviews
"acoustics"
in 10 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 249 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

First visit to this venue. I was very impressed with the layout and the cleanliness of the building. We we're at there for a hockey game and enjoyed the game food vendors especially the taco stand.
Parking was very easy and across the street for only $5.00

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank STEVEN s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018 via mobile

The VBC playhouse is a nice intimate setting for various presentations. We’ve attended plays and ballets and now an opera here. This particular show was enjoyable and the children were quite precious.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank cindyannsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

This is an updated review. Previous reviews I have it 5 stars, but recent changes have really put a damper on going there.
I do not know if it is under new management or what, but they are putting in new security procedures that maybe in theory are ok, but in practice they stink. At the arena there is ample room indoors for folks to stand In line to get in without disrupting anything and it has worked well in the past. Now to get into a sporting event they make you stand outside. The past few weeks temps have been in singe digits or low teens, but with wind chill feel like temps have been well below zero, yet they make you stand outside without regards to weather. I feel it is irresponsible to force singers and small children wait outside in line so freezing temperatures. Also It also is anyone’s guess if they will open disabled Entrance for season tickets holders. I have sent e mails and left phone messages without any response. To me it is clear that they do not put a high priority on customer satisfaction. Once you get into the arena security and ushers Are outstanding, and the hockey is fantastic, but management has taken some of the fun out of going to a hockey game.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank flyenPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018

The VBC itself is a pretty nice civic center. The concert hall, arena and meeting areas are all pretty decent. Where their problem lies is the parking nightmare that happens when they have multiple events scheduled. The 2 garages appear to have one entrance each so when cars back up if you are on the wrong side of the road you are not getting in! If I go for X-mas events I try to just book a room at the Embassy so I can just walk across the sky bridge.
Also if you end up having to park across the street or at North Hall and have an even at South Hall it is a pretty good hike.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Speedracer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Von Braun Center also viewed

 

Been to Von Braun Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing