We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay amidst Goan Culture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Presa di Goa Country House
Ranked #18 of 238 Bardez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were five families who were traveling together and stayed here for 4 nights. We were given 5 executive deluxe room. All of them carried a different feel and experience.

The rooms with Mezzanine floor having separate bed comes with second AC. All the rooms are in heritage goan culture using lot of wood furniture. The beds were comfortable and rooms had split AC for soundless cooling.

The property is slightly off the main area but we wanted a place that was quite and peaceful. The property offers ample greenery.

The toilets although very clean, lacked exhaust. That was really strange as there was room to put exhaust fans. Tea coffee maker was provided to us in all five rooms.

The breakfast, although not elaborate, served the purpose. In fact they were very accommodating in providing the breakfast as per our choices. We tried two dinner at their place and both were very delicious. Their fish curry and Veg Vindalhoo is must try.

Their owner Eduard was very supportive and is a love-able person. He ensures that your stay is comfortable.

Room Tip: Try the rooms on the new wing i.e Daisy/ Dahlia/ Daffodil etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pathfynder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
826Presadigoa, Owner at Presa di Goa Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for your most explicit and encouraging comments. It has been the first time for us to accommodate a "group" and we are pleased to read that we have been able to meet up to the requirements of so many at the same time. We shall give particular consideration to your recommendation to install exhaust fans into our existing Bathroom windows, as soon as feasible. We really enjoyed your visit to Presa di Goa. Edouard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Presa di Goa. Our room upstairs (Lotus) was a touch small, but it was cozy and peaceful. The food is good, and the pool is wonderfully refreshing after a hot day. My only complaint is that there are no mosquito screens on the small bathroom window or on the balcony doors, and no mosquito net on the bed. The outside air at night was cool and refreshing, but since we had to sleep with windows and balcony doors closed, the room got stuffy, so we had to use the air conditioning, which I'm not a huge fan of. Nonetheless, we would definitely stay here again, and perhaps just travel with our own mosquito net so we can enjoy the fresh air.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the room upstairs at the end of the hallway on the left. It was a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tang_Dunand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
826Presadigoa, Owner at Presa di Goa Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your comments.The room you reserved and occupied is a "single deluxeroom" for one person.Had you told us you would be two at time of reservation, we would have recommended a larger room for You.
Re Mosquitos, when You want to sleep with open door, all you have to do is switch on the Mosquito tablet as well as the ceiling fan, which then spreads the anti mosquito odor throughout the room and no Mosquito would ever dare entering the room.Thank you for the tip however for the bathroom window.it will be done.
We were very pleased to have You here for the wedding. Greetings from Goa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

we went there on a long weekend in feb from mumbai. On arrival, the hotel allowed us early check in as the room was empty the night before. The hotel is in a very quiet neighbourhood, away from the noise of baga / calangute. Staff is very courteous. Service is not always very prompt, but that is I guess part of Goa's laid back culture - adds to the charm. The room was just out of the world with its quaint old world decor. wooden floors, antique furniture, dim lighting, a wooden staircase and an attic within the room with a childrens bed (which we had no use of tho). No tub in th bathroom though :(
The restaurant deserves mention - i have never had a tastier sphagetti bolognese, my trips to italy included. breakfast was not elaborate, but nothing to complain.
The thing one should realise very well before you book this hotel - this is not close to the beach. One cannot walk to any beach. but if one has his own vehicle, then no problem, you can avoid baga calangute trafiic and set out to explore the northern beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yashbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
826Presadigoa, Owner at Presa di Goa Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

........and even if You do not have Your own vehicle, You get to the beach in a complimentary 7 minutes drive, straight onto the sand dunes. no need to walk at all. thank You for Your time and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We arrived for our stay at Presa di Goa, not sure how things would turn out since we usually rent an apartment (we have a toddler with very specific food requests!). By the end of the first day, we were all completely charmed. Our daughter went as far as declaring she loved Presa di Goa!

Lovely landscaping, lush greenery, an inviting pool (that we used less than we'd have liked to), a friendly black lab to appeal to the dog lover in me, friendly service with a smile, room service for when hunger strikes - and the option to dine on the little patio outside our room(quiet and private)...what more could one ask for?

Well if you're picky then beachfront access, but really...it is well worth having a tranquil place to come back to...and what's a 5 minute drive anyway? It really isn't far to any of the beaches...Presa is brilliantly located so you are spoilt for choice on which direction to head to...so we tried a different beach each day. The location really worked in our favor the day we went to the Saturday Night Market - we could avoid all the traffic snarls by taking a few country lanes to the market - saved ourselves a lot of time.

The food deserves mention - breakfast was just right (a choice between a western style bread/eggs/cereal/fruit breakfast or an indian version, both served with a choice of hot drink), the sherbets/sorbets were divine(after a hot day out, there's nothing like a scoop of fresh icy strawberry sorbet - and a dip in the pool!). We also tried the mezze...the stuffed wine leaves are as good as the ones at Thalassa (run by a lovely Greek expat) - which is saying a lot. My only wishlist for Presa is an electric kettle and the makings of tea and coffee in the room - sometimes one wants their tea just-so. Hard to explain...also for early risers like us, we felt bad to wake up staff at 6.30am to make us a cuppa so would politely wait until breakfast at 8am for our wake-up cuppa. If these were added on, I could think of a lot of friends and family who'd be hooked on Presa!

All in all, a very very nice getaway. Edouard has got the mix just right, and we would definitely love to return for another stay.

TIP: Pick up a copy of the Love Goa guides they stock at the reception. It is well worth the 1000 rupees you pay for it. It really is an insiders guide to Goa. Beats Lonely Planet. Honest.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lily which is at the far end of the property - big plus is it is very private since no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmchairGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
826Presadigoa, Owner at Presa di Goa Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you for your kind review. Very sorry for not having suggested a tea kettle to You. Naturally we do have tea kettles but on request only ......for our Indian and .....some rare British guests. Shall keep this in mind, each time an Indian guest walks in here as of now on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I checked in here with my friend and we were delighted! We immediately got the Goan feel we were looking for. This place is located in a quite neighborhood and yet is not more than 4 kilometers away from the the two major beaches, Baga and Calangute. The connecting road can practically lead you to all major beaches of North goa in a very short drive.

We relished the breakfast which was very filling and delicious.

The swimming pool in the middle of the cute lawn, and the fact that they lit it up for use post twilight was a real soother after a day of roaming around all over panjim.

The staff is very friendly and polite and they arranged a very reasonably charged bike renting service with a very decent ride for our 3 day stay.

the rooms were very tidy and always neatly cleaned up before we arrived back in the night. Hot water was no problem either. the lighting inside the room has a very soothing effect too.

the flora all around the hotel property gives a very nice feel too. also, the hotel has very good wifi connectivity.

i enjoyed and i would consider going there again when i visit goa, instead of any of the highly priced resorts in the south.

In for: the entire feel this retreat has.
against to: nothing at all.

Room Tip: we stayed in the most basic room call jasmine which u can check it out at the hotel's website ww...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AceNeerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDGCalangute_India, Owner at Presa di Goa Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Ooops I just realize that I omitted to thank You for Your wonderful review.
Three years have passed since You stayed with us. So may be, it's time to return to PRESA di GOA and check on our performance. Management and staff are still the same, practically since the opening of the hotel in 2004, so it should be easy to make an honnest comparison.
Welcome back, any time You like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just got back and miss Goa already(we have been captive for 15 years). I am already thinking about next year. Presa Di Goa is what hotels should be like in Goa.Small scale, excellent service, cleanliness, decor, restful pool area, food and general ambience. The rooms are like home from home almost and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Edouard is a lovely man with a hint of a British sense of humour (although he is Belgian) and he, along with Cynthia who is so sweet, were excellent hosts.The pool area is lovely and restful with birds in the surrounding trees - we even had a runaway piglet last week which caused great amusement to all. Although the hotel is off the main beach belt ( which is good for our tastes) the courtesy drop of and collect service is useful.My husband had a very professional massage on site and the lady is very informative - he wanted another, but she advised that he should not on medical grounds so this shows integrity.Food is of a high standard and varied so there is something for everyone I think.Rooms have dressing gowns and slippers so no need to pack these for round the room. All rooms have a sit out area or balcony-we were in Jasmin overlooking a lane so while not overlooking the pool, it was quiet and we sometimes would see day to day local life pass by through the greenery.Only one point to mention, our bed was quite high off the ground so if you have movement problem, this may present a challenge but I am sure someone will find a solution for you. So - Excellent hotel in village, great facilities away from the coastal madness, I really can't fault it so can highly recommend Presa di Goa and we will return!

Room Tip: Al the rooms are good.Depends on your budget and how many are in your group and whether you want a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
826Presadigoa, Owner at Presa di Goa Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

What a wonderful review.thank you and we miss you too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I haven't read all the reviews so I won't be surprised id someone else's title is "Home Away from Home". That is truly how my husband and I felt in Presa Di Goa. After 2 busy weeks in Pune surrounded by noise and pollution it was a very pleasant change being at Presa... Tucked away amidst other homes, in a quite and green setting this was a perfect place to relax and get over our exhaustion...

The staff at Presa are amazingly friendly and caring. I ended up with a throat infection and they did all they could to help with doctor's contacts, getting me medication from the pharmacy etc. etc.

The premises is well kept and the garden and pool side a perfect place to unwind... If you like massages you can get wonderful ones during your stay too... Just ask at the reception to make an appointment with Renita from Whispering Hands... She's great and even comes to the hotel so you don't need to go looking for her...

Presa is close to the beach and yet far enough from the chaos and crowd. If you are in the mood to venture out the hotel will arrange a transfer to the beach...

Eating breakfast in our balcony was a luxury that we enjoyed through out our week long stay. If you like Goan food be sure to try some at the restaurant... we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
826Presadigoa, Owner at Presa di Goa Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Many thanks to japaws and greetings from Goa to Bishkek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardez
1.3 km away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 3 in Saligao
399 reviews
4.2 km away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anjuna
674 reviews
2.8 km away
Casa Severina
Casa Severina
#8 of 125 in Calangute
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 125 in Calangute
582 reviews
2.7 km away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#9 of 125 in Calangute
643 reviews
2.8 km away
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
#1 of 125 in Calangute
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presa di Goa Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presa di Goa Country House

Address: 353/1 Arais Wado Calangute | Calangute, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Bardez
Price Range: C$100 - C$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Presa di Goa Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Boutique Hotel with 12 Indo Portuguese furnished rooms and Suites. Located on a 3500.sqm country estate with swimming pool and lavish gardens.Very quiet location. 10 minutes drive away from the popular beaches of Calangute, Baga and Candolim.Mediterranean and traditional Goan cuisine.Room Service , Laundry & Concierge services.Massage and Ayurveda treatment available in immediate vicinity.Free parking and Internet facilities.24 hours doctor service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Presa di Goa Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presa Di Goa Country House Hotel Bardez
Presa Di Goa Country Hotel
Hotel Presa Di Goa Country
Presa Di Goa Country House India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing