We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the small hotel ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Viva Calangute

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viva Calangute
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the small hotel ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Do not go if you expect 5 star facilities but the hotel does claim nor charge you for them .Very good value for the rates they charge
This is a very good budget friendly hotel .
This is the 3rd time I visited this hotel , the last time i went was when I availed their Monsoon package. At that time renovation work was going on in the sit out area in front of the restaurant. This time it was completed , I was amused to see a few passers by stopping and clicking pics
The reception was also very helpful .i simply Love the small hotel ambiance and courteous staff. . The Rooms are very spacious and clean ,the breakfast is good too.

The only drawback I found was that the hotel did not have a power Back up and the lift is not working.
Being from Pune we visit Goa very often and this has been our choice for the last 10 months.. We will surely come back for another experience.soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msheena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    29
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
37
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Just visited this hotel... Couldn't believe the state of the hotel looking at the previous reviews.

Pros:
Rooms were clean

The staff were helpful for the most part.

The manager was kind enough to give us a discount on their usual rates of extra person due to a mixup on our travel agent's part.


Cons:
The bathrooms were dingy with the minimum of luxury. The gaps between the tiles had turned red-black.

Distances have been grossly underestimated on their website - The hotel is quite far from everything. Don't expect to walk back after "a night out" even from Calangute.

The hotel entrance is shabby, through a side lane besides the "garden restaurant"

The lobby is unimpressive

THE LIFT/ELEVATOR DOES NOT WORK. - EVER

The air conditioning installed in the hall of your "suite" is just for show. It is not functional. On purpose.

There is no generator backup in case of power failure

The mattresses seem to be made of soft stone, so do the pillows.

We asked for the bathroom to be cleaned on one occasion, thrice. But was only done the next day when the room was due to be cleaned.

One of the locks on the bathroom was faulty. Workable, but faulty. The key to the bathroom had to be at hand, otherwise we could not close the bathroom.

No view, whatsoever from the room.

The breakfast was a very small menu, upma, chole, that kind of breakfast. We did not have breakfast there at all.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The hotel is too expensive when compared to other hotels/lodges in comparison. We know as two of us had shifted out to a serviced apartment just down the road for less money and a whole lot more of convenience, ambiance and facilities. AFTER THE FIRST NIGHT.

If you have any sort of expectations of luxury and ambiance from your hotel, don't stay here. If you don't, then stay somewhere else which will be much cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaumitraRathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

the stay was truly awesome .....we went as a group total of 4 couples....the hotel is centrally located in calangute...near to all the happening places...sea food is superb...the hotel staff is very courteous and prompt...special thanks to the manager Mr Simon..he really looked after all of us very well....the beach is close by 5 min through the pathway from the hotel.....really had a blast in the rooftop pool...the view of the beach and sea from the rooftop on a full moon night was enchanting...spacious big rooms..and great service
highly recommended by all of us
Abhi,Deepti,Ravi,Preeti,Vikas,Ruchi ,Shreya and Arun

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bugzzme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We went with our families – 4 families to be precise .
Had a great time at the hotel , the beach was at a 3-4 min walk .The kids had a gala time in the pool . The food was fabulous –specially pasta soup , and also the Chinese cuisine . The staff was courteous . Only a slight botheration was there due to the renovation work going on.
We would definitely like to go back again ……

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

"Well after 6 miserable day in orient royal in calangute , i must say this is the bst hotel i evr stayed at...... nice breakfast, lunch, dinner "n" how can forget pool side ....... nice pool,...with rocking service :D..... this is ol bcoz ,my were thr with me ,....n the hotel staff .....thnx all u ppl to make my trip .......

thanks
saumitr sharma

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sausa_amiable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The hotel is superb , service is nice , rooms are always clean, loved da breakfast n food , perfect spot for couples and guys n gurls and durgesh .. Haha , jokes apart a place is awesome , with a swimming pool on top .. Have fun , go goa

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhi297654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanpur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I was here with friends for 4 day long vacation. Found this place very nice, even though in Calangute but serenity and peace both r found alongwith loads of fun. The best part is the rooftop swimming pool with all the privacy you seek. Staff is very friendly and food is also very nice. Overall an awsome place to stay...i surely will come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RohanK_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Karishma Grand
Hotel Karishma Grand
#26 of 110 in Calangute
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 km away
Epitacio's Hotel
Epitacio's Hotel
#54 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.6 km away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#86 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#44 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Windsor Bay
Hotel Windsor Bay
#40 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort
Paradise Village Beach Resort
#72 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Calangute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Calangute

Property: Viva Calangute
Address: 155 / 9 | Near St Josephs Boys Home, Calangute 403516, India (Formerly Orient Royal)
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the pristine surroundings of Arabian Sea, Viva Calangute caters to business as well as leisure travellers. The hotel offers one and two Bedroom Accommodations . Well furnished, fitted with modern amenities. Our warm staff will ensure that you have an unforgettable and pleasant experience. Viva Calangute offers you the location to give you another reason to celebrate Goa at its fullest. Located at walking distance from the famous Calangute Beach (Queen of beaches in Goa), 10 min from Baga Beach & 10 min from Anjuna beach & It is also near to all the happening Hot spots of Goa - Tito's, Mambo's, Butter Lounge are all located nearby!!. The water sports facilities are located within walking distance & so are the famous shacks.... We want Viva Calangute to be your place...a space which is very close to your heart, where you would like to come again & again & again... So come, Plunge into a world of azure waters, glistening sands and majestic beaches!!!.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Viva Calangute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Royal Hotel Calangute
Viva Calangute Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing