We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Underwhelmed!”
Review of Ocean Palms Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Palms Goa
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Slightly Underwhelmed!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My partner and I spent 2 weeks at Ocean Palms in February. I had previously read on TA that not all rooms had balconies, so after contacting Monarch who we booked with, and them telling me to take it up with the Hotel directly, I requested a balcony room on check in. I was informed that there were no std balcony rooms available, however I could upgrade for around £10 per night to a deluxe balcony room. I agreed to this, however I was then informed that there weren't any delux rooms available anyway. The check in staff advised that they would let me know if any balcony rooms became available, but I guess that none did, as they never mentioned it again. The std room that we did get was good, despite the lack of balcony. The bed was fantastic, and the TV had a few decent channels which was a good thing considering the bars closed at 10:30pm due to the election curfews. There wasn't a lot of room for clothes, which was a downside however the furniture was well appointed. Our room was located in the block where the reception was. There was the frequent sound of doors slamming from various floors, which was rather annoying.
The hotel itself appears to be rather disjointed with the reception in one building, the restaurant in another, the pool squeezed in the middle (I'll get back to that) and the pool bar round the corner and down a level. It looked as if they had built the Hotel around a residential building, which had obviously been there sometime before they built the hotel.
Back to the Pool, well its obvious from the photo that its not olympic sized, but we were rather disappointed when we actually seen it. The angle of the photo seemed to suggest that there was a decent amount of space around the pool. In reality to the left of the shot is a wall, with probably less than 2 metres space to the edge of the water. The top edge has even less room. When you have your sun lounger reclined, you can hardly get past without risk of falling in the water. There are approx 20 sunloungers with half or so being out of the sun after midday. It just wasn't great. We never saw anyone clean the pool either, and it had a fairly decent tidemark building up. The poolside service was ok, the staff were quite pleasant once they seen your face a few times. We didn't use the pool bar as much as expected due to its location.
As we were B&B, we only frequented the Restaurant for breakfast. I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed the food on offer. The service appeared slightly haphazard, you never quite knew how your eggs were going to end up being cooked, or if they would arrive before lunchtime, however they were very good when they finally did arrive. The staff were pleasant, however the service organisation wasn't great. Although there were plenty of staff, one minute they were asking if you would like tea/coffee, then they would be sorting the cereal out, then they would be clearing a table. Then you might get your drink.
On the whole, I wouldn't say this was a bad hotel, I think we just expected a bit more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWNTY2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    217
    45
    13
    21
See reviews for
179
254
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

spent 7 nights here with my husband and also my mother who had her own room she is 76
could not fault the staff at all ,from the nice welcome we got from the young receptionist to the room boys and guards all very polite and very professional The rooms are wonderfull
The buffet breakfast was really good with a taste for everyone ( asian and european )
Thought the pool was a little small but again it was spotless and also had a pool boy who looked after the free towels and made sure the shower area was kept very clean
All in all a great hotel which i will return to next year and would highly reccommend to anyone
The one Disapointing moment i saw while i was there was when a lady in a wheel chair got stuck in the lift coming down from her room Why was she not given a ground floor room ?
that is the only reason i have not given 5* but 4*
To the management and all the staff of the Ocean palms thankyou for taking care of my mum when forgetting where her room was and also her code to the safe lol
thanks
P.s the rooms even get insect sprayed every day

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Have just spent 2 weeks at the Ocean Palms - a new and very well kept hotel. All the staff are friendly and very eager that your stay is as you would want. Our first room in block 1 was disappointing but we were soon moved to a room in block 2 which was much newer and had a fantastic view from our 2 balconies. A really nice addition was to have 2 free bottles of water every day so saving the chore of having to buy it. The breakfasts, for us, were really interesting with a range of curries (yes we did eat them!), fruit, breads and eggs cooked to order every day. These were obviously not to everyone's liking but eating local dishes for us is very much part of the holiday. Ocean Palms is at the end of a quiet cul de sac just off the mahem that is the main road between Calangute and Candolim. There are plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance - indeed one of the best is just outside the hotel's main gate 'Kebabs and Curries' - try the Mirchi Keema it is delicious. The pool had very little space around it but as we went to Goa for the beach and only used the pool twice it was not a problem, if you want evenings centred around a pool and bar then this hotel is not for you!

Room Tip: Block 2 on the corner has 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittykat909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

we arrived back on the 4 march after a 2 week holiday. it was my first time in goa and i can say i got what i paid for the hotel itself was very good a good size room with a superking size bed not much room to hang cloths up but included a free safe. the hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel was quite central to all going on outside. if you are thinking of booking this hotel i would say it is good value for money so go for it. im not sure about goa its self but i knew it would not be white sands and butler service so all in all a cheap winter break with perfect weather and nice people

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The resort is perfectly placed.. its clean.. quiet.. relaxing..peaceful.. has an amazing breakfast .. which is light n healthy.. the service is 24x7 .. and everyone is really welcoming and helpful.

Its not that expensive. and totally worth it.
and suitable for family /buisness /romantic and friendly trips...

im surely coming back!!!

cheers!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shikha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife and I traveled for a break from the hectic schedule of daily life - 4 days and 3 nights -Overall experience was pretty good. More details below:

LOCATION
- About 10 minute walk to the nearest beach. It wasn't the "main" Calangute beach, but more like the southern fringes of the beach. In any case, if you're looking for a quick beach outing and lounging around in a shack, that's a lazy 10 minute walk away
- 20 minutes of walking will land you in Calangute beach. That's where you find a much larger crowd and the bustling Calangute area suddenly emerges. You can walk along the beach or go along the main road to do some window shopping or grab a nice cold yoghurt along the way
- 40 minutes of walking along the beach will land you in the relatively quiet Baga beach area.
- The hotel is in an inside lane, leading to the main road. Helps provide a quiet setting, if that's what you're looking for.

CHECK-IN
Quite efficient. Reception folks were warm and welcoming. The lobby was well-airconditioned, which added to the welcome feel of the place.

ROOM
We stayed in one of the suites, with breakfast included in the package. It was definitely a good choice in comparison to a standard room.
- Two televisions allowed for "peaceful" coexistence where I could watch my daily dose of sports and news while the wife dug into all the daily soaps!
- Bathroom was functional - nothing amazing. If you're looking for a bathtub, you won't find it here. Shower was amazing though - good water pressure and constant supply of hot water, if you prefer your showers that way
- Bed was comfortable for a good night's sleep
- Living room - sofa was nothing memorable - very basic without adequate cushioning. The wooden framework ensured that you couldn't really laze around by lying on the couch.
- Balconies - A big plus of the suite was the two balconies it provided you with - one from the living room and one from the bedroom. Balconies had 2 chairs, but surprisingly no table - so if you're sitting there looking to enjoy the cool winter breeze over a beverage of choice, with your companion, it's not ideal.

FOOD
- Food was good but not amazing. Thankfully, the price points were very manageable, so if you're looking to just laze around instead of going out, it won't pinch your pockets to have a meal or two in the hotel.

AMENITIES
- Small swimming pool area but a clean one. Small enclosed area for kids to have a safe swimming experience.
- Small recreational area providing table tennis, foosball, and table hockey
- Spa: small but functional
- Gym - A couple of cardio machines and some weights, in case you really want to work off those pounds during your trip

BIGGEST PLUS POINT
- definitely the staff - very courteous and eager to please. This was quite evident in their f&b section - we had some issues with our gravy in one of the meals. The chef, who was walking around the restaurant, promptly instructed the staff to provide us with some chicken curry gravy , complimentary.

BIGGEST IMPROVEMENT AREA
- We found housekeeping to be a little sloppy in it's work. A few examples to highlight this
a) On the first day, we accidentally dropped one of the glasses in the bathroom. After carefully picking up the pieces from the floor, we kept the broken glass on the counter, expecting housekeeping to take care of it. Surprisingly enough, we went through our entire stay with that broken glass just lying there. It would be a nightmare for anybody traveling with little kids. I am sure a simple phone call to housekeeping would have taken care of it, but it's not something you expect them to overlook consistently.
b) We felt that housekeeping was done in a hurried manner at times -- side-tables a little crooked, newspapers not neatly folded away and put on the table -- small things like this which can add up to the more discerning traveler, stood out as signs of inefficiency and attention

Overall good trip - I would recommend people to this hotel. Hotels can get very expensive in Goa. Ocean Palms provides a good value for money with some excellent service to make your trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: Suite is a must, if it works for your budget. Don't need to have a pool-facing room - in fact we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpatodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Team Ocean Palms thanks you for your comments. We are delighted you are mostly happy with your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

We appreciate your highlighting a shortcoming in our services and assure you that we have taken corrective measures so that it does not repeat again.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel is great. A lovely chilled out pool area too. The rooms are great with high ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, plenty of space, a roomy bathroom and power shower and a plasma TV. The rooms were cleaned daily and if you were still in bed when they were due to clean it they would return later on your request. The TV was showing current football matches practically 24-7. This came in handy when we overslept in the very comfy superking bed and almost missed a live Liverpool match we were due to go out and watch at 2am. My boyfriend caught the last 25 mins on the TV in our room. This fantastic bed was firm but not too hard and had plenty of room either side of us. The air conditioning was great, easy to use and not too loud for my normally `prone to any sound` ears. The staff were very friendly although slower service than we're used to. This wasn't an issue as such, but maybe slightly irksome when we ordered the 24/7 room service in the middle of the night. But with limited staff on at night what can you expect really. We never really ate at the hotel as there were too many other exceptional places to eat. Situated at the end of Calangute towards Candolim it's in a great central area. We took a gamble on this hotel as it's new and only had 2 reviews on TripAdvisor but it paid off. Great value for a very comfortable modern hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomez81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
0.9 km away
ibis Styles Goa Calangute Resort
1.3 km away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
959 reviews
2.1 km away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
522 reviews
1.9 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
2.5 km away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 64 in Candolim
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Goa

Property: Ocean Palms Goa
Address: Opposite Holiday Street | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#2 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#7 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Palms Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With global warming being a key concern, significant investments are being made in green technologies to reduce carbon foot prints across the world. Ocean Palms Goa too is a part of the drive. A 4-star eco-friendly resort, it is located in Calangute. Ocean Palms offers an affordable quality to business and leisure travellers alike. Blending the intimacy of home with modern amenities, the facilities at this child friendly resort include well appointed air-conditioned rooms, conferencing facilities, a swimming pool, a lounge bar, multi-cuisine restaurant, spa, and fitness services. The resort is located in a quite area of the main road. So you can enjoy a peaceful stay; at the same time it is hop-skip-and-jump away from popular tourists spots. Ocean Palms gives guest the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Palms Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Goa Hotel Calangute
Ocean Palms Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing