We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horizon Hotel Calangute”
Review of Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horizon
Ranked #35 of 119 Hotels in Calangute
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed at the Horizon Hotel based on some of the reviews already left on here and it was by far the best choice we made. The room was lovely and cleaned every day as was the pool. The staff couldn't do enough for you. Dillip the porter was amazing and as it was my birthday brought me flowers and a cake as a surprise, also we wanted to keep the room for a late checkout on leaving as our flight wasn't until 11pm so Dillip agreed to come back after work and clean our room so we could keep it late, we offered to pay but they just laughed at us and we were allowed to keep it for free! The recepttion staff were incredibly helpful, we couldn't find any pay phone cards out in India so the reception staff offered to pick up a sim card for us. I would reccomend you go to Calangute beach just for the experience but only for a walk it's crazy busy and you get hassled every 2 feet (if your lucky to get that far) If you speak to Ronnie the driver out side he will take you to a nice secluded beach about 400 rupees (30 minutes away). Candolim is a lot quieter and more reserved but only 5 mins away in taxi (tho it does have pavements) and Baga is busier with bars etc. We found a little place called the tibetan kitchen on the way to the beach in Calangute it's sooo cheap and the food is lovely for 6 starters 4 mains 2 puddings and 2 beers/spirits between 4 of us it was £35!! There is 1 water park but it's only got 3 slides it's more aimed at kids. The spice plantation is brilliant as it a trip to Cola beach, I'd use the taxi drivers for information it's much cheaper than going through a tour operator and they know what they are doing. I would deffinately go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed at the Horizon Hotel for 2 weeks and found it to be brilliant, the room we had had air conditioning, a shower, toilet and kitchen with access to a fridge. The staff were all very friendly and spoke excellent English. There was various entertain on in the evenings and a variety of food to try in the evenings I can highly recommend the Tandori prawns. Would definitely go back there again. The only drawback was that the beds were extremely hard.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which was better for coming and going but it did mean that the room neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This was the fourth hotel we've stayed at in Calangute, and by far and away the best! We were in room 232, which is right at the back of the hotel, facing north - a good thing on both counts, as it was very quiet and cool. The room was very clean, and had everything we needed - after all you don't go all that way to spend hours and hours sitting in your room; we had a strong hot shower, a telly, a kettle and cups, air con and a ceiling fan, a fridge full of water, coke, fanta and beer (all at downstairs bar prices) spotless sheets and towels and a lovely big balcony overlooking gardens and trees. Delightful.
The hotel is very handy for some really good restaurants, two good pubs, and for less than £2 you can have a taxi to Baga or Candolim for a change of scenery.
The breakfast was also the best we've had in Calangute - we've only ever had toast before, but the Horizon has eggs (cooked to order, however you want em), one more hot thing, either beans, tomatoes, saute potatoes, bacon etc., toast, croissants, pannini type bread, lovely little bread rolls with glace cherries in them, jam and butter, plus fruit and yogurt, cereal and occasionally porridge.
The staff are cheerful and friendly and Raj whose taxi is just outside the gates is a really good driver.
A very good choice.

Room Tip: See main text above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linz6bil9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Very good location, clean hotel, very good staff, very good food! What more you need??

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keyur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have stayed here more than 10 times & will be back again very shortly - we would not stay anywhere else! It is a simple straight forward hotel with fairly basic facilities, but that only adds to what makes it so special. The service here is 1st class - from room boy, pool attendent, gardener, waiter, reception to manager; they all go out of their way to make it an enjoyable stay. Rooms have air con & pool views and breakfast is good. Its a lovely clean pool and meals are taken by the pool side which is nice. Taxis are available just outside the hotel; prices are cheap & the service excellent - we've used many of the drivers over the years & they are all do their best to look after you. The hotel location is brilliant as its in the heart of the town - don't be put off by the access route which is disconcerting on arrival. If you want 5* luxury this is not the hotel for you but if you want a good clean hotel, in a great location with wonderful staff then it will be just perfect!

Room Tip: Most people prefer the front rooms as they have a pool view. We prefer the back as they are more rur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarAwayFromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

3rd time of staying there and booked again. Simple cleaned every day staff friendly

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigterry124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

will agree with everyone else as when we got dropped off at 1am at the end of the road we wondered what we had let ourselves in for, however having got to our rooms (there were 6 of us) and found out fridges stocked and had a drink and then a very good nights sleep we woke tohave a very fresh breakfast although staff do not speak a lot of english they are able to understand what you want and will do their utmost to accomodate. Lots of people who had been there on a few occasions and had come back speaks for itself,. Also found out about infanteria at end of first week and have to say saved a fortune on restaurants as we were too full from the samosas and beef chops (curry beef in mashed potato covered in breacrumb Yum yum) worked out about 35p each
Taxi outsweide o hotel were fair and well worth it and will wait with you if you go somewhere or come back later for you .Notng is too much trouble. All in all the horizon is great and staff loveley
Mind you ask for extra mattress as beds can be a little hard

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scott186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.2 km away
Lambana Resort
Lambana Resort
#33 of 119 in Calangute
173 reviews
0.2 km away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#5 of 119 in Calangute
1,017 reviews
1.3 km away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#17 of 119 in Calangute
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#34 of 119 in Calangute
292 reviews
1.2 km away
Resort De Coracao
Resort De Coracao
#15 of 119 in Calangute
574 reviews
0.9 km away
Tangerine Resort
Tangerine Resort
#45 of 119 in Calangute
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon

Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#11 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range: $77 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting strip of Calangute, Horizon is perfect for holidaymakers of all ages who look for high standards of service right in the heart of the resort centre. This attractive complex is set in an excellent location, within easy reach of local amenities and the beach. The air-conditioned rooms have twin/double beds, wardrobes, TV sets and fridges, with en-suite bathrooms and balconies. Besides visiting its in-house multi-cuisine restaurant, guests also have the option of visiting the nearby shacks on the beach for further food and leisure options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Calangute
Horizon Hotel Goa
Horizon Beach Resort Goa
Horizon Calangute
Horizon Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing