We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Experience”
Review of Neelams The Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neelams The Grand
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Calangute
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful Experience”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Worst experience in my life . Booked my stay for 4 days but have to leave the hotel in just two days due to following reasons
1) Arrogant behaviour of staffs / hotel Manager - I should say they treat customers with no value
2) Poor quality of room service , Room get's clean only after several reminder
3) In breakfast if you want to order something other than buffet - You will not get it . Also to note you will get very limited food in buffet .
Dinner once had was terrible
4) Rooms and bathroom are not maintained properly.

Room Tip: Not a place to enjoy your holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1711rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    227
    97
    51
    82
See reviews for
172
221
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The place looks good and yet not too expensive. One cant help wonder why? Stay here and you'll know exactly why - the staff seem to prefer foreigners over Indians so when you're in the middle of a conversation with them, trying to explain your requirement, they'll walk off to pick up the luggage a foreigner who just arrived. Or try telling them your mom has knee problems and cannot climb up 2 floors (even though you had specifically requested a lower floor). Try the buffet and you'll realise how bad food can be taken to new limits! Try calling something from the room service and you'll realise how they're doing you a favour by answering your call - they're teaching you to be independent I guess (cater to your own needs...provide for yourself!). I kept telling myself that this is may be it's one of those times when you start to see everything negatively but I couldn't be more sure about this. Go to this place only if you do not expect any service and want to be in calangute. Else - avoid it!

Room Tip: trying staying in the building with the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveler_Rosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

hotel was really amazing for me as my room which was been alotted to me was right on the road side with nice view.bar services was perfect with pool table and LCDs present and coffee shop also .Food was also good butthey really need to work on there menu card for service in the room.like the overall look of the hotel.price worth prperty no doubt.and my stay was for 7-8 days and it was so great fun . i heared recently that they are coming up with new property just a km away from nizmar on the same road..

Room Tip: if you talk about nizmar would love to suggest because if you see in calangute you do not have such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burnin_desire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, Gujarat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

i with my wife stayed at the Neelam's the grand from 7th jan and checked out on 10th jan...i booked the hotel through a travel agent .....instead of speaking to the travel agent they directly tell me that i wont be getting the room until the payment was made....which i had made 10 days ago.....after clearing the payments we were shifted to the room.....the room was good but with lot of mosquitoes in the room...the staff was careless and paid least attention to the things we said...food breakfast was foul....in salad the tomatoes and cucumber were smelling, puri and bhaji served were cold..... unclean plates as well as spoons..there were even lot of mosquitoes in the restaurent ..the breakfast made me and my wife vomit for continous two days......when complained about the food.....the receptionist says to tell the restaurent man.....when contacted him...he passed the complain to chef....and the chef just roamed around the food stalls and went inside the kitchen leaving us unanswered.... over all.......no star for this hotel.....

Room Tip: no rooms are supposed to be good at all....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abhishek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed in Dec 2011. The front desk staff were welcoming, and the room was clean, comfortable, modern and well equipped. We did not spend a lot of time using the hotel facilities so I cannot comment on the resto, bar, pool etc. But overall the place had a good atmosphere, and I would choose to stay here again. The bell-hops / security out front were very pleasant, smiling and helpful also.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel between Xmas and New Year. Left early. The staff are awful and totally unhelpful. The restaurant, for breakfast, is unclean with unhelpful staff who just walk around the room without attending to guests.
We had no hot water and were told would not get it until the next day. It is a one star property if that!!
My husband and i had to spend as much time as possible away from the hotel and were miserable when we had to return in the evening.
Had to ask to be moved and the second room was no better. The towels were stained and bed linen was torn.
Please just stay somewhere else or stay at home!! My husband had so many bites when one evening he sat downstairs on the armchairs to use the internet. This was actually from within the furniture and not flying insects. It got to the point where we stopped complaining as nothing was done. We stopped going down for breakfast after second day.
Please just stay somewhere else or stay at home!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank review10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Hi ,

I am Akhilesh and stayed in Neelams The Grand from 28th Dec 2011 to 4th Jan 2012. My exeperience is terrible.

I had only breakfasts in the morning which was included in my package, after tasting breakfast, couldn't got courage to taste anything else. The food is stale, service in the restaurent is very poor.
The staff tend to harras its guests, as they refused to recognise the payment which was done to them about 1.5 months back. To convince them have to show the scanned copy of the cheque and the bank statement.

Guest has to follow up for cleaning up the rooms. The electrical socket points in the rooms won't take 2 pin mobile chargeres.

I was with my family and this hotel almost ruined my holidays.

Akhilesh

Room Tip: Don't even think of staying in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank akhilkhetrapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.5 km away
Citrus Goa
Citrus Goa
#4 of 113 in Calangute
972 reviews
1.3 km away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#7 of 113 in Calangute
608 reviews
0.9 km away
SinQ Beach Resort
SinQ Beach Resort
#14 of 113 in Calangute
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#24 of 113 in Calangute
390 reviews
0.7 km away
Azzure By Spree Hotels
Azzure By Spree Hotels
#11 of 113 in Calangute
561 reviews
0.1 km away
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
Neelam Hotels - The Glitz Goa
#34 of 210 in Calangute
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neelams The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neelams The Grand

Property: Neelams The Grand
Address: Post Office Road, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Neelams The Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand in its true opulent style and grandeur architecture is the blend of perfect hospitality and old world charm. Comprising of 143 contemporarily appointed rooms and suites with large swimming pool, health club, multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop and largest Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Neelams The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neelams The Grand Calangute
Neelams The Grand Hotel Calangute
Neelams The Grand Goa/Calangute
Neelams Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing