We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
Siliguri, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Beach Resort is located just near the Calangute beach which makes it a perfect location for spending holidays.The service as well as the food quality was good.The hotel staff was also cooperating so I think it is a complete Value for money.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms well in advance to get a wide range of choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    665
    360
    125
    214
See reviews for
599
661
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed in this resort, this November, and thought it to be the greatest mistakes of my life.

It was an extremely shabby place, very congested (don't be fooled by the photos on the website.. It is a gimmick and most photos are shot on the beach). I had booked through the net and paid full money in advance for 5 nights so had no option but to stay here. On the outset, when you enter this property, it looks like you have entered a slum of Mumbai.

Rooms are non ventilated, pathetically small rooms, condition is worst.. A/c. doesn't work. Not to forget restaurant... A hut in the middle of the property with stray tables and chairs, no proper flooring, its a mud setup, extremely hot and dripping in case there is slightest of rain. Everyday the breakfast is same. dirty and unhygienic, flies moving around.. tasteless and no change in variety. Never eat food here.

Pool (can it be called baby pool) is also dirty and not maintained. The staff here specifically the young Sikh is extremely rude and unhospitable.

In short, why would you stay at a resort... to enjoy scenic beauty, to be at calm, and not to be worrying about hassles... all these are absent here.

If there is no other option left, only then go and stay here and then repent further...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rajesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estreladomar-goa, Vice President at Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback. We regret the inconvenience caused.

Best,

Estrela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Chandigarh, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Straight to da point Pros:- 1) Nice Location 2) Good Food 3) Affordable Price 4) Good Room Service 5) Good Room ( Luxury Room No 213) 6) Taxi Service at

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arunk677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jammu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Straight to da point

Pros:-
1) Nice Location
2) Good Food
3) Affordable Price
4) Good Room Service
5) Good Room ( Luxury Room No 213)
6) Taxi Service at Door Step of Resort

Cons
1) Small and busy Reception
2) Small Pool
3) What else...
4) Luxury room can be more luxurious.

I enjoyed Da stay, I was Afraid of Some reviews, but i Decided to go for Luxury room & I wasn't disappointed.

Room Tip: Room No 213..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhumakarBhawra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashik, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Its not a 3 STAR Hotel its "its a budget Hotel. We had Booked 2 Executive Rooms however the condition of the rooms is disappointing.There was so much bad smell in the room that we could not even stay over there .Overall a very bad hotel.Room were worst, no cleanliness. There were coakroaches in the room.Staff was hopeless the Front Office Manager Mr STIVAN GOMS was very Arrogant to us.I strictly do not recommend this Hotel..........

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VIJAYPATIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estreladomar-goa, Vice President at Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback. We regret the inconvenience caused.

Best,

Estrela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmadabad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

hi my self kapilkumar and i am from ahmedabad.
just this month i been in estrela do mar resort for 3 night and 4 days in package.
we are total 29 people who stay there and really we enjoy lot there,
if you see all review you will be confuse that is this place is really good or bad but i can suggest that this resort is really good value for money.
this is three star resort and just walking distant from beach you can enjoy private beach there which is good point.

if go with family then it's good to you, you are very safe there you enjoy nice food and there.

the driver ben is a good man there, who saw us lot's of really best place in Goa.this is plus point for resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kapilkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Its a nice hotel, right next to the beach.

Likes:
1) Good room, please stay in luxury rooms.
2) Good location, only two minutes walk from the beach.
3) A sot of private beach they have, right in middle of Baga and one more beach (can't remember the name)
4) Food is good
5) Good place for couple and family

Dislikes:
1) Rued staff, they need to learn some manners.
2) Room service is pathetic.
3) You never ever get an extra towel.
4) Reception staff need to learn some manners.

Overall a good place to stay but if you expect good service, please stay away.

Room Tip: Please select only luxury rooms. They are newly renovated and are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ravi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calangute
1.8 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 km away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#1 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.7 km away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#21 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
2.4 km away
Ocean Palms Goa
Ocean Palms Goa
#5 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.0 km away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#11 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Property: Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
Address: Khobra Vaddo | road opp to Our Lady of Piety Chapel, Khobra Vaddo, Bang on the Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beach, at Estrela, your presence is celebrated, your individuality recognized and your tastes remembered. Our staff pampers you with impeccable service and showers you with undivided attention. The spotlight is always on you and your needs. This unconventional approach is the reason why your experience at our hotels and resorts is always full of champagne moments and sweet memories. Come, get used to stardom! The bright, cozy rooms, Swiss cottages & luxurious sea view cottages feature satellite TVs, minibar, hair dryer, electronic safe, tea-coffee maker, etc as well as DVD sets in some rooms. Free Wi-Fi in all our restaurants. Most of the rooms feature private balconies. Swiss chalet-style cottages offer garden views and some include sunloungers and bars. Room service is available 24/7. There's an ornate restaurant, as well as a beach eatery featuring live entertainment. Other amenities include a playground, a rooftop terrace and an outdoor pool with dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Calangute
Hotel Estrela Do Mar Beach
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing