We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zen Style, Sea View and a Little to Much of Mother Nature”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Turtle Lounge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canacona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Turtle Lounge
Ranked #51 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Canacona
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Zen Style, Sea View and a Little to Much of Mother Nature”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

From the price of this accommodation and the pictures on the Internet I had big expectations for my stay. Situated on a hill at the far north end of Patnem beach with a spectacular view over the sea. At first sight I was amazed. Build in Zen style, with wide black logs and a hay roof. Two story bungalows. 1st floor is the “living room” with a porch and an outdoor bathroom. 2nd floor is the bedroom where your feet are pointing right out at the balcony to the ocean from the bed. The staff here is very friendly and treat you like a star, the food lovely and rooms are cleaned everyday.
But,,, because of this outdoorsy design the place lacks shelter… I couldn’t relax here. First of all the bedroom was a mosquito paradise. Second. The open-air bathroom (and toilet) invites frogs and other sweet beings to visit the toilet at night – I did too experience an ant invasion one night and also heard one of the trees being raped for leaves by an unidentified specie. Third. Roosters start their wake up call at 3 AM here and it seemed to me that they had kind of a conference going on with the roosters at the south end of the beach too, which encouraged the beach dogs to contribute. I mean nature wakes up at night and Turtle Hill Bungalows do not have sound or insect shelter at all. On top of this the staff sometimes forgot to turn off the outdoor light so I had a bright bulb shining into the bedroom all night… And one last little thing – off course, no hot water from the nature showerhead.

Room Tip: The Top Bungalows have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The TURLE LOUNGE AGONDA BEACH moved to Patnem Beach, new , bigger bungalows on a little hill. Still the same website turtle-lounge.com. The new bungalows offer comfortable living in harmony with nature.
The Bungalows are located next to the HARMONIC Yoga & Treatments place.Patnem’s nearest town is Chaudi, which has both a bus and train station (Canacona) as well as cash point machines (ATM). There are regular buses or you can get an autorickshaw for around 50 Indian rupees each way.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
15 Thank Travelman070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at Turtle for 5 nights, the service was consistantly fantastic and very personable. Our stay coincided with a birthday for which we recieved a number of unexpected suprises all day - starting off with a special breakfast, complimentary champage with decorative touches to the villa at different times during the day. None of which we expected or were charged for!

The villa is more expensive than others, but most certainly worth it if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing break in paradise.

The villa is also conveniently located. It is very easy to go and see the sights of surrounding South goa and arranging trips to the North and beyond are the speciality of the owner. In one week we managed to see everything we came for and more.

The owner Niten was very kind and made our stay very pleasurable indeed - we will be coming back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulCooke28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

After a hectic 10 days around north india, we landed at the Turtle Lounge for a treat of a stay at the end of our adventure, and what a treat it was!!! Some people have commented on the price, and YES it is more expensive than some of the other 'huts' in south goa area, but you really do get quality for your money.

The 'huts' (which is really an insult to be classed as this as they are so very much more!) are classy, modern and tastefully decorated, with little touches to make your stay that extra bit more exquisite. and the bed is fantastically comfy, including the lounge area on the balcony.

On a beautiful part of the beach, its a little bit of paradise. we even got to see some turtles hatching on our second day, an event which much of the local community had gathered to see!!

As it was the end of the season, the owners were getting ready to pack up at the end of our stay (it was the owners final season too, so not sure what is happening to the turtle lounge now....) so the atmosphere was very relaxed and slow paced - perfectly paired with the surroundings!

If you want to get away from it all in style then this is the place to go! I'd definitely recommend to anybody who'd listen!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charmypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

This was the last season for this incarnation of the Turtle Lounge. The owner is selling up and the Indian family who work there are taking over so who knows what it'll be like next season.

The huts are amazing, massive and luxurious. Only gripes are that it is very expensive 6500 rupees and for that price you would expect complimentary water, a fridge, breakfast and definately better service. The owner tried to rip us off when checking out by charging us extra and once when we ordered breakfast which isn't the cheapest in Agonda I was served a disgusting cold omelette which was not offered to be redone when pointed out. Obviously thats why we saw no-one eat there in the 3 days we were there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonmackam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We had a great 10 nights at turtle and enjoyed the bungalow very much, Space airy and beautiful views make them the best on the beach.The only and Major drawback was cost .We found simpler and smaller huts close by at a fraction of the cost ie 70 %cheaper.. Sugest staying at Turtle for 1 or 2 nights and move on.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesharkDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

We, my best friend and I, were recommended to visit the Turtle Lounge, Agonda, by the lady running the hotel we stayed in on Palolem Beach. She recommended it so much that we decided to spend Christmas day there .... it was just magical. Empty beach, and just the right number of people around in the hotel to make it feel special, but not lonely.
Very stylish decor, excellent and friendly service, great food, and the bar was well stocked and tended all day! Perfect Christmas!
What started as a 'day trip' turned into a virtually all day, all evening and well into the night trip .. and remains one of my most treasured memories. 5 stars to the Turtle Lounge; can't wait to be there again.

  • Liked — Ambience of the venue and overall feeling as well as location
  • Disliked — Can't say I didn't like anything at all
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canacona
30.7 km away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
7.5 km away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
29.1 km away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 6 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Marron Sea View Resort
Marron Sea View Resort
#4 of 9 in Palolem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 km away
H2O Agonda
H2O Agonda
#5 of 32 in Agonda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.6 km away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 62 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turtle Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turtle Lounge

Property: The Turtle Lounge
Address: Agonda Beach, Canacona, India
Region: India > Goa > Canacona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Canacona
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Turtle Lounge Hotel Canacona
The Turtle Lounge Goa/Canacona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing