We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel in a lovely city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a lovely city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Deliberately stayed away from chain hotels this trip and chose Courtyard based on the reviews, here. Can confirm all the positive things previously mentioned; large, funky rooms, great location and friendly service.

Of the negative stuff mentioned in previous reviews, we had no problems with hot water at all and the Internet service was slow but signal strength was okay (I gather that it's pretty slow all around Melaka).

We had two downstairs rooms (junior suite and deluxe room - complete with palm tree in the shower) were a cut above anything you'd get in a big hotel for the same price.

Melaka (and Malaysia in general) seems to be largely by-passed by Euro tourers, which is their loss. If heading to Melaka, you'll not regret choosing Courtyard @ Heeren.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griz1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    302
    87
    14
    8
See reviews for
248
483
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I've booked for the executive suite for a night stay. For the price i've paid, i would say it wasn't quite worth it.

The room is located at the very back of the hotel.Cleanliness of the room has much to be desired..we found few hairs on the couch! Looks like it has not been clean for sometime. We do enjoy the jacuzzi but it seems like a few nozzle weren't working properly. Found ants near the fridge and also the window near the bed..safe box is not working (probably out of batt), bathroom door handle was broken..Shattered glasses found next to the jacuzzi..Also, the bath area is very dark at night..Overall,the room left a very bad impression for me.

For The breakfast, it's was a generous spread with local delicacies. Parking area behind the hotel is limited, first come first serve. Location is perfect !

May not consider going back as it was quite pricey with not up-to-standard rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Excellent accommodation! Our first time staying at such a place, and the experience makes us to want to stay at more such places. Location is right in the middle of the UNESCO heritage site, and staying here makes exploring the whole area an easy thing to do.

Facilities wise, room is excellent. Different designs in each room. and you do feel somewhat you're occupying 16th century colonial Melaka homes. Do not hope to get any view of Melaka from your room though, but wasn't a downside for me as the room itself was so nice to look at :P. Bed is nice that sleep was very restful. Also the bathroom is designed to have the open air feeling without losing privacy. Cool indeed. We got to stay in two different rooms over the two night stay we had, more because we booked very last minute. However instead of an inconvenience, it turned out to be a good thing, as we had the opportunity to stay in two differently designed rooms, one on the ground floor and another on the first floor. They also have dedicated parking spots for guests which is looked after at night, so no worries there! Another thing to point out, the facade and the reception area does look very old age, in a good way. Oh, and BTW, wifi is also available.

They serve breakfast in another unit opposite the hotel, which is also excellently designed and run. Good food. Although i do wonder whether they are Halal, thus we opted to get bread, fruit, yoghurt and nasi lemak only.

Friendly staff too all around, who recognizes and greets us warmly.

Overall - recommended!!

Room Tip: Choose one upstairs for more privacy. Families with babies or small kids - choose the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank panaroL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed only a short weekend at this hotel, but we had a really good experience. The location is perfect and the accomodation is very comfortable.
Rooms are very nice and the staff is really helpful and nice.
A lovely place to stay in Melacca!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard for 2 nights and were very impressed by the level of service and efficiency of the staff.

Lovely room and the jacuzzi was awesome. A few of the shutter doors were slightly damaged but generally speaking the damage was due to wear and tear and it did not in any way hamper the enjoyment of our trip.

When housekeeping arrived with a fresh set of towels, it was highlighted that the bulbs at the dresser might be fused. The bulbs were promptly swapped about 5 minutes later! Can't even get that sort of efficiency in a 5 star hotel!

I wasn't too convinced about the security based on the reviews. But my worries were laid to rest when I saw the surveillance set-up and the uncle that they hired to watch over the vehicles.

Extremely friendly and alert for his age, he got up to check who I was when I walked to my car at 3am in the morning. Impressive.

Room Tip: The executive suite is a little pricier than the others... but the huge bathroom and jacuzzi, along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank The_Land_Paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We spent 3 nights here. The hotel is in a convenient location (near Jonker St) and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The bathroom is partly open to the bedroom, so not particularly private but the shower is fabulous and can be opened onto a little private courtyard. The staff are lovely and helpful, including arranging a take-away breakfast for us when we had to leave early to catch our flight. The bed was fabulous - most comfortable one we've had in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

had a 2 night stay in this beautiful nostalgic hotel with access card in/out which makes u feel safe staying here. We had the upper level room and all beautifully individual deco.. Nice breakfast with good selection. Parking space available with security camera and caretaker: many plus points!! Located just stone throw away to Jonker street.. We need ice and staff is very helpful to get for us!
Really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysteryblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.0 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
2.6 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#5 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#4 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
0.2 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Property: Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing