We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Discovery Cafe & Guest House(Melaka)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
1
4
3
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
4
3
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 19 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights in a triple family room.

The Hotel was very nice with a large, open reception and very friendly and helpful staff.

The room was large and modern and had a lovely "wet" shower room. The decor was good and the rooms were well cleaned each day. The cleaners did not always provide new towels but this oversight was easily resolved by the friendly cleaning staff. We did have a good sleep most nights apart from one night when inconsiderate guests arived back in the early hours and allowed their children to play along the corridor.

The Hotel has a restaurant area but only provides breakfast which is a mixture of western and eastern food but which is served cold. However, there is a great hawker food centre nearby which is purpose built, large, clean and has a large selection of food, including western food (anything deep fried).

The only drawbacks to the Hotel were it's location which was well outside of Melaka and required a taxi ride to town. There was a bus service opposite but this did not go direcly to Melaka and had a reputation for unreliability. Also, the Hotel has a mosque next to it with speakers located on the roof and when prayers are called, this can be noisy. Be careful about mosquitoes as there are some wetlands to the rear of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2011

For a hotel that is supposed to be relatively new, this hotel is already looking dingy. The hotel lobby is huge and has lots of space for kids to move (and some toys for them to play with), so that kept them entertained while checking in. The hotel lift/elevator was stinky and needed a sweep/mop desperately (both lifts were like this). The long hallways echo with every step and the doorways look beat up. Our first impression of our room was "what the heck stinks so badly". The rooms are carpeted, and the carpets dirty. We didn't see or hear a vacuum the whole time we were here. No wonder we were all up in the middle of the night taking allergy meds for the dust. When I went to plug in my computer (no wifi or any english channels in the rooms) I stuck my hand through a cobweb..checked the other corners of my room and found the same thing. The bathroom, on the other hand, was very clean...as were the beds/bedding/mattresses.

The pool was ok, if you are IN it. Expect to bring your showering towels to dry off with though, as they don't provide towels at the pool, and if your kids want to play with an old noodle or kick board, expect to pay for it.

The one thing that I have noticed most about this hotel is that it is very cold and uncomfortable. In the lobby are hard wooden stools to sit on, and at poolside only a couple of tables with concrete benches. There has been little to no effort made in making this a comfortable place to stay. The room is too smelly/dusty to hang out in at all and outside of the rooms everything is hard and unwelcoming.

As for location, unless you have a vehicle, this puts you outside of everything, and taxis are a pain in the bottom to get from here. We had to have one called for us, and it took an hour for them to get here. Also, catching a taxi TO the hotel, you need to have the address and be VERY clear, as there is a 'luxury resort' with a similar name that everyone tries to take you to.

The icing on the cake is how much we were charged. If you stay on a weekend you get charged substantially more, and for a holiday, almost double. For the almost $120USD we paid for our room, we were expecting something a whole lot nicer than this. This was truly akin to a dingy western hotel at best - that you would get for half of the price.

The dining room was absolutely EMPTY at night. Morning buffet was definitely more busy, and catering exclusively to the Malay, Singaporean crowd (which is ok...the dark noodles were yummy). The coffee was cold though, and when they ran out of bread for toast, none was replaced. The one thing I did note was that at the buffet, none of the foods were being kept warm. Just put out on a tray. A big ol' red flag for us travelers.
My family only ate the food that came straight out of the kitchen hot.

All and all, it could definitely be worse...and I would have no complaints (except the stinky dusty room) if I were paying under $50. But for $120 for the night, this was truly a bummer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theCarnegies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We loved the room colours! Each floor has its own colour scheme - one of our rooms was blue and the other was lavender! :)
The rooms were very very spacious, clean, TVs in both rooms and fridge in the larger one, efficient air-con, comfy beds, quiet considering the walls are quite thin and there was a Malay wedding going on whilst we were there! Lovely open ground-floor area with seating, breezy and cool, with restaurant - breakfast was included in the price but the food was average, although clearly catering for non-Westerners and since we were in Malaysia we shouldn't really complain. There's an outdoor swimming pool next to the hotel which was nicely decorated and always appeared to be in use.
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The hotel is located out of town but very convenient with the new highway to Makhota/Jonker Street.

To get there from the NSH can bypass the town (forever jammed) and save a lot of time.
With the new highway (just behind the hotel) getting to town/Jonker street is very easy. Also there are many new food joints spreading up around the new highway so many variety of foods to chose.

The hotel is fairly new and there are many types of rooms for everyone - single, twin, triple, quad, family. The rooms are big but only basic facilities - CRT TV without remote, water heater.

Can forget about the breakfast and drive out to eat.

Overall good if you want to avoid the jam in town.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2010

when i into to melaka jalan limbongan formosa garden hotel is my choose. averything is good room staff service management food if muslin dont worry malay chef the name is chef ROSLAN, and very-very good and frenly service you must see BAHARI .
all my friend if you vesit to melaka go to jalan limbongan formosa garden hotel enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maslina1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews