We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It was also the little things they thought of and did..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Rio Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“It was also the little things they thought of and did..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Like all the other reviews, Casa del Rio checks all the right boxes for location, setting, ambience, staff, services...etc. Basically stay here in Melaka whether you are traveling single, with a partner or with kids, everyone departs with a smile knowing if they return to Melaka, this is the hotel to stay. So I'll talk about the little things that made the stay ever more pleasant for us.

From the check in where the smiling staff seated us in a nice cabana next to a beautiful water setting leaving us with some interesting ice nutmeg sorbet while they sorted our check-in documents, we knew we would be well taken care of. The room was tastefully done and good sized to fit our family of 2a+2k. Small paper cutouts were provided daily on weather forecasts and interesting news and even pasted on the public men's toilet walls for our reading pleasure while we were... Nice touch

The breakfast at River Grill wasn't the predictable hotel affair and we were provided a combination of ready selections(pastry, cereal, fruits...etc) while the mains were ordered off their menu and freshly made to order. Niceeeeeee and when the food was served in fine-dining presentation, I was truly impressed. And the food was excellent! Probably one the best hotel breakfast I ever had. After sightseeing and returning to our room in the evening, the turn down service left us some nice local desserts for a sweet night ending. Niceeee.

When we checked out and got into our car, I saw a card on my windscreen. The hotel informed that they had cleaned my car windows to ensure clear vision while driving. Thoughtful.

So besides the big things they have done well, Casa del Rio also took the effort to ensure the little things were taken care of. Great hotel, our choice hotel in Melaka.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 107. Nice big balcony facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2adults2kidsonBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    356
    63
    19
    15
See reviews for
414
410
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I've just returned from a weekend in Melaka with my family (husband, toddler and newborn!!) and the Casa del Rio was wonderful! Malaysian hotels are generally very below par for me - I'm yet to find one I would want to return to - but this is the exception to the rule!

The building is lovely, set by the river around a lovely courtyard with fountains. It is right in the centre of town, just a short walk from Jonker Walk where the action happens. It was very easy to find.

We arrived and were sat by the fountain with a cool towel and the most delicious ginger and lime sorbet to eat while we waited. Check-in was smooth, they were aware of the need for our extra bed and cots (which we had booked through the hotel directly, who were also very helpful on the phone when I made the reservation). We even had the hotel manager come and greet us while we waited, which I thought was nice.

Despite arriving early, we were able to check into our room. We had chosen the River view, which I really liked - I did not notice any construction and I enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the river cruise boats go past. The room was big enough for the extra bed and cot that we had ordered, and was really beautifully done. The bathroom was also fabulous - huge bath and rainshower, great amenities left for us (I particularly liked the hotel special cinnamon soap, which came with a little plastic bag so that you could take it home - what a nice touch!!).

We went straight to the pool as our kids had been cooped up in the car for hours. It was gorgeous - great big sun-loungers with fluffy towels, a good size kids pool and then the infinity pool, which looked over the river. So nice. We ordered food there too which was delicious, the staff were very friendly.

Breakfast was great - I loved the concept. There is a buffet of continental style breakfast - cereals, fruit, Asian selection, toast etc and a little pancake station - and then you are invited to order one selection from the a la carte menu, which was extensive. So much better than a buffet with cold scrambled eggs and sausages! The food was excellent, and I loved being able to order a proper coffee too!! We did have a problem with our order on the second morning, an honest mistake, and the manager was very apologetic - no harm done!

I had a massage at the small spa upstairs - heavenly and highly recommended, and very reasonably priced too. I also used the small gym, which had a nice view.

The best bit of the hotel was the thoughtful touches that go beyond expectations. Not only the little bag to bring home the soap, but others too. For example, the gym has a bowl of apples next to the water so you can have a snack after a workout, and when my husband collected the car from the car park there was a little note to say that they had taken the liberty to wash our windscreen so that we had a safe journey home!!

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. It was well-looked after, the staff were outstanding and it was a great place to return to after a few very hot walks around town. I just hope that it can keep up this high standard! We will definitely be back for another weekend soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bg4777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Good location, just a few minutes walk to jonker street.
The service was quite ok. But can be still better.
The foods in the restaurant I mean the river grill was excellent. Overall everyhing is average.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenlee1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

we always have had bad experiences with Melaka, due mainly to the heavy traffic and small roads. Therefore building this river front resort right at the heart of Historical Melaka is a great idea. You really do not need to drive, just park the car in the covered carpark and walk...

The room given was spacious and a great view of the river. Pool on rooftop was excellent and kept my children happy for the next two days.

And little things such as cleaning our car windows and providing a small plastic bag so that you can pack the soap to take home really sets them apart from competitors.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chreong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

What a wonderful hotel, i really felt at home,and thats hard to find in a hotel today,the location to the river and china town, was fantastic this is stress free travel .the rooms faultless,the staff were very friendly with out being fake.this is a very special hotel a rare find in our world today,don,t miss it and the Malaka Straits are a joy to explore.

Room Tip: try to get a view of the river.but it doesn,t matter its all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoosaKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The most fantastic hotel.Staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble.
Room was beatifully apointed with every comfort, very spacious and quiet.
Restruants were exellent and well priced.
The hotel is in the middle of many tourist spots and close to good eating places should you wish
to eat out.
The swimming pool is very good with food service available
We stayed 3 nights and wished we had stayed longer
One of our favourite hotels and reasonably priced

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river,they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank younggreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Regular traveller to Melaka due to Family, been waiting for Casa Del Rio to open since 2010. First of all the good stuff, booked the Cheng Ho Suite two bedroom. It was big, spacious, comfortable,clean and heaps of amenities. The balcony was over looking the Melaka River and the Red Church very beautiful at night. My daughter loved drinking her fuit juice and look at the river boat passing by in the afternoon. When we checked in, I was early as drove from Singapore to Melaka lazed at the cabana around the fountain pool and provided with lime ice which was very refreshing. Now what was wrong, when we waited for our rooms to be ready, our bags were left out inb the sun and must of been a conference people were almost tripping our bags. Front desk gave us 2 cards but only 1 worked and had to keep replacing the other one. The room was very dark due to the dark wood used to furnished felt almost creepy. The bar fridge undernath the TV cabinet was hot due to heat was unable to escape and so it was struggling to keep some food and drinks cool. Noticed a lot of damages to some of the furniture a chip here and a chip there. The aircon was struggling to keep the room cool, noticed a lot of patch work and this is supposed to be a new hotel. The breakfast was a bit of bizzare situation where you order from the menu and had some buffet, the waitress didn't explain properly. Selection of food was ok but nothing to rave about. The infinity pool was big but why have a set of steps to get up, my wife was pregnant and so hard to get to but the little on enjoyed it. Overall nice new hotel with room to improved!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthGuy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.1 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
2.6 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
1.0 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#6 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.3 km away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#8 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Property: Casa del Rio Melaka
Address: 88 Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka is part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minutes walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches.Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing