We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious & Very Clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxurious & Very Clean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel's bedroom is one of the best I've ever stayed.. The bedroom was awesome with wooden floor and excellent furniture. The pillows & bed were so comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious and very clean. I didn't find any mould or grease there. There were shower & bathtub. The bathtub was awesome. The breakfast was delicious, but the kitchen's staffs were quite slow in making the orders.. If someday I revisit Melaka, I will definitely stay in Majestic Hotel again..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astri29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    405
    98
    21
    15
See reviews for
356
689
51
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The service at this hotel is great and the staff are all very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are done superbly and are fairly large. The lobby and dining area are small but elegant and has lots of bottles of sweets which were a treat if you had children. The owners of this hotel have really made an effort with the hotel. But, the food in the dining room has rather large portions and the service could have been slightly quicker. The wine list was not too expensive. (for Malaysia) The location was good too with a few tourist attractions being walking distance. I recommend a ride on the rickshaws for your children; they are colorful and decorated with flowers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I agree with the previous posts about the position of the hotel, the staff friendliness and helpfulness. We were greeted on arrival by a very attentive group of staff led by the enigmatic Manager.

A special mention goes to our guide for the morning walk who was very knowledgable and entertaining. You have GOT to take it!

Weekends are much busier in Melaka with visitors from Singapore, so we're told, and we stayed Fri-Sun on our tour of Malaysia. Our last night was spoilt by 2 noisy Chinese guests who despite being asked to be quieter continued to shriek and keep the TV on loud. I must commend the duty manager who swiftly moved us to a much quieter room on the top floor - well done.

The fold away doors surrounding the bathroom/toilet was 'interesting'. It adds to the noise that may come from neighbours. The design is not our cup of tea however. It should be noted that the heavy wooden doors in the hotel does make for a noisy environment.

The next couple of years will be interesting for the Majestic as there are plans to construct some high-rise buildings approximately 300m in front of the hotel. Some of the views may be obscured I fear.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gruntfuttock99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Excellent location and excellently preserved hotel. The lobby has many bottles of sweets/snacks from the era long gone which was a nice touch. Rooms were wonderfully appointed. Pool and gym are small but functional. A short walk away from the heritage areas. Ample parking with security available but no shelter. Wonderful service from the staff who patiently gave excellent recommendations for meals. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Singap0reTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I love Melaka and added a weekend break after a week of business in KL. Melaka is a super spot for a weekend trip.

This is a smart, period merchant's mansion renovated into a genuinely evocative & colonial-style, boutique hotel. The clever bit is that the hotel accomodation is in a smart modern block immediately behind the original building (but which you hardly notice from the front). This works really well. Don't be put off by the immediately surrounding streets, you're actually very close to the UNESCO-rated historic centre nearby

The Mansion block contains a bar and the simple but elegant dining room; the accomodation block contains modern, comfortable rooms which have been decorated with a lot of thought to mirror the colonial style. Rooms have roll-top, claw-feet baths; modern but period-style features and are a decent size and very confortable.

In between these two blocks is a miniture infinity pool (very welcome after a day's sightseeing); a small gym and courtyard. all over-looked by the spa. The spa, to be honest, is good but not great and their approach here might benefit from a rethink. My massage was OK.

The bar area could be more 'vivant' and I think cries out for a rearrangement (the current 'library', for instance, would make a really cool bar and the current bar removed and more seating, by the veranda, added). This ought to be a lovely spot for a dry martini but, when ordered, this wasn't a huge success. The hotel could make the overall bar more of a 'destination' which it deserves: but still true to the hotel's lovely under-stated elegance and gentle pace (the Melaka equivalent of tea at Fortnum's!). Decor is refined, comfortable and a nice spot for light lunch or afternoon tea.

The hotel offers an afternoon's personal cookery course in the courtyard and, as I was swimming in the pool, I was assailed by wonderful smells as a young chef very attentively tutored a lady guest in local dishes (I have vowed to bring my foodie mother who'd love it).

Dining one night in the restaurant - after the long drive in from KL - was quiet, but the food was much better actually than I expected. It was very good indeed, mostly international but some nice local dishes, carefully done. The wine list is not extensive, but is fairly priced (for Malaysia).

A quick word on service. Living as an expat in Indonesia, I think service levels are not as high in Malaysia as they are in Indonesia, but this hotel is a very welcome exception. Staff were incredibly helpful and justly proud of their town.

This hotel is a real delight to stay in (and enormously good value). I plan to have another weekend in May!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephenLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a very pleasant boutique-style hotel and we enjoyed out two-night stay very much. The bedroom with its sliding shutter walls round the bathroom was very comfortable with its dark wood furniture and floors and all the usual amentities one would expect.
Yes, the pool is small but ideal for cooling off after sight-seeing.
The walk to the centre does take around 20 minutes along the road (but considerably longer although much pleasanter along the riverside boardwalk) so that is perhaps a drawback for some. We didn't try the river boat.
We too thought the complimentary walk was excellent and the guide was very interesting and knowledgeable.. Don't miss it!
Our only gripe with this hotel - hence the 4 rather than 5 star rating - was that, as we had to leave at 7 in the morning before breakfast service began, the day before departure we requested a continental breakfast at 6.30. The order was duly taken but when we arrived no-one seemed to know anything about it and, although the staff were charming, it took some time to rustle something up for us which was vey unsatisfactory. A pity as it was a bad mark for this otherwise very good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
257 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed for two nights whilst in Malacca.

Booked the hotel specifically as it was my wifes birthday whist we were there and this appeared to be one of the top hotels in Malacca. We were not disappointed.

In terms of position for Malacca’s centre (Jonkers St), it is a good 20/25 mins walk away. The hotel is however situated just back from the river and immediately in front of the hotel starts a boardwalk. The boardwalk follows the river more or less to the start of Jonkers St. It is well maintained being constructed in parts in wood, but in the main stone. Plenty of bars/cafes are passed on the walk.

Rooms at the hotel are large. Ours had a four poster bed. The bathroom had a roll top bath and separate shower. Two bottles of complimentary water were delivered each day.

I had mentioned on the booking form, that the visit coincided with a special birthday. We were rewarded by a chocolate cake delivered to the room, complete with candles and matches. A lovely touch, much appreciated.

Staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and reception staff continually addressed us by name. The latter touch set the standard for the service received.

We enjoyed a meal in the restaurant on the day of the birthday. This was excellent, but not cheap. To be fair this is a 5* hotel and prices are very much geared at the western wallet. Bar prices were also on the high side.

One service that the hotel provides that we can highly recommend is the twice daily free walking tour of the city. This is run by the hotels resident guide.

We chose to do the 5PM one on our arrival day. This was cancelled due to a torrential downpour an hour or so before departure, due to the boardwalks being wet. We ‘rebooked’ for the following day at 10.00AM

Meeting in the lobby, we found there were four other guests, including a child. Reception insisted on handing out extra water from the complimentary stock – which ended up being much needed given the heat.

The tour runs at the pace of the group and the lady who guided us gave a fascinating insight into Malacca. Lots of interesting snippets of information were also given, with no long boring monologues, often associated with guided walks.

During the tour the guide took us inside some local business. A shop making wrappers for spring rolls, a wooden workshop and a shop making signs with Chinese gold leaf. I suspect that if we had taken the evening tour, these would have been omitted.

About 1 ¾ hours into the tour we paused at a café for a drink (much needed). We ended up on Jonkers St after approx 2.5 hours. Most of the party decided to finish here, but the tour is circular and the guide will walk you back to the hotel

Before departing Jonkers St, the guide booked a table at one of the famous Sticky Rice Ball restaurants for a couple who wished to visit. The queues for these are unbelievable, so they were grateful for the ‘queue jumping’ that the guide performed.

We chose to tip the guide. It wasn’t expected (nobody else did). It was gratefully received. A small price to pay for an excellent free 2.5 hour tour. Make sure you take this tour if you stay at the hotel.

As mentioned, the hotel is situated a little way out from the centre of the action in Malacca. We would certainly stay here again given the level of service and relaxed atmosphere.

If you don’t fancy the walk into town, reception will call one of the colourful trishaws for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A380ManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.1 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
2.5 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 km away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing