We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
61
44
15
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
44
15
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews melaka river shared kitchen bath room is minute walk a great stay riverside hostel ac wifi
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 124 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Indeed a very nice place to stay for its cost range. It has proximity to the happenings and superb view of the river and very helpful staff. A nice way to see Melaka. I would recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannylimty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words and we are happy to know you had a wonderful time in Melaka and enjoyable stay at River One Residence. Cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Cheap and cheerful. Super location. Kid friendly. Lone traveler friendly. Great place. Will be back.. the town is tiny. If you stay near joker st, a car is a waste of time. Being by the river ensures a quiet stay. You can take a river boat to get e closer look.

Room Tip: Many have no windows.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

I will immediately inform the team of River One Residence of another great feedback from our guest! We look forward to seeing you again in near future!! A Big Thank You!!

A note to fellow guests who drives, there are in fact limited parking spaces, especially during weekend. If you can find a parking lot, please ensure it is a designated parking lot. Observe the parking board for parking hours and charges. Give us a call if you have any problem locating the parking area, we are more than happy to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Having booked the previous accommodation in advance, we arrived in the atmospheric and interesting town of Melaka with the

freedom of looking around to find a place to stay. We looked at a few places, some were fully booked, others were not too

great but after a while, we stumbled upon River One and took a twin room for the night.

Location:

River One Guesthouse is located right on the banks of the river and down a fairly quiet street in the Chinatown, about five minutes walk from the main street (Jonkers Street) on which the night market is held on Fridays and Saturdays. Catch the local number 17 bus from the main bus station into town - 1RM) and get off at the stop outside the Stadthuys, the big red building. Then cross over the river, turn right and walked around the edge of the UNESCO site. There are plenty of other guesthouses in the area.

Room:

The room was basic. It had two single beds, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, a table and a chair. No windows but as we spent hardly any time in the room, this didn't matter. There were other room that had windows but this was the only room available. It was fine. Comfortable, clean and we got a very good nights sleep due to the complete darkness.

Accommodation:

The guesthouse has a gorgeous reading and seating area upstairs overlooking the river. We spent a lot of time relaxing up there and spotted monitor lizards swimming in the river. The guesthouse has free coffee, tea and biscuits, free wifi and an PC to use with internet. The shared bathrooms are clean and well provisioned. We were lucky enough to meet Alain, the
Malaysian owner of the Guesthouse. Alain was such a genuine guy and even took us out for breakfast to a local cafe and drove us around town to see the sights (Portuguese village, Straits of Melaka etc). He even drove us round some other guesthouses for our second night as River One was fully booked. River One Guesthouse is very welcoming and Alain is a great host.

Neighbourhood:

There are two ways to walk to Jonkers Street from River One Guesthouse and both are interesting walks past some ornate mosques or Chinese influenced architecture and some ancient looking antique shops. Jonkers Street is a sea of lights at the weekend and there is a good choice of restaurants and street food available. The Chinatown part of Melaka is the best place to go and it has a nice friendly atmosphere and the food is terrific. The sounds and smells add to the feel of the place. A river trip is a nice, if not a bit tacky, way to spend an evening (15 RM).

Price:

60 RM for the twin room was a little over the average in town but still cheap and, given how welcome we were made to feel, represented good value for money.

Summary:

Good location, decent value, lovely reading area, very friendly service, clean and simple rooms, everything you need within a five minute walk. What more do you need?

Room Tip: Despite being firmly based in the 'never book ahead' camp, if you want to stay here I would advise booking ahead if you can. We could only stay one night as it was fully booked the night after. A shame but not a problem as we found other accommodation very easily. Make sure to spend some time in the reading area and admire the view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Hi Joe, thank you for your compliment, I'm flattered.I have posted your photo on the website, check it out! Cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I and my three other girls stay in this guesthouse for just only one night but i love this place so much. Great view to the river, clean room and nice host. SO peaceful!

Room is small and basic but clean. Sharing bathroom but convenient. Have a door to river or you can sit at the second floor and view the river.

Room Tip: Double room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoathanh311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We are always happy to know our guest are happy with us, thank you and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was a great hostel run by really helpful staff. They were able to give us guidance on the best chicken rice ball restaurant in Melaka which is a must and also just general tips about what to see when. The room was nice and clean and the airconditioning was much appreciated! The showers are in the loos but it wasn't a problem as the set-up works well. Really would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rh2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We will continue to improve and make our place a better place for all. At this moment, minor upgrading works are on going at the ground floor level.We are discarding the old carpets to preserve the original floor titles which is quite a common features in Peranakan houses. Hope to see you again in near future, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews