We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
62
44
15
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
44
15
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews melaka river bath room is nice river view the hotel is clean walking distance to jonker street riverside hostel
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 125 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

We stayed a week here, the residence is confortable and clean. You have a kitchen if you want to cook and free tea and coffee all the time. The owner, khoo, he is nice, friendly and helpful man. We loved to stay there because is quiet and peaceful, the lounge on the first floor invite you to relaxing.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marieke974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile

We found Melaka to be such a lovely lovely place, made more memorable by our stay at River one residence with our gracious host, Mr. Cool himself. (Not his real name for sure). The place was along the river and near jonker street. We enjoyed the unlimited biscuits offered. It was really delicious. The shared bath and toilets were clean and the bed and pillows comfortable enough. We would definitely come back and stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Mitzi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2017

This place is in an amazing location with a stunning view of the Melaka river. It's airy, breezy, and you wake up to the sound of Call to Prayer and the ringing of the distant bell tower.

The hosts are very friendly and make you feel quite at home.

The space is unique as well, with rooms mostly being on the top floor.

Air condition worked well, and the toilets and facilities were all in working order. Sometimes the hot water was not properly turned on, but in the heat of Malaysia it's not needed.

Would recommend this place.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2017

The place is in a good location within easy walk to most attractions within the heritage areas of Melaka. Have a view of Melaka river on the first floor but would have been even better if ground floor is done so that guests can have a seating area outside fronting the river.
Place general clean and well kept. Bedsheet and pillow case clean and bed comfortable with the Aircon in good working condition.
Would have been better if a sheet is provided together with the blanket for hygiene.
Overall a nice place for the price paid.

Room tip: Ask for room with a window
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wsmeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2016

I just had a 3D2N holiday with my son in Malacca. We have always stayed in 3 or 4 Stars hotels when we travel. We thought we'd go backpacking and try a no frills boutique hotel this time, just for the experience.

We chose River One Residence for its location - along the Malacca River and close to Jonker Street. We were surprised that the hotel is within 15 minutes walk to most places - Jonker Street, The Stadthuys, Chinatown, Little India, Maritime Museum - most of the places we planned to visit.

The hotel room is simple with 2 single beds, a small table, a mirror, ceiling fan and air-conditioner. There are 4 common bathrooms/toilets on level 2, a kitchen (which we can use) on level 1 and a lounge area on level 2 which gives us a fantastic view of Malacca River. The hotel is clean, the staff warm and friendly, the manager readily telling us where to find good food or places to visit.

We had a wonderful time in Malacca and will certainly book into River One Residence again in our next trip to Malacca.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chongc675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews