We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful piece of art”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calanthe Artisan Loft
Ranked #20 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Calanthe homestay was amazing, its not only a heritage site but a house filled with tiny details. The interior and exterior designs are really creative. We cycled to melaka and we had no issue parking 6bicycles at the car porch. The outdoor area has nice hanging plants and wall arts which makes the atmosphere really magical. It was great that bathtowels were provided, eventhough theres only one bathroom, the shower room was new and bright. We really enjoyed our stay here and the hospitality of our host danial. We also tried the 13 states local complimentary coffee from the cafe just few blocks away. A must go for coffee lovers as it is the only cafe in malaysia that serves coffee from all 13 states of malaysia!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2016

It was truly a unique experience, living in a true historical house. Our host is very nice and tentative to our needs. The host is also a certified tour guide, and kindly offered us a free tour. We learned a lot about Melaka through our host. Jonker street is within walking distance and the loft comes with a huge parking lot. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Eunice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Its within Unesco world heritage site. Melaka. Host make their very best to protect this gem. Clean environment, friendly and knowledgeable host, enjoy our trip here and get to know more about melaka. Thanks Calanthe, will definitely introduce u to peoples who prepare to visit melaka. calanthe artisan the best!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pandaJor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Great location for the family over the X'mas holidays! Ease of booking with them and they offered much flexibility to us. Upon arrival, Joe, the host also made us feel welcomed. There was a welcome message on the chalkboard for us too! They have a cafe and jewelry/accessory shop which also featured much creativity. Place is huge and we had 2 cars parked and space for kids to run around. Overall, definitely an interesting experience and would suit someone looking for a different experience in the old town. Just to note it may not suit people who have difficulty taking the stairs as that's the way to the 2 king size beds. Alternative option is to sleep downstairs at the AV room that can easily fit 3 adults.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Bunzbunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalantheArtisanLoft, Owner at Calanthe Artisan Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2015

Dear Bunzbynz,
Thank you for your comments and a Big THANK YOU for choosing us!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

My family and I had recently stayed in this home. We are very pleased. The host put in a lot of effort to make the place feel like a home. Good quality mattress were ready in the AV room for my additional guests.
It was extremely convenient with a parking bay and walking distance to jonker street. Bonus point was that the host willingly spare his time to bring us around and tell us about historical Melaka. Appreciate his effort and time.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank ming l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalantheArtisanLoft, Owner at Calanthe Artisan Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2015

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for choosing us! We try to make you feel comfortable as if you are at your own home. We are happy indeed to see you enjoying your stay. Once again thank you and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

The Calanthe Artisan Loft is tucked behind Jonker Street, away from the hustle and bustle but still within close proximity(about 2 mins walk) to all the important landmarks.

It's a comfortable, roomy loft that's picture perfect, with a tinge of historical beauty. The owner, Joe, has a craft and jewelry shop down the road. Joe is also a certified tour-guide(or as he calls himself, a story teller) and he gave us a free tour that was packed with intriguing and informative stories that traces the birth and growth of Malacca.

The street is very safe at night, and the lodging is very, very clean and comfortable. There was more than sufficient space for 6 of us, and it comes with its own parking space, very rare for accomodations around this area.

On the day we were leaving, Joe offered to let us stay till the time to catch our bus, since there weren't incoming guests. He is extremely warm, accomodating and easy-going. His Wife was the one who showed us around when we got here, and they both response very redily via email.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ellisontanyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

The house retains a lot of character unlike the overly furbished in some.
It is very well maintained that you cant even find a speck of dust!
A great location where most places can be explored within walking distance!
A great space for family and big groups!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jinchuyeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,538 reviews
0.1 km away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 152 in Melaka
110 reviews
0.8 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Melaka
Holiday Inn Melaka
#9 of 169 in Melaka
1,924 reviews
2.5 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
3.5 km away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#46 of 169 in Melaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calanthe Artisan Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calanthe Artisan Loft

Address: No 16, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A natural home concept for "home away from home" - a place where you comfortable and content as if you were at home. A house with car porch located in the heart of the historical city Melaka, that is within walking distance to the UNESCO Historical Site, main business, shopping and entertainment districts by walking distance as below: Jonker Walk - 1 minHereen Street (Art Galleries, Fashion Boutiques, Baba Nyonya Museum, Bird Nest Museum, Conservation Museum) - between 30 seconds - 5 mins Malacca Stadthuys, Clock Tower, Christ Church, St Francis Church - 3 minsShopping Complex (Dataran Pahlawan, Mahkota Parade) - 10 minsOur loft with a build up of 130 square meters, fully furnished, self contained, self-service comfort and privacy. It is come with approx. 35 square meters Living with Dining room, setup with a old fashion cushion chair and 8 seaters dining set table. A 9 square meters AV room with a 39in LED Flat Screen TV, Home Theater System and Bluray Player, provide you the comfortably bean bag chairs for your leisure holidays with your treasure movie or music. We also have only bathroom with WC at ground floor, attached with hand and rain shower water heater. A useful kitchen by the indoor garden. Full facilities such like Electrical Cooker, Slow Cooker, Oven, Microwave, Dining ware etc. We also provide home basic cooking ingredients for your convenience to prepare your private meal as your wish. BBQ or Steamboat equipments will provide upon request too. One mezzanine bedroom approx. 35 square meters comfortably for 4 persons. It is a pair of King Size Bed with a branded Destress Mattress for you release your stresses and have a sweet dream in this Artisan Loft. If your plan is more than 4 persons, we will set up the extra DESTRESS MATTRESS at the AV room for make sure everyone have comfortable environment and setting for leisure. Looking forward to serve you and share with you our love and - culture of this heritage city - MALACCA ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing