We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
40
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
8
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2016

It was truly a unique experience, living in a true historical house. Our host is very nice and tentative to our needs. The host is also a certified tour guide, and kindly offered us a free tour. We learned a lot about Melaka through our host. Jonker street is within walking distance and the loft comes with a huge parking lot. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Eunice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2015

Its within Unesco world heritage site. Melaka. Host make their very best to protect this gem. Clean environment, friendly and knowledgeable host, enjoy our trip here and get to know more about melaka. Thanks Calanthe, will definitely introduce u to peoples who prepare to visit melaka. calanthe artisan the best!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pandaJor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Great location for the family over the X'mas holidays! Ease of booking with them and they offered much flexibility to us. Upon arrival, Joe, the host also made us feel welcomed. There was a welcome message on the chalkboard for us too! They have a cafe and jewelry/accessory shop which also featured much creativity. Place is huge and we had 2 cars parked and space for kids to run around. Overall, definitely an interesting experience and would suit someone looking for a different experience in the old town. Just to note it may not suit people who have difficulty taking the stairs as that's the way to the 2 king size beds. Alternative option is to sleep downstairs at the AV room that can easily fit 3 adults.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Bunzbunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalantheArtisanLoft, Owner at Calanthe Artisan Loft, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2015

Dear Bunzbynz,
Thank you for your comments and a Big THANK YOU for choosing us!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

My family and I had recently stayed in this home. We are very pleased. The host put in a lot of effort to make the place feel like a home. Good quality mattress were ready in the AV room for my additional guests.
It was extremely convenient with a parking bay and walking distance to jonker street. Bonus point was that the host willingly spare his time to bring us around and tell us about historical Melaka. Appreciate his effort and time.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank ming l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalantheArtisanLoft, Owner at Calanthe Artisan Loft, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2015

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for choosing us! We try to make you feel comfortable as if you are at your own home. We are happy indeed to see you enjoying your stay. Once again thank you and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2015

The Calanthe Artisan Loft is tucked behind Jonker Street, away from the hustle and bustle but still within close proximity(about 2 mins walk) to all the important landmarks.

It's a comfortable, roomy loft that's picture perfect, with a tinge of historical beauty. The owner, Joe, has a craft and jewelry shop down the road. Joe is also a certified tour-guide(or as he calls himself, a story teller) and he gave us a free tour that was packed with intriguing and informative stories that traces the birth and growth of Malacca.

The street is very safe at night, and the lodging is very, very clean and comfortable. There was more than sufficient space for 6 of us, and it comes with its own parking space, very rare for accomodations around this area.

On the day we were leaving, Joe offered to let us stay till the time to catch our bus, since there weren't incoming guests. He is extremely warm, accomodating and easy-going. His Wife was the one who showed us around when we got here, and they both response very redily via email.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ellison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews