We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
85
202
92
62
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
202
92
62
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstraits suiteswimming poolwalking distanceparking cardsuite roommassage shopstong shengcar parkbig bathtubdeluxe kingdining tablehighest floorsmall fridgefree upgrademalacca straitsmahkota paradepleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 486 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2016

Booking made through Agoda for Dec 2015 for 5 nights stay.

The Receptionist who handle our checked-in was nice and efficient. Checked in process was fast.

A trainee escorted us to our 20th floor room without any single words nor room introduction ( no room introduction for 4 Star Hotel...???)
Room is spacious and clean with full bathroom amenities, a long working desk with a comfortable chair and good wi-fi connection. Breakfast was good, enough varieties and friendly waiter.

On the 4th day early afternoon called Operator to ask for an adaptor for charging my laptop as need to do some office work - nobody came after 45 minutes. We then went down talked to the reception to send the adaptor and asked for room make up. A lady in the receptionist taken a note and reconfirmed my request. 4 hour later when we back....nothing happened - no make-up room, no adaptor. 30 minutes later we went out for dinner and spoke to a male reception about adaptor request for 2 times and his answer was "sorry no adaptor mam". Really disappointed this time...something wrong with the communication and product knowledge might be...

After dinner we asked for the bill as we need to checkout very early the next morning. Laundry charges was double posted. Reception called to HK but the person in charge finished duty. Reception promised to fix and remove it. The bill was not settled that night.

Next morning 4 AM called to reception to prepare the bill and we will be at the lobby in 30 to 45 mins. Mastura (the same reception who handled our checked in) was in charge and confirmed that the double laundry charges has been removed and apologize for that. She helped us to call a taxi to bring us to the Melaka Sentral for 0630 bus to KL. Thank you Mastura for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStraitsSuites, General Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2016

Dear tarsmart,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we appreciate your valuable feedback, which very much helps us to focus on what is important to all our guests.

We are delighted that you liked our guest room, location as well as our breakfast. We once again apologies for the inconvenience caused by the miscommunication of which we are addressing to avoid further issues. We have taken all your feedback on board in order to improve and refine on our processes.

Whilst our team members are especially heartened to receive your compliments on their service, Mastura have received your special mention with much gratitude, it was their pleasure to be of service to you.

We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that above shortcomings will not preclude you from a future visit to The Straits Hotel & Suites .We can assure you that there is always a warm welcome waiting for your here whenever you stay with us in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Rudi Putra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2016

Drove with my wife and 2 other couples for a weekend break in Melaka. We were recommended this hotel by one of the couples who had stayed there before. It's located 5 minutes from the city centre and walking distance from the largest shopping mall called Pahlawan. There is a myriad of small eating establishments within a 3-minute walk, serving the likes of chicken rice ball, Peranakan, Bak Kut Teh, South Indian, Malay, etc. There are tons of reflexology and foot massage places. We paid RM38 for an hour long foot massage. It was an excellent way to end a full day of exploring Melaka. The rooms are new, clean and comfortable. Our deluxe room costed RM220 per night without breakfast. There is a lovely pool deck on the 23rd level with a breathtaking view of the city and Malacca Straits. Remember to ask for a high floor, above the 20th level. The lower floors have obscured views because of other buildings around the hotel. For families, they have a family suite, comprising living room, master bedroom and adjoining room for about RM500 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for level 20 and above for unobscured view of the city and Straits of Malacca
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeffreybose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStraitsSuites, General Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2016

Dear jeffreybose,

Thank you for letting us know what made your stay with us a comfortable and memorable experience. It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Straits Hotel & Suites in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Rudi Putra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2016 via mobile

We got a upgrade to Premier suite, corner room 1001. Very spacious, my little boy has plenty of space to play his hide n seek :)

Location
Close to hatten n shopping. Around 8mins walk.
1 Street away, opposite the hotel has this famous Teochew Bak Ku Teh (non halal, close at 1pm)
There is a famous chicken rice ball restaurant when u are heading to the mall
Nonya restaurant is opposite Starbucks
Away from the jam

Room
As mention by many reviewer their CLEANLINESS IS REALLY A BIG BIG ISSUE! And sadly even after so many people feedback yet no improvement has been done!
HAIR ON THE FLOOR, BED AND BATHROOM! I call the housekeeping to clean up again when we went out to shop.
Bathroom has this super stinky smell and I even have to ask for air refresher!
There is a sock that is tuck in between the sofa!
Bed was comfortable but by seeing those hair it make me real uncomfortable sleeping on it even it has been clean up
Love the huge bathtub
Aircon took sometimes to get cold
WiFi is strong

Staff can speak quite a good English. Carpark is like multi storey so I assume is quite safe.

I love visiting malacca and trying out different hotels but I won't recommend here and won't be back again. I don't feel worth it for paying so much and get this kind of room. Thankfully is just a night! I feel regret for choosing this hotel and not knowing there is a better and well known hotel just beside them. And is much cheaper too!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank vandylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStraitsSuites, General Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Dear Vandylim,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. It is regrettable that there were aspects that fell below your expectations. Cleanliness is truly an important factor to a great hotel experience and we will continue to work on this to ensure that our guests are always comfortable and felt satisfied during their stay.
We extend our sincere apologize for the shortfalls any for any inconvenience caused. We hope to deliver a better hotel experience to you should you stay with us again in the future. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Your sincerely,
Rudi Putra
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Clean, new, has all basics. Similar to Holiday Inn sort of concept - beds, tv, aircond, shower cap, tooth brush, hair dryer, slippers, safety box. Many food shops around the area too, so quite a good place to stay instead of flocking into Jonkers area.

Free WIFI within the building.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystalism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStraitsSuites, General Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Dear Yvonne,

Thank you for letting us know what made your recent hotel experience a comfortable and positive one. We appreciate your positive feedback on our guest room and facilities, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Malacca.

Your sincerely,
Rudi Putra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2016

Being a frequent visitor to melaka, i have visited and stayed many different hotel. This is the first time i stayed in The Straits Hotel & Suites so i will review it with both positives and negatives.

Firstly the positives:
I usually drive from Sg. I do sometimes ride to Melaka. However, when riding, i cant find a suitable hotel to stay because of the unsecured parking and location. All this change when i visited The Straits. Located within the bandar hilir, its less than 5 minutes walk to dahtaran pahlawan and makota parade. Riders who would want to spend the time can do so here. Why? The parking is secured and under shelter. Theres a guard(sometimes) at the main lobby as well. Just below the hotel, there massage spas (traditional and thai). I went for oil massage for 1hr at the thai spa at it cost RM50. There is also a 24 hour indian food shop just below. For those who dont fancy the breakfast, can just opt for the rooms and have breakfast downstairs. (Typical prata, naan, murtabak all there). Theres starbucks around the corner as well. The staff are very well versed with english and those having difficulty with bahasa melayu can converse with them in english no problem. The staff are also very helpful. I had problems with my aircon and when i called for them to recitfy before leaving to go shopping, they have rectified the problem within an hour of my departure. Although i read some reviews saying that the swimming pool is small, i find it okay. However, small children are not advice as the pools are 1.4 m deep.

The negatives:
Cleaniness is an issue with this hotel. I can still find leftover cigg butts lying in the bathroom. There are some trash under the tv console as well. The elevator may be slow sometimes, even for normal period. The breakfast buffet is a little bit bland and plain. Therefore, i suggest just go for the rooms and have breakfast below.

My suggestion, get the suites. It didnt mention but if you want connecting rooms, its the suite with 1 duluxe room. i made the mistake of booking 2 suites only to find they are not connected. However, the staff assisted me to downgrade.

I enjoyed my stay at the straits. Will plan another trip to this hotel again with my riding friends.
Till then, thanks to The Straits Hotel & Suites for the pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get the suites.Its bigger. Also, connecting rooms are 1 suite and 1 duluxe.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fadhil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStraitsSuites, General Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2016

Dear Fadhil F,

It is delightful to know that you had an enjoyable time during your stay with us in terms of our locations, accommodation, facilities and services.
On the other hand, we have taken your feedback regarding the drawback towards our housekeeping department, rest assured that we have deliver all feedback to our management for their review and necessary action will be taken.

Last but not least, we really appreciate your positive feedback on your experience and look forward to delivering greater hotel experiences to you whenever you return to Malacca.

Your sincerely,
Rudi Putra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews