We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 1:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Personal Touch

It was absolutely lovely. We especially enjoyed how the owner came out to introduce the movie; it... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Elizabeth T
I Really Love This Place!!

This place is wonderful. Come early for a recliner and enjoy seeing movies that are not shown... read more

Reviewed October 15, 2018
ladyea
,
Saraland, Alabama
via mobile
Read all 146 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mobile
from US$55.00
More Info
from US$15.00
More Info
from US$30.80
More Info
from US$53.17
More Info
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
124
21
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
21
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honor system leather recliners wine and beer single screen small theatre big box dinner downtown theater seating great place to see a movie dinner and a movie movie theaters alcoholic beverages heart of downtown across the street dauphin st snack bar step back in time
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 146 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

We visited from out of town and bought our tickets for La La Land in advance online. Arrive early (at least 30 min) to secure the best seats, the front row and a portion of row two are large recliners. Concessions are reasonably priced, they also have a selection of beer and wine. Light blankets available if you're cold natured. The operator gave a brief introduction before the movie, excellent touch, added to the intimacy of the experience. Unfortunately I was seated next to (reserved seats so I assume they're regulars) and in front of people who chose to speak aloud to their companions several times during the film. Sad that the living room mentality is present even in a quaint setting like this. "He's gonna miss her play" some idiot blurted out during one scene. No kidding, Einstein.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank davidnF2405BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

How lucky we are in Downtown Mobile to have such a great theatre. They play only the BEST movies - none of that SciFi - special effects stuff. REAL movies, with real dialogue, and a real plot!!! Grab a glass of wine and if you get there early enough - you might get one of the recliner chairs! The owner is a JOY and so enthusiastic about his mission!!! Whether you are visiting or you live in Mobile.....give them a try the next time you want to see a wonderful movie in a delightful atmosphere!!!

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank IslanderAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2017

I went to The Crescent for the first time last week, and it was so special. There is a small lobby in the front, with refreshments that included beer and wine. The one screen theater is comfortable, and we were introduced to the film by the owner before it started, which was a really nice touch. There are no drawn out previews, only one preview for the next film that they will be showing. It was a real treat to visit the Crescent and I hope to be back!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2016

It was a very pleasant surprise to find the Crescent, especially since it was playing one of this year's most highly awarded films. There were recliners down front if you wanted to sit close to the screen, as well as normal seating for 200-300 people. It was a throwback to the neighborhood theaters of the 1950s and 1960s, before the advent of the n-way multiplex and the massive chain theater operators. You could afford the popcorn here, as well as the soft drinks and the individual wine bottles. I hope that people continue to patronize this theater and the handful of others like it. It's a gem.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank bluevoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2016

My husband and I saw "Sully" at the Crescent Theater last week, and it was a terrific experience. The movie was great, but the theater itself is really marvelous. Lots of drink and snack options, huge comfortable recliners (in the front two rows -- get there early to snag one) and even blankets. The screen resolution and sound were great. Two big thumbs up!!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews